You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gotcha! Finally captured the dolphin (?)

in #oslo6 years ago

That is so cool! I am from Oslo and have never seen it, but remember a few years back people talking about dolphins been observed in the fjord. I used to do kajacking near Sandvika and always hoped to see one. Lucky you. Thats special.

Sort:  

Sandvika is probably not the right place to search for dolphins. :-)

I did a google search for dolphins in the Oslo fjord, so yes ... they are regularly spotted, and there are different species. There was one newspaper clipping about a sail boat that was followed by a jumping dolphin for a longer while. The dolphin I saw did not jump out of the water, just showed his tailfin while breathing.

haha no, I find it incredible that they can be spotted in the Oslo fjord. Almost unreal. I wonder where they come from. Do you know?

I guess they come from ... the sea? :-)

Haha Yes :-) Ok so I googles and found it is not that rare to see one. What was interesting was to find an article with my cousin Viggo Reed, a field biologist, the explains that because they are very playful and social animals and usually stay in large herds, so when they break out of the group, they will often follow boats for fun and interaction. You got lucky :-)

This one must be very lonely, no herd and no family.

That sounds sad, does it not?! I do hope he is enjoying his adventure somehow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65836.42
ETH 2694.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87