Nothing

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

It might sound strange to your ears, or perhaps it is a poverty or luxury problem but

my children are not interested in being someone or being someone famous.

Except for one who always said he wanted to be an inventor, they do not have the wish or dream to be a fireman, police officer, doctor, the prime minister, king or a famous actor.
I can understand them if it comes to that, since I myself never had a dream or wish.

I never felt the intention to be someone or to save the world either.

Should I be worried about the fact my children do not care about their futures? Should children care about that at all?
If it comes to my youngest I am worried in some way. That way has mainly to do with money.
books-1012088_1280.jpg
(picture: Pixabay)

I simply do not know how to pay for even their high school

(no it is not free). University will be, no matter how smart they are, out of the question. I can simply not afford it, there are no savings (also no debts) and making debts is out of the question.
money-1528718_1280.jpg
(picture: Pixabay)

A life with debts is a miserable life.

A life filled with worries and sleepless nights. Especially if you are jobless and live in poverty.

Besides of this, the school system changes whole time. At a very young age (12 years old) you need to know your profession for life already. You need to choose the right "education direction". If you find out later on (1 or 2 years later for example) it is not what you want, you can not change your earlier decision any longer.
The system also been changed in such a way that

soon only rich children can visit University.

Only they can be lawyers, doctors and the prime minister. Even if they are not the greatest students at all.

If it comes to being someone, there is no reason to worry.

My children, all of them, are very intelligent and have a strong will. They also have, already had it at a young age, their own opinion. They can read, home study themselves or start a study at home if they are older and know what they really want for them.

Personally I do believe it is way better to start working. Especially if there is a job available or the opportunity is given.

More and more jobs are taken over by robots.

This also means more people will work less or are not able to work at all.
They will stay home and need to find a way to kill time.
The good news is my children, none of them, would have any problem with that. They do have a lot of interests, are very creative and are always busy.

Computer and internet might make it possible for them as well to start a business of their own.

They do not care about luxury, are no big spenders and know how to save money in many ways. They just need to find a way to be self-sufficient. So they are able to pay for their own food, clothes and bills and are able to save a bit to invest in what they like and for a cold "winter".

Like to know more about me? Please read my other posts.

My beloved car

https://steemit.com/vehiclephotography/@wakeupkitty/vehiclephotography-meet-my-yugo-skala

Is it being afraid of or simply dislike?

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/afraid-of-or-simply-dislike-them

We should learn from history

https://steemit.com/film/@wakeupkitty/catching-film-you-should-watch

Sort:  

Life is not fair. I'm sure you want the best for your children. But you are smart and so are your children! I think because of the way you guys have to live, they will stand stronger at the end!

I hope so.. a life like this can also break someone in the end

You're right! But you are a strong person and so are your children I believe! But I agree, you deserved an deserve much and much better!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66