A short visit of Müstair

in #palnet5 years ago

On the way back home from Naturns we spontaneously stopped in Müstair to stretch our legs, walk around the monastery and get some fresh air.

Müstair is a small village in the canton of Graubünden right after the border with Italy. It is the most eastern village of Switzerland and it is situated in Val Müstair and surrounded by the Ortler Range of the Alps.

People here speak Romansh and it was interesting to hear this language for the first time. There are only around 60000 people in Switzerland who speak Romansh and let me tell you that I couldn't understand a word. Luckily, people in this region speak either German or Italian too, so at the end we were able to order some meals and fill our bellies 😊

1.jpg
ISO 200 1/200 sec. f/8 42 mm

2.jpg
ISO 125 1/200 sec. f/8 24 mm

It was late to go to the monastery as it was closing in 30 minutes, but we didn't mind that much as we didn't want to stay too long because we had to drive for another 3 hours and there was enough to see in the village anyway.

The church of St. John dates back to the 8th century. The monastery as we see it today is a mixture of different buildings and styles built over the centuries. Because of the different styles it doesn't even look like a monastery but it looks more like residential buildings were built around the church.

In 1983, the complex was inscribed in the UNESCO World Heritage List.

3.jpg
ISO 125 1/200 sec. f/8 26 mm

We couldn't enter the exposition, but we could at least enjoy the monastery garden. To get there we had to walk around the monastery as not all buildings are connected.

4.jpg
ISO 125 1/200 sec. f/8 24 mm

Here we are! I was not as big as I expected but it was still charming...

5.jpg
ISO 125 1/200 sec. f/8 29 mm

I found many beautiful flowers in the monastery garden. The average temperature here is lower than in our region so we could see flowers that were blooming earlier this year in Schaffhausen. It was nice to see them again.

9.jpg
ISO 100 1/400 sec. f/3.5 62 mm

10.jpg
ISO 100 1/400 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

11.jpg
ISO 100 1/400 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

12.jpg
ISO 100 1/400 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

13.jpg
ISO 100 1/400 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

14.jpg
ISO 160 1/400 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

15.jpg
ISO 160 1/400 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

16.jpg
ISO 160 1/400 sec. f/3.5 70 mm

We were getting hungry so we headed to the village and hoped we would find a place where we could order something to eat. All restaurants were closed, but we were lucky and found a hotel that was open. It's in that yellow building.

While we were eating our meals, it started to rain. The distance to get back to our car was about 1 km and we didn't want to get wet because we still had a long drive ahead of us.

Luckily, we didn't have to wait for too long until it stopped raining.

6.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/8 38 mm

We hurried back to the car as we could see heavy clouds not that far away from us.

7.jpg
ISO 160 1/125 sec. f/8 24 mm

I wish I had an umbrella like they do 😊 We managed to get to the car just on time before it started to rain again.

8.jpg
ISO 200 1/125 sec. f/8 24 mm

It was a short but enjoyable visit of Müstair and I'm sure that we will come back to visit the monastery.

20190707_150720.jpg

I hope you have enjoyed our walk!

Thank you for reading,

Cheers,
Martina

Sort:  

The first pic could easily be a postcard. Its so beautiful looking at this tiny village with the mountains in the background. It is nice to see how simple some places seem to be, compared with the hustle and bustle of the big cities. I prefer this over big cities myself, so this is right up my ally!

And I still want to let you know that you its amazing how there is no garbage anywhere (and of course no people too)... That isn't common here in the US for sure.

Great post as always, I'm always impressed :)

I also prefer these small places. They are not crowded and you can enjoy much better than in the big cities. I used to live in Prague which is a big city in Europe but still very small in comparison to the US cities and I didn't feel myself. I loved the architecture and history but that hustle was killing me.

Hahaha, yes, Switzerland take care of what they have. It's nice to look at it but when you have that small super noisy car cleaning the streets passing your street every day at 6.30 AM then you wish that it wouldn't be so clean :D

lol I've never even seen that cleaning car... and when I lived in NYC, while it wasn't littered everywhere, there was no way it was that clean... EVER!

I guess it's a must to stop and have some fresh air in Mustair :) Charming Swiss village and picturesque surroundings, perfect spot for a monastery, unfortunately closed but the flowers were divine. What a beautiful end for your birthday trip! Didn't knew about Romansh language existence until now, I'm learning a lot from your posts Martina.

It indeed is :) There are so many charming places in Switzerland and I wish I had more time to see them all :)

That's so lovely to hear! Every day is a school day :) It's just a small group and that's why many people don't know about it but it is one of the official languages of Switzerland. However those people have to learn other languages too as otherwise no one would understand them :)

Wow what a lovely little gem of a place, Muestair ! Those flower shots that you took are very beautiful, @delishtreats ! It makes me happy to see such colours and beauty on my screen <3

The buildings and layout of the town are very charming, as well, I think you really captured Muestair's appeal with this post <3 Gorgeous article, I sure will look forward when you do return to visit the Monastery of Muestair in the future :D

Thank you for your kind words spider! Those flowers were so beautiful and I tried my best to somehow capture how pretty they were :) so I'm very happy that you like them.

Hahaha, I hope I will be able to return soon :)

Ach to Švýcarsko je nádherné :) Budu se tam muset někdy vydat na výlet. Zatím znám jen letiště v Curychu :D

Tak mi urcite daj vediet, ked sa k nam vyberies :) mozem ti dat nejake tipy na vylety, ktore budu urcite lepsie ako letisko :)

Jasné, díky moc :))

These small towns are jewels, it's clear why they are a UNESCO world heritage site! Very beautiful photos of the colorful flowers 👌 too

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your kind words! I like these small places as they are not crowded with tourists but still beautiful :)

What a lovely village. I have heard of Romansh, but have not heard it spoken. Your flower photos are quite wonderful!

I think I wouldn't know that it's Romansh if I would hear it again :) it's just so different to everything that my ear is used to..

Thanks a lot! I'm glad that you like them!

What a lovely small town! Its narrow streets and street art are so beautiful! Oh, and small monastery garden is a great finding :)

I've never heard of Romansh, but I googled and they don't have a few letters in their alphabet! Amazing!

Actually, the official language is artificial. It was created just so that they can write documents. People anyway speak dialects and the official language is more less not used. Or at least this is what I've heard.

I've noticed that you have some great posts going on but I don't have much time to check as I'm traveling (I just quickly logged in to answer the comments). I will check your profile as soon as I'm back on Sunday! :)

Reminds a little bit history of Ivrit (Hebrew language).

And don't worry, traveling is THE BEST reason to be absent on Steem :))) Have an excellent time!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you! :)

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Thank you for your support!

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #584.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you for your continuous support! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37