Paleo-Trail update : Saturday, April 13th, 2018

in #paleo-trail6 years ago

Recovering from a cheat day

My excellent son, with whom I am well pleased, came to visit me from college this last week. Although he is generally lowish carb, we both started out the week ketogenic Paleo. This was actually a continuation of my recent months of keto and Intermittent Fasting, but I knew what was to come.

We have a family tradition of "Father Son bonding Pastry". This usually means a visit to a restaurant for some steaks followed by pie, although when he was a child it meant the one time a month we went out for donuts and chocolate milk. 8-)

This time it was Order-In sub sandwiches. At least it wasn't a sugary pastry, and hopefully the recovery will be easier. What I am doing is an extended fast, starting tonight, through tomorrow, and into monday.

Some folks, like my son, do not need to put in a concerted effort to get back on track, others, like myself, find that carbs have a definite addictive nature, and each cheat day is a Trial of Strength. My last one led to 6 months of me falling face down into the ice cream. It wasn't pretty.

I'm feeling much better now.


Be sure to see the featured posts below


Please follow the Paleo Trail updates
and upvote, resteem, and follow the highlighted authors to learn more

For additional conversation on a wide range of Paleo Topics,
visit the Paleo-Trail discussion group on Discord


Featured posts


Day Five of a Paleo Diet by @tinswel
The foremost activity that keeps me on my path, is encouraging and supporting others who are new to Paleo. This has always been the secret of organizations like Alcoholics Anonymous, and it absolutely works for me when nothing else does. So I recommend that you join me in supporting and encouraging this new Paleo author as they learn the menus and recipes, as they overcome the challenges of facing a world that want us to eat sugar and junk food.


Paleo Fried Chicken and Strawberry Pineapple Sorbet by @corrielaine
A whole family making the effort to eat as our bodies were built to eat. Including perhaps the cutest of new Paleo converts!

I'm going to have to ask Corrielaine to tell us what she used for a breading, I'm guessing coconut flour. I usually just fry my chicken thighs straight in bacon fat with no breading.

I'm also thinking about using some fermented berries to make a similar sorbet dessert. I'll have to calculate the carbs first...


Please support our paleo, keto, and LCHF diet writers
by voting, resteeming and commenting

All images linked from original authors or downloaded from Pixabay

Sort:  

@paleo-trail you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Loading...

Congratulations @paleo-trail! You received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @paleo-trail! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36