You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dark, Disturbing and Somewhat Horrible, the History and Origins of Nursery Rhymes #2: 🇬🇧 London Bridge is Falling Down 🇬🇧

in #parenting7 years ago

The Pied Piper has a crazy back story. I first became interested in the origin of nursery rhymes and fairy tales when my children were little. I pulled out my 1979 edition of Mother Goose fairy tales to read to my children and the first one I read to them was Rock-a-bye Baby. It occurred to my Grandma right then that that is not a fun happy nursery rhyme. After that I began to notice the really dark undertones of my childhood favorites.

Somehow I missed last week's post on the Three Blind Mice. Thank you for the link to that I went back and read it. I've never looked into the Three Blind Mice. Thanks so much. I'm seriously looking forward to what's to come in this series.

Sort:  

@powellx5 Yeah, The Pied Piper of Hamelin is unfortunately and horrifyingly true... I'm glad that you were able to go back to last weeks post to recap and... this weeks which will be posted shortly, is a "humdinger" too...

Thanks for stopping by :)

Now posted Week 3 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53