Riced Cauliflower, A Versatile Base and a Paleo Staple.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #paleo8 years ago (edited)

Like many people who practice a Paleo eating lifestyle, I have re-taught myself how to cook using very specific whole foods. These foods tend to be lower in carbohydrates (read: low sugar) and high in fat.

I also practice "big batch cooking" which translates to always cooking more than I need, every time I prepare food so that I will have ingredients at the ready for another culinary dish, at some point in the future.

If you have nutritious food already prepared, you are in essence making whole food,  fast food.

The way it should be, (in my humble opinion). 

This reduces your chances of falling off the wagon, so to speak, if you are using your eating lifestyle as a method to treat chronic disease in your body or you have made a commitment to be responsible for the health of your body.

Believe it or not, not everyone has gotten to that stage mentally where they recognize that only "they" can be responsible for the outcomes that they experience from a physiological perspective.

Let me be perfectly clear.

It is not your medical doctor's responsibility to ensure that you fuel and care for your body properly. No prescribed pill can do this either. 

Only you, through your direct actions, can.

Often, this means learning different things, new skills and how to change your existing habits. 

Making a rice replacement out of cauliflower is a good example of this, and thankfully it's not that hard to do.

The tools you will require are:

  1. a food processor or a large grater;
  2. a large butcher's knife;
  3. a frying pan;
  4. and a selection of measuring spoons.

The ingredients you will require are:

  1. a medium size head of cauliflower;
  2. 8 tbsp of coconut oil;
  3. 2 tsp of minced garlic;
  4. and pink Himalayan salt and ground black pepper to taste. 

Directions:

  • After you have washed the cauliflower and removed any of the leaves and core that you can, cut the cauliflower into chunks that you can easily handle and the hopper of your food processor can accommodate.

  • Run the cauliflower chunks through the food processor, using the finest grating setting that is available on the machine. (The consistence of a grain of rice is what we want to achieve.)

The bowl of my processor will accommodate an entire medium size head of cauliflower. If yours does not, you will have to use another bowl to store the grated cauliflower in, as you continue the grating process.

This is what the grated raw cauliflower should look like.

  • Heat 2 tbsp of coconut oil and 1 tsp of minced garlic in the frying pain over a medium flame.  

 

  • Fry the grated cauliflower to cook it and evaporate some of the water that the cauliflower contains so that the consistency of rice can be achieved without becoming mush. The whole cooking time takes approximately 15 minutes, per batch to cook. I cooked a medium size cauliflower in 2 separate batches and I added an additional 2 tbsp of coconut oil, half-way through the cooking process of each batch. In total, you will be using 4 tbsps of coconut oil per batch of fried cauliflower or 8 tbsps to fry the entire head. 

This is what the "riced cauliflower" will look like when it is finished. This can be used as a rice replacement in any recipe that you would normally use rice.

  • Season to taste with salt and pepper.

It has a low carbohydrate load and in addition, contains the beneficial fat that the coconut oil brings to the table. 

Cauliflower is a staple in my Paleo kitchen, because it is incredibly versatile.

I often use it as a replacement for both rice and potato and it makes an excellent grain-free crust for pizza.

I welcome your comments and invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan


Sort:  

Hello @rebeccaryan,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Yay! This is exactly the sort of thing we need on this tag, so people can see some of the basic substitutions that can be made, and that it really isn't hard at all. I've put a link to my paleo cottage pie, in response to @triddin's comment.

Fantastic! I really do think a t-shirt would be funny. Lol
"cauliflower is the chicken of all vegetables."

Ironically, I loathe cauli in all its forms. But I understand I'm just funny like that, and I'm glad it's so useful to everybody else, including other members of my household!

This and cauliflower mash are my 2 most favourite and versatile dishes in my kitchen.

I make a keto shepherd's pie with real lamb and cauli-mash, and the first time I made it, the kids came to me and asked if we were allowed potato again.

Cauliflower is like the chicken of the vegetable kingdom.

One of my first recipe posts was a paleo cottage pie using cauli, that got a grand total of 7 votes including myself and @sift666, lol! I was thinking of reposting it on the paleo thread, but here would be the perfect place to put it, where people reading about cauli will find it.
https://steemit.com/recipes/@kiwideb/paleo-cottage-pie-low-carb-nightshade-free
As you can see from the title, it's also nightshade free.

Looks delicious. It's a shame things like this get lost in time on steemit, it's all about the last 24 hours...

We're doing our best to change that :-)

Hahaha! I love it @triddin!
That should be on a t-shirt.
Cauliflower is the chicken of all vegetables.
Too funny, because it's true!

It's very beautiful post!!
Your job is very good :)

Thank you djsonic!

Oh that looks good. Will have to try it for sure. Upvoted and followed.

Thanks @cyber-punk! I really appreciate it.

I can't live without it. I used to survive on rice as a vegetarian and it's one of the things I miss the most. Fortunately it can be replaced like this, as long as I don't have too much. Because, of course, there still are some carbs and I have sugar problems.

I usually do it the other way though, I steam a quarter of a head, then rice it after it's cooked, with a potato masher. Steaming it takes about as much time as the rest of the cooking takes so I rice it just in time for putting my other stuff on it. Yum.

Very good @baedric. I also use radishes the same way.
(When you cook a radish, they loose their heat and make a great potato or rice substitute.)

Oh yeah! Perfect for fried potatoes with breakfast.

Exactly. I use them when I make soup too. I don't fry them first. I just chop them into bite-size pieces and throw them in the broth.

Great intro, and too true! It's funny that many people are reluctant to accept this truth, and continue to eat rubbish and feel like rubbish, even if you explain it to them. I don't know if you followed my blog way back when I wrote my posts on how I cured myself of fibromayalgia and IBS, but it was down to fake food and toxic overload. Now I eat only real whole foods I am healthy and feel great. If only we were educated properly when we were young!

I have been wondering Rebecca - how long have you been practicing this diet, and what lead you to paleo, if you don't mind my asking?

In 2004, after almost 20 years of eating a low fat diet, that included aspartame and almost 100% processed foods, I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis. I had mobility issues and lost my eyesight. (One eye at a time, thankfully.)
I had to totally re-educate myself and adopted a paleo eating lifestyle which is low carb, high fat. I also eat cannabis everyday. I went from being blind with mobility problems to 100% fully restored function. I have never taken any pharmaceuticals to treat this autoimmune challenge. If I didn't wise-up to the truth about sugar and gut bacteria, I have 0 doubt in my mind that I would be completely blind and in a wheelchair, now...13 years later. That's where my doctors thought I would be at this point. Now they are very reluctant to say cured, so I compromise and happily say that I'm in remission.
Fibro has digestive issues at it's root cause too, and it's fantastic that you've been able to control it. I also can add that it's a sleeping issue, too.
Are you able to sleep through the night now?

Yes, all my symptoms were gone after about a year from when I started to change my diet. It took a while as I didn't realise at first the little things like stock cubes and sauces contain toxic ingredients too. Looking back now it seems strange I couldn't tell the difference between real and fake food!

Wow, what a story you have. And what a triumph... So many people are putting up with health effects unnecessarily, and usually doctors don't even suggest a link to diet. I'm so happy to hear you were able to restore your health without pharmaceuticals, and I sooo wish cannabis was recognised for the medicine it is. Good news - Ireland recently passed a bill for medical marijuana use. I do hope other countries will do the same in due course.

Very good @woamn-onthe-wing! I love to hear about successful turn-around stories, like yours! Well done.
I do think that we will see global legalization of cannabis in our lifetime. It helps so many ailments. :)

Very interesting and knowing how you've controlled your MS makes it all the more impressive.

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Thanks @kus-knee. Yes, I am a pretty good food hacker and my specialty is sulfur-rich, cruciferous veg.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.10 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40