A Letter From a Brand New Minnow

in #payitforward5 years ago

sea-1377712_1920.jpg

Last few days were very special for me and quite unusual in a way. Suddenly, a whole campaign was started to help me reach the minnowhood. And I did.

Should I celebrate now? Is this some kind of an accomplishment?

I don’t know yet. But I do know that two important things happened:

  • My attitude toward Steemit changed once again.

I was feeling rather lonely on Steemit lately. It’s been a bit deserted recently or at least it felt like that. I was questioning how much of my scarce free time I should give to Steemit or should I prioritize doing something else?

So, out of the sudden @thedarkhorse began a campaign alongside with #tenkminnows and people I didn’t even know started voting and commenting on my posts just to give me a push. Moreover, they turned to be rather interesting bloggers so now I have a whole new bunch of amazing people on my Follow list.

  • I don’t think I have ever experienced the feeling of being helped out by total strangers. Just for the sake of helping.

I feel so warm and cared for, and hopeful, and positive… and it’s an amazing feeling. Thank you, guys, for making my day!

Well, at the end of the day, I am celebrating. Not only am I celebrating the minnow status (and my husband's birthday which is today), but also the feeling of belonging and the chance to be part of the journey of so many fantastic Steemian friends.

I don’t want to make this post like an “Oscars thank you speech” but there is a thank you I cannot possibly miss saying.

THANK YOU for the support of the incredible @payitforward community, the @minnowbuilder accounts, and @tenkminnows. I would have never stayed on Steemit if it wasn’t also for the amazing communities of @steemstem, @utopian-io, @bananafish, and @curie (and all the friends I met in there in particular).

And last but not least, I received 11 Steem as a present from @johndoer123 (that was the amount of steem I was short of to get to 500 SP). I promised that I will pay it forward later to help someone else. Now, I am 11 SP over 500. So speaking of a thank you I will send them to @coinsandchains who runs the amazing thank you contest – an engaging project which tries to promote a sense of thankfulness on the blockchain.

See you later, alligator(s)! :P

Image:
https://pixabay.com/illustrations/sea-message-in-a-bottle-shipwrecked-1377712/

Sort:  

high five. Congratulations, this is a massive achievement and it was so awesome seeing the community come together to help you over the line. One more minnow on the way to #tenkminnows

Thank you very much, @paulag!!!

So very happy for you @insight-out, to see you achieve this milestone!🤗

And it coincided with your husband's birthday? Hopefully he is supportive of your efforts "in here," as you do a great job!

Love the image you chose to illustrate your post! I hope you continue steadily on in your Steem journey, in whatever way seems best to you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your kind words and your constant support for the last couple of months, @roleerob!

Certainly you're most welcome @insight-out. Only wish I could do more, but have to be content with doing my small part to do what I can "in here." With both the "crypto" and time I have available ...

Have a great day "over there!" 👋

You are doing much more than you realize :) A small gesture of support worths much more than any "crypto" here :)

Have a great day over there across the ocean high in the mountains, too! :D

Dear @insight-out

I was feeling rather lonely on Steemit lately

Do you still feel that way? I personally thought that someone with your background (psychology) and experience will handle feeling of being lonely very well. I guess you're still just a human after all :)

I had a chance to engage number of times with @thedarkhorse and his initiatives are very noble. I'm glad you also came across this guy.

I don’t think I have ever experienced the feeling of being helped out by total strangers. Just for the sake of helping.

If you post new publication then I could help you and promote it with my wider audience. Perhaps you could just send me link via memo to your newest post? What do you think.

Yours, Piotr

I personally thought that someone with your background (psychology) and experience will handle feeling of being lonely very well. I guess you're still just a human after all :)

Haha, yes, psychologists are just humans and experience all the human things :) And emotions are just emotions, we all have them :) Unfortunately, we, human beings, are quite judgmental toward ourselves. We judge our emotions, too, labeling them as good or bad. But, there are not good or bad emotions, there are simply different emotions. So, being lonely from time to time is not a bad thing, it is completely normal :) But, I don't feel like this anymore. Just the opposite, I feel like I have met friends here :)

If you post new publication then I could help you and promote it with my wider audience. Perhaps you could just send me link via memo to your newest post? What do you think.

Thank you so much for your kind offer! Right now I am a bit stuck wondering what to write about next :) As soon as I make a post, I will let you know :)

P.S. If you have any suggestions or something that you are curious about in the psychology field, I will be glad if you share your ideas. And of course, I will be happy to research it and make a post :)

Dear @insight-out

I just realized that (somehow) I've missed your previous comment. Just wanted to thank you for being always so responsive and sorry for such a late reply.

But, there are not good or bad emotions, there are simply different emotions

I dont know about it. Experiencing anger of my wife makes me believe otherwise. Anger is bad emotion, at least that's how I see it.

If you have any suggestions or something that you are curious about in the psychology field, I will be glad if you share your ideas

That's so very kind of you. Perhaps you could share your view on topic related to "does life without purpose make any sense?". Imagine situation that in the future most people would have some Social Basic Income, which would be enough to survive.

I strongly believe that right now our job is a purpose to live for many (majority) of people. And I wonder how would our society look like (how many people would kill themselfs) if they would have no purpose in their life.

Yours
Piotr

Imagine situation that in the future most people would have some Social Basic Income, which would be enough to survive.

Well, you seem to be quite optimistic about our future :D To be honest, I am much more sceptic about the day when everyone on Earth will have a basic fare income ;) However, your idea is really interesting. I started a research on another topic about self-esteem, but I hope that I will be able to create a future post about purpose, meaning, and society :)

Dear @insight-out

I had a chance to read your comment just now (somehow I didn't notice it before) and I would like to thank you for your effort and taking the time to keep in touch with me.

Well, you seem to be quite optimistic about our future :D

I'm actually not that optimistic :) But I like to dream sometimes hahaha

Cheers
Piotr

Congraduations plankton and welcome to minnowhood! 😉 and Happy Birthday to your husband too.
It's a bless to have you here on steemit and look at your nice attitude 😉 next step is dolphin😉

Dolphin seems rather impossible for me to be honest :) Thank you @cicisaja!

No.. dolphin wouldn't be so impossible @insight-out 😉 we can be dolphin as we grow.. just keep steeming 😉

I'll be honest, Dolphin is a big goal but one I think in time you can reach. Might be time to start up Dolphin Builder which will be an extension of the Minnow Builder Program.

I'll leave you on the Minnow Builder autovote for a couple more days until I can write a post about you becoming a minnow.

Congratulations and welcome to minnow Hood. :)

Thank you, @wolfhart!

Congratulations Val, and happy birthday to your hubby too! Slow and steady we grow together. The realms of Bananafish are always waiting for you with open arms when you want to switch your pen into fiction-mode (or simply have a chitchat with us strange potassium creatures). Cheers!

giphy (18).gif

Congratulations @insight-out! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! In a few hours, the Steem blockchain will be running for 3 years.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60915.52
ETH 3364.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48