The Over 20 Club : Thank you for the nomination, which I happily accept!

over20.jpg

badge designed by @fireawaymarmot

I feel truly honored to have been nominated to join the Over 20 Club. My freewrite journey has included some rabbit trails and detours, rather like some of my freewrites. I joined Steemit early in 2017, as I recall; my son urged me to submit an entry in a travel story contest that March, so I did. After that I posted now and then about this and that until @freedomtowrite mentioned freewrites to me. I looked into freewrites, and the fun began.

I've enjoyed creative writing ever since I was in elementary school. Once I was out of school, however, the only writing I did was letters and my diary, which I have been writing since 1969. It isn't very interesting, most of the time; I just write about what I've been doing, and what my family is up to. I rarely include deep thoughts or profound observations. (Maybe because I don't often indulge in such things. Ha ha!)

Consequently, doing the freewrites has forced me to get my creative juices flowing again. I feel as if it is taking a dreadfully long time, and that much of what I write is mediocre compared to the amazing things other people write. But I'm having fun, and I'm learning as I go, and gradually finding my style, and I guess that's what really matters. Most of all, I've enjoyed getting acquainted with other freewriters along the way. There are some wonderful people in this group, all very supportive and encouraging people. I appreciate you all!

Picking my favorite freewrites is going to be a challenge, because I've forgotten most of them and will have to scroll back and find them.....

Aha! My very first one was posted in early February, and I like the way it turned out, so here's the link to that one. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@scribblingramma/5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-yard-sale

This was a rare attempt at sci-fi. Sort of. Mostly. https://steemit.com/freewrite/@scribblingramma/5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-fried-chicken

I barely remember writing this one. It amuses me. https://steemit.com/writing/@scribblingramma/not-small-or-large-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-medium

And I should include at least one weekend freewrite, because they are always such a unique challenge. https://steemit.com/weekendfreewrite/@scribblingramma/from-sinks-to-space-weekend-freewrite

If you haven't come over to @freewritehouse yet, you should visit us there! You will find contests, ideas, and plenty of good friends. And the daily prompts are always posted by the ever-faithful @mariannewest, who keeps it all going.

Sort:  

Congratulations! I'm so happy that you joined our community! My favorite part of the freewrites is that encourages us to find our writing voice and practice! I'm excited to dive into the stories you picked to share!

Thank you, once again, for introducing me to freewrites!

I am so glad too that you joined the freewriters!!!

You are such an awesome person! You're so involved and SO encouraging to everyone. I love that you've joined the community! You are exactly the kind of people that make places like @freewritehouse THRIVE!

Awww, you are so sweet! Thanks!

Congratulations! Glad to know you as a fellow freewriter!
Like you, I've always kept journals and written letters, but creatively speaking so much comes of writing and sharing these five minute freewrites!

Yes, that's so true! Thanks for your support!

Welcome to the Over 20 Club @scribblingramma great post. It was fun to revisit your #freewrites. 👌

Welcome to the over 20 Club! I for one fully enjoy your freewrites. I loved your weekend freewrite. I also love the humor that you always put into your freewrites!

Congratulations! Your freewrites are enjoyable and I am looking forward to reading the ones you mentioned here. : ) Have fun on your freewrite journey @scribblingramma! : )

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28