Dark, Disturbing and Somewhat Horrible, the History and Origins of Nursery Rhymes #2: 🇬🇧 London Bridge is Falling Down 🇬🇧

in #parenting7 years ago (edited)

Dark, Disturbing and Somewhat Horrible, the History and Origins of Nursery Rhymes #2: London Bridge is Falling Down

london bridge.png

Source

Welcome to week 2 of Dark, Disturbing and Somewhat Horrible, the History and Origins of Nursery Rhymes. As you may have gathered from my other posts, I’m originally from England which in some ways makes these rhymes even more horrible to me… horrible, but not surprising, as unfortunately historically we were known for our blood lust and penchant for torture.

… and if last week’s rhyme wasn’t disturbing enough for you, then maybe this weeks will be…


London Bridge 2.png

Source

London Bridge is falling down,
Falling down, falling down.
London Bridge is falling down,
My fair lady.

Set a man to watch all night,
Watch all night, watch all night,
Set a man to watch all night,
My fair lady.

Suppose the man should fall asleep,
Fall asleep, fall asleep,
Suppose the man should fall asleep?
My fair lady.


OK, so these words seem innocent enough. Nothing being cut off like last week, no one being burnt at the stake. Just a rhyme about the famous London Bridge falling-down. But we all know, if that were true, then I wouldn’t be featuring it here…


Believed to have been written in the 17th century, with the melody not being added until the 19th century, “London Bridge” or “My Fair Lady” is both an English nursery rhyme and a singing game.

When playing the game, 2 children face each other, hold hands and form an arch like the arches of the bridge and the other children run underneath, faster and faster trying to get through before the song finishes.

When the song is finished, the last child is trapped by the children forming the arch. See in the image above how happy they are!

OK, nothing too sinister about that…

However, there is a theory that the “watchman” referenced in the rhyme is a human sacrifice and that the bridge would collapse unless these “watchmen” were entombed in the bridge’s foundation.

When the children play the singing game the last person “caught” in the bridge symbolizes the entombed, human sacrifice.

I’m happy to say that there is no archaeological evidence to support this claim in this instance, but it’s a little unnerving that had to prove there was none.

Wow! Anyone want to play?


Tidbit: This horrific practice is called “immurement” and unfortunately was an all too real form of capital punishment or sacrifice dating as far back as Roman times and was still being used as recently as the 20th century in Mongolia. The accused was locked in a small coffin-like box or sealed in a wall or other structure and left to die from starvation.


Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this week’s look at a well-known nursery rhyme, well perhaps “enjoyed” isn’t the right word… I hope you found this interesting and I’m looking forward to sharing more next week 😊

Cate .png

Link to last week: Three Blind Mice


red wellies gif.gif

Original content by @redwellies

Reference: The Oxford Dictionary of Nursery Rhymes & archaeologydataservice.ac.uk


DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png


Sort:  

The Pied Piper has a crazy back story. I first became interested in the origin of nursery rhymes and fairy tales when my children were little. I pulled out my 1979 edition of Mother Goose fairy tales to read to my children and the first one I read to them was Rock-a-bye Baby. It occurred to my Grandma right then that that is not a fun happy nursery rhyme. After that I began to notice the really dark undertones of my childhood favorites.

Somehow I missed last week's post on the Three Blind Mice. Thank you for the link to that I went back and read it. I've never looked into the Three Blind Mice. Thanks so much. I'm seriously looking forward to what's to come in this series.

@powellx5 Yeah, The Pied Piper of Hamelin is unfortunately and horrifyingly true... I'm glad that you were able to go back to last weeks post to recap and... this weeks which will be posted shortly, is a "humdinger" too...

Thanks for stopping by :)

Now posted Week 3 :)

Wow.. this is interesting. Have you considered sharing it on @gogogadgetupvote's daily Learn Something New contest?(https://steemit.com/gogogadgetupvote/@gogogadgetupvote/learn-something-new-every-day-contest-day-12)

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it and I'll take a look at the competition. Thanks for the link :)

Happy to share it :). I'm sure you will be bringing value if you do decide to join in.

I’ve also looked into some of these... the one that was most creepy might be Wee Willie Winnie

Looking forward to reading more!
@jeejee

That's interesting as from what I recall, there isn't anything particularly horrible about "Wee Willie Winkie" other than the character itself. I mean, he is kinda creepy running all over town rapping on the windows and rattling the locks... checking that the children are in bed...

Ops the dark horrible side being revealed. I remember when I was young I used to ask question "London Bridge really exist at London? really is falling down?" haha

Now everytime when I play this with kids, I will think of this. But sshhh i wont tell them. Aha!😉

Yes, it's probably best not to tell them until they're a lot older and can somewhat comprehend the atrocities that surround these dark rhymes :)

Whoa! I've always heard mentions to the dark meanings behind old nursery rhymes. Makes me think of some "Hunger Games"-like society where kids are strangely aware an accustomed to some crazy sacrificial ritual. Now that I know the stakes? No thank you, I'm out. I prefer poker, lol.

Those were much darker times back then, that's for sure... Maybe the stories were also to keep kids in their place... hmmm? But yes, it does make you think of a dystopian society.

It's just ominous and creepy...

Great post! I remeber singing ring a ring a roses and learning the true meaning of that.

Its odd how they are still used today yet pleasing they've lasted this long =D

Thank you! Yes, I think "ring around the rosie" is the most well known one, however there are a few interesting facts on that one I'll be sharing :) Stay tuned!

Awesome I will do thank you!!!

Wow getting locked in a coffin and dying from starvation. Wtf... That would be one bad way to go no doubt in my mind. I can't even start to imagine how it would feel. So I will not. lol

Somethings we did in the past and even still doing today are just WTF moments. lol

Yes, not the best way to end your final days that's for sure... things nightmares are made of!

No doubt. It would not be a good way to go. :)

I'm really enjoying reading these as you put them out! I knew that most of our stories and songs like this had some sort of history, but it is very interesting to see this theme explored more in depth. Keep it up!

Thank you! I appreciate that you read the other one too :) It's enlightening and disturbing all at the same time. Stop back again next week for part 3 :)

Reading this brought it all back to me I remember learning this when I was a teenager and then having to research so many other Nursery Rhymes its kind of freaky how many of them have sinister interpretations

It really is, so many of them are dark to say the least! But it's worth noting that maybe they weren't intentionally meant for children per se, but rather that they were a way of telling a story from one generation to the next when not many people in Europe were literate.

Yes its funny how over time they transitioned from Folk Lore to children’s stories

Ha omg, I always knew that that rhyme had a dark underbelly... but a man entombed?! I did not see that one coming.

This is a really fun series - Have you ever read any of the original unabridged Grimm's fairy tales? If there was ever a more depressing series of tales where literally everyone dies that's it...

LOL! Glad that surprised you :). Pretty dark!

Surprisingly enough I've not read the unabridged version, but am of course very familiar with some of their classics tales, “The Frog Prince,” “Rumpelstiltskin,” “Rapunzel,” “The Fisherman and his Wife,” and “Tom Thumb,” etc.

BUT... I did just hop on Amazon and bought a copy 😜

Oh man, there's you're next "ruin your childhood" post series right there! XD

You know me too well lol :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60855.77
ETH 2668.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47