Gotcha! Finally captured the dolphin (?)

in #oslo6 years ago

Twice earlier this winter I've seen what I think may be a dolphin (commented in two of my earlier blog post, like this). Yesterday I was out with the sail boat - and while I was considering my next plan I just "sailed" with the wind, but without any sails out. I did 1.3 knots going like that. And again, I observed this mammal, it was quite a bit in front of the boat. No point trying to take pictures I thought ... oh whoopsie, it came up from the water right nearby! And then once more, now heading directly towards me. Next time it was on the other side of the boat, a bit away ... and then far ahead of the boat again. Oh darn, I just lost two perfect photo moments. It was like it was teasing me, always breathing right nearby when I was not ready to take a picture, and then far, far away when I was ready to take a picture - or coming up from the water at a completely unexpected place when I was ready to take picture. Or, once I almost had it ... but somehow the cellphone didn't register my finger touching the "capture photo"-button.

The mammal kept swimming in circles around the boat, anti-clockwise, spending like one minute (but with quite irregular intervals) between each breathing, often appearing quite close to the boat in one breathing and then being far ahead of the boat in the next breathing - so eventually I managed to take some pictures of it.

The land ahead is the west side of the Bygdøy peninsula, it's a park (and a marina to the left).

Fornebu, with the Telenor building and the Statoil building

While photographing I got an appointment downtown so I eventually started the engine and speeded up. The dolphin was still folllowing me for a while.

All photos available on IPFS QmcpG1S9fEAnBX8xE6Cx6HB9zvhoDHs24kNHKDFjEsXCM6. License: CC BY-SA 4.0

Sort:  

Great capture man, you got him. Or did he catch you? Intelligent, friendly and playful they are extraordinary creatures. They always startle me when I see that fin and I think, SHARK!

That was the first comment by my middle son (7) as well when he saw the photo: "shark!" :-)

Once in a canoe and once on a disabled sailboard, your whole life passes before your mind at that one instant. Even from high rise buildings in Coconut Grove or Miami Beach you can see them swimming by. And hammerhead sharks in schools too -- they are all out there, you just don't expect to meet them up close and personal.

Once I was out rowing a dhingy back in my home town, observing some small whales in the distance. I went closer to observe them, but eventually got quite scared when I realized that those small whales indeed was a lot bigger than the dhingy I was sitting in ... :-)

wow dolphin in Oslofjorden, it's incredible..a google it now. and it says its exstremt rare things and seeing. a did not now there did go so fare up. super cool

It's probably one and the same animal. The three observations I've done is in the same area (Bygdøy/Nakholmen).

Don't worry my friend. You were lucky to see those beautiful creatures in their habitat. Nothing can compete with that.
I admit though, a full pic would have been even better but hey! At least you got to see them.

That is so cool! I am from Oslo and have never seen it, but remember a few years back people talking about dolphins been observed in the fjord. I used to do kajacking near Sandvika and always hoped to see one. Lucky you. Thats special.

Sandvika is probably not the right place to search for dolphins. :-)

I did a google search for dolphins in the Oslo fjord, so yes ... they are regularly spotted, and there are different species. There was one newspaper clipping about a sail boat that was followed by a jumping dolphin for a longer while. The dolphin I saw did not jump out of the water, just showed his tailfin while breathing.

haha no, I find it incredible that they can be spotted in the Oslo fjord. Almost unreal. I wonder where they come from. Do you know?

I guess they come from ... the sea? :-)

Haha Yes :-) Ok so I googles and found it is not that rare to see one. What was interesting was to find an article with my cousin Viggo Reed, a field biologist, the explains that because they are very playful and social animals and usually stay in large herds, so when they break out of the group, they will often follow boats for fun and interaction. You got lucky :-)

This one must be very lonely, no herd and no family.

That sounds sad, does it not?! I do hope he is enjoying his adventure somehow.

That's a awesome thing to experience... seeing a wild animal in its natural environment... that first picture is awesome. Hence why it's first lol 👍👍

The first and the last photo is the same, except I decided to crop it a bit, efficiently zooming in.

And I nearly missed this post! Learn something new everyday , theres dolphins here! Beautiful

O that's really amazing shoot. You really great photographer i much appreciate your photography. Best of luck for future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 64720.87
ETH 3409.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32