Banana harvest - One of the few sweet Bananas Panamanians grow for personal consumption ( Banana Chino ) Today Banana Pancakes & SmoothiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #panama-blog7 years ago
  • 🙈 There are so many types of Bananas it's Amazing, This harvest was Banana Chino ( Chinese banana ). They are considerably smaller than bananas grown for export.


Only about 1/3 the size of regular export bananas but every bit as sweet and delicious.

They make a perfect snack food in case you don't feel like a full-sized banana or just eat 2-3 for the same volume.

I'm in no way a Banana expert and in doing research on bananas became overwhelmed with the information available about this popular fruit.

Today I'll stick with this type ( sweet ) and later do some blogs on others.

While gold panning in the mountains with some friends one night, we stopped at one guy's uncle's farm and picked a bunch of sweet bananas that were huge!, Maybe double the size of regular bananas 2 or 3 times as thick, a little longer and super tasty. Eating 1 of those was like a meal in itself.
  • 🙉 An interesting thing I discovered is that Bananas are considered a berry! Just another great reason for being a Steemster, Learning more about life while sharing with others 🙌

Bananas are another plant that quite often has to be braced up because the fruit is so heavy the plant falls over Just like Papayas.


As was the case with this bunch, they were full size but still green, So the best way to help them ripen is cover and hang them up.
Keep in mind that when covered they ripen fast, this bunch would have lasted over a week if left hanging in the open and slowly ripened from the top down providing snacks for many days on end.
After day 3, I took them down and the whole bunch was ripe so it was cooking and blender time.
I forgot to take a picture of them green, so I hung this bunch loosely on the clothesline but before I could take a picture they fell and about 1/3 fell off. Below is what was left.

Now that's a lot of bananas to eat so Johana whipped up a large banana pancake the traditional way ( almost ).

She took 15 bananas mixed in 1 cup of uncooked rice with a bit of sugar and some salt with just enough water to make a nice consistency for a thick pancake and left sit for an hour.

Next was to get a clay cooking platter that typically would be placed over a fire, But today it went on our gas stove ( Thus the "almost" traditional comment.

Banana leaves are used in a multitude of ways deserving of a blog on their own. Today they are going to cover the clay plate to put the pancake mixture on as well as to cover the top, probably not so much to hold heat as to keep ashes/pests off the food while cooking over a fire outdoors.

Here is a little collage of the process, cooking takes 25-30 Minutes, the picture doesn't show well but it's about 1 inch thick.

cooking.jpg

  • The pancake turned out sweet and moist, more like a dessert treat than a pancake and more that enough for the 4 of us eating it.

And with so many ripe bananas left over and not wanting to waste any, Into the blender they go to make smoothies and a dozen or so kept for snacks. Even our new puppy enjoys eating them.

IMG_20170926_085418.jpg

  • Next time maybe some banana bread will be in order? And when I get to Bocas del Toro I'll be sure to do a blog on the Chiquita Banana farm there. It's massive and they even have their own ships and containers for export!

Thank You so much for reading and supporting my blog
I 💗 Comments

My Signature Post ---> Hop on My Love Train ( with music )

Life is Good @ steemit.com 💗

Sort:  

I'll have to try this banana pancake recipe. Thanks, looks good. I've had good luck freezing bananas. Just slice up, freeze on a cookie sheet (so they don't all stick together) and store in a freezer bag. They are good in smoothies, added to regular pancakes or probably any other use for bananas in recipes. Dang, now I want one of your pancakes 😄

I'm interested in doing some preserves either dried or put up in a liquid, lots of things are good pickled too. Sometimes Johana will freeze some fruit for a later date, but with food coming ripe all year round there is less incentive to store things except for staples like rice, corn, beans and the like.

A friend of mine shared some coconut and pineapple marmalade she made and it was really good! I'm sure there are other creative ideas too.

LOL...@kristc if you have time, when you try this recipe please upload pix!....

Peace.

Nice pancake! I'll try it. In Venezuela this kind of banana is called cambur titiaro

Thanks for the reply, they are quite tasty and filling.
I get the impression that Panamanians speak a very different kind of Spanish, they have a hard time understanding me but I can talk with Mexicans, Columbians & Venezuelans easy. Its hard to get specific words from them, Like if it's a shell fish they only say "concha" no matter if its a scallop,clam, oyster etc. A very uncomplicated people, super easy going and friendly.

I can imagine, really easy to get lost in translation, tons of funny stories I guess

@codypanama,

This gem of a post was discovered by the @OCD Curation Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency!

Very cool! I don't eat bananas as often as I should, but after reading this I kind of want to go get some!

Please reply and I will be sure to nominate your food post to the @OCD Curators for possible extra rewards and exposure to your post!

That is good news, I'm just getting started here and any extra exposure I get is greatly welcomed.
Thanks for the nice reply, it's very encouraging :-)

Interesting post @codypanama...I can imagine the rice would make these pancakes more filling, than just the typical breakfast recipe.

I will definitely search out this recipe to give it a go...bananas instead of flour...Sounds delicious; and health friendly!

Thanks for sharing!

Peace.

Thanks for the reply. I was surprised Johana added uncooked rice but the time in the mix plus the cooking time was enough time to soften it up.
I'm working on a blog about plantain soon with different ways to prepare them.

Thanks for the update! Of course, I'm thinking of fried plaintains right now ;+)! Peace.

We have wild bananas in our neighborhood but they are the small ones and don't have much flavor. We like to buy super sweet ones at the local market and then dehydrate them. The kids love them that way! We can go through about 3 dozen bananas in a week! Good thing they are super cheap here. :) That banana pancake sounds interesting. I can't say I've ever heard of that or had one. Looks like an interesting process to make it and adding rice...who knew? Gracias!

That was the first time I had the one with rice, it was kind of like a desert dish.
we had some more this morning but just mixed with flour much more pancake style and just browned in a skillet.
Do you have a dehydrator or just sun or freeze dry?
3 dozen a week! your raising little monkeys are you LOL
did you know if you peel them from the bottom up those stringy sections usually get taken away with the peel. 🐒's do it that way.
Cheers

Yes, my 5 kids could each eat a banana a day, so 3 dozen works for just them. My husband and I don't even get one! :) Yeah, we use a dehydrator. We brought it with us from the US. I had heard about peeling from the bottom up. Need to try it out. Have a good one.

Wow 5 children, right on 🙌
Life is Good 💖

Hi again! We had a bunch of bananas ripen so I tried the pancake. You use uncooked rice? I ended up with a pancake with uncooked hard grains of rice. Our banana bread was really good though.

I'm so sorry, I missed an important part. Just asked Johana about cooking the rice, she said it wasn't cooked, but was put through a hand grinder with the bananas to make the paste. Johana did that at another house and i didn't see it happen. The broken rice grains would soften faster. Doh, maybe I should stay away from cooking blogs, or be there for every step.
plus ours was cooked for near 1/2 hr. that could be another factor.

Ahh ok! I thought your batter looked different so now I see why. I cooked mine for over 45 min, even added a bit more water but the rice never cooked. I have a grinder and more bananas so maybe I'll give it another try. You have to watch us women in th kitchen. 😁

Yum! They look good.

I remember a country in Central America was named 'Banana republic' for the wrong reasons. Is it Panama, by any chance?

I'm familiar with the term but not sure if it relates to any one country. Rather than a tropical country that has a large banana export and not much else.

I know it's a derogatory term. I'm trying to learn more from Google now.

Thanks for the perfect post! @codypanama

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43