Afraid of or simply dislike them?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

They claim everybody needs them.

They say they are the only ones able to give you a great look. They also say it is relaxing to spend time with them and being "afraid" is typical for little kids. And of course they all are high qualified and give you a lot of extras you will not be able to lay your hands on somewhere else.
Well they can say what they want, but they can not convince me and will never do so again. Who? The hairdressers.

My granny was going over to a hairdresser frequently.

Just to wash and style her hair. They put some stuff in it so her grey hair should look white. Not bad at all if they did succeed in it. Frequently they did not. The hair had a strange pink or blue colour. It always reminded me of Mrs. Slocombe (played by the actress Mollie Sugden on the British BBC sitcom/comedy: Are you being served?) her hair.

20180314_002929.jpg

Years later she found someone who washed and styled her hair over at her place. The same job, probably way cheaper and the same weird shiny hair colour once in a while.

A lot has changed since then.

All kind of hairstyles passed by, just like all kind of hair colours, haircuts, shampoos and discussions and tips about the big NO’s if it comes to your hair.
Tips that seldom work out if you have big hair trouble or it only seems to work for the moment you are at the hairdresser's.

Fact is most hairdressers are deaf.

They do not hear what you say if you tell them how you want them to cut your hair. Or they simply say it is not possible to cut it that way and if it is you get out with a way different hair look as you had in mind (read: extremely short haircut accompanied by the words: you will not regret it).

Although hairdressers claim it is relaxing to just sit down and let them do their job, it turned out to be, a large percentage of their visitors experienced these visits as quiet stressful (and they have a good reason to be afraid or dislike them, since it takes a lot of time to get a ruined haircut back in to a normal look). No expensive shampoo or (sky) high bill was able to change those experiences.

My granny never visited a hairdresser as she was younger.

She always told me she had to comb her hair 100 times each evening. She knew tricks to keep it in good condition. Long hair was common and a sign of femininity.
The biggest part of my life I had long hair as well and I still have.

A haircut like a boy is not the kind of hairstyle that fits me.

My mom once shaved my head bold and hoped I would get great, thick hair back instead. Well I can tell you that is a fairy tale. It never happened.

The kind of hair you have, the shape of your hair, the way it is implanted in your head, the colour and how fast it grows has everything to do with your DNA and is/will be influenced by hormones and medication and food as well!
DNA seldom changes unless you are chronical ill or something.

The second time my hair was cut, I was about 11 years old.

It was right after my dad left and my mom let a hairdresser cut of my long hair. I can tell you I felt miserable about that. I recall the moment I left the hairdresser and a young woman entered. She had long, blond hair. Very long hair. I did ask her, in tears, how look it took her to grow it that long. Her answer: four years. Over forty years passed by since then and my hair is still not as long as hers and it will never be. In fact it is even shorter as it was before my mom let it cut off! It simply does not grow any longer as it is now (and no I do not have hair like straw and it is also not dead).

I had about 4 or 5 more experiences in my life with different hairdressers in different places.

They never turned out to be who they claimed they were. Their services, after damaging my hair and burning my face were worse (I should better say: no service at all).

I decided to save myself and do it myself instead. All these hairdressers, in all these years, turned out to be bad. No matter how great and luxury their shops look like.

To me it is a place of:

  • gossiping and forced chats,
  • lies (you look great but feel miserable),
  • being out of control (I have to wear a bag over my head for the next 6 months or longer),
  • ignorance (forcing up their style upon me),
  • smells that make me ...,
  • do not know how to use a hair dryer
  • do not know how to comb my hair
  • a waste of time and
  • a waste of good money.

Is there life without a hairdresser?

Yes there is. There is a lot you can do yourself to keep your hair in great condition (egg and beer for example) and you can even cut it yourself.
There are plenty of tips available on the internet and YouTube as well (a good, sharp pair of scissors will do the trick. A small investment that saves you a lot of money and stress). Simply handle it with care and if you wash your hair you can massage your head yourself as well.

Like to know more about me? Please read my other posts.

We should learn from history

https://steemit.com/film/@wakeupkitty/catching-film-you-should-watch

A good friend nearly died because medical help is refused

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/medical-care-is-hard-to-get

My family is not "flattered" by me. They say I am a monster

https://steemit.com/cps/@wakeupkitty/you-should-know-i-am-am-a-monster

My dad run out of us and left me with a psychopath of a mom to take care of

https://steemit.com/parents/@wakeupkitty/run-away-dad

I turn out to be interesting for scamming

https://steemit.com/scam/@wakeupkitty/he-is-a-scam-it-is-omar-day-again

My pen-pal is in prison, in a few years he will be free again.

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/he-my-pen-pal-wants-to-meet-me

Sort:  

It's always been the same thing with me: you ask them to cut the dead ends and they take off half your hair. I'd rather pick up some scissors myself, at least then the destruction of my hair is free.

Most of them can't even dye properly, you always end up with loads of paint on your ears, it's saddening.

It is indeed. A bad job like that I can do myself as well

Price is what you pay. Value is what you get.

Price is sky high and you seldom get what you want

You are right, they don't listen! They have their own agenda, haha!

I resteem this for you, Kitty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68296.35
ETH 3839.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64