Steemit Open Mic Night Week 65: A Christmas Time Special A Capella, As I Give You My First Ever Video Recorded Song! I Sing "Oh Holly Night"

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I humbly apologize for the un practiced/trained entry this week. This is the first time I have ever sang a song for a video. I didn't know all the words nor ever sung the whole thing before today and to add more challenge I had no score/music just an A Capella .  I usually enter didgeridoo originals of which I bring into being my self on an instrument of which I have played for hundreds of hours. So its natural to just play on video something I haven't played before with the didgeridoo even in the crazy circumstances I play in, like my entry "playing the didgeridoo while frying eggs). 

I like to bring really original and creative entries to this contest because thats who I am and also because I like to promote and support this contest. So I feel this is a quality entry at least in that regard as it is something I have NOT DONE before which is an intense experience. 

Also its in holiday spirit as I am honoring the silly holiday of Christmas!

Special thanks to @qiqi-power and LiLu for dancing in this video. EDIT: @qiqi-power actually JUST made an entry into this weeks Open Mic also if you want to check the out here!


I chose O Holly Night because tonight is a holly night as was Christmas and as is tomorrow and the day after so on and so forth~*~

I hope you enjoy these moments shared together and that you experience many Holly Nights!




Be sure to check out the This weeks OFFICIAL Contest page here with over 100 much more talented musicians than I and give some of them an upvote!  

I do really enjoy making music with my voice yet I really don't like "performing" or memorizing/practicing/training to do something "the right way". 


When singing someones els's song or memorizing an already  known song there is this idea of what the correct words are and of how it should be sung. So that is very strange for me because music is all about the feeling of the moment and it feels weird to do "music" with "rules" or how I am "supposed" to do it. 

So I kind of messed up in this song because I had a "temporally lapse in time" while thinking about "how its supposed to go" while I was just singing and expressing my self, which is what I love most about "music". So I just sorta botched it and moved on. Though thats whats cool about being raw and vulnerable is you never know how its going to go....I am submitting this one not because it was a smooth or "flawless" performance but because it was a genuine one in a kind first time ever thing!


I had fun with this and will defiantly consider posting another "singing entry" especially if any of you want to see more of it. 


You can check out lots of my other open mic entries of which are all didgeridoo entries if you like here. 



I really love this contest as I feel its really great for the Steemit community. I have written extensively about it many times. I have been participating since about week 1 and have always made a point to support this project as I feel it is one of the most valuable projects happening on Steemit. Not only is it good for the musicians who as we know always need support as it is very difficult to make it as a musician in this world. 


However it is also really awesome for Steemit as a whole because music transcends language and brings people together. Everyone loves some kind of music and thus with this international community there is great potential for exchange. Also many musicians have followers/fans and if Steemit becomes a place to help musicians succeed they will then start using Steemit and bringing all their fans as well!


So again a special thanks to @luzcypher for starting and hosting this for over a year! Thats some commitment and consistency for sure! 


Of course a SUPER thanks to @pfunk for sponsoring this all this time as we may not even have Open Mic without that. It is what provides the incentive to participate. I have known @pfunk for over a year here on Steemit and I believe he has a good grasp on whats beneficial for this community and deserves a serious witness consideration!


Also @verbal-d deserves a shout out as well for inspiring this contest and participating so many times. He is also an official judge of the contest and is without a doubt one of the top musical icons here on Steemit bringing the raw creativity we love so much about music! Also @soundlegion is an official judge and very involved in this project as is @passion-ground a new passionate supporter of the Open Mic Project as well!


I am now doing 50/50 payout posts simply because the SBD is so insanely high at the moment, but I will be converting it all to $teem and powering up of course!



I appreciate your support and am grateful to be here on Steemit. I welcome any feedback you have to offer as well as an upvote!

SteemOn!


Sort:  

Totally awesome of you to step out of your digeridoo comfort zone, brother! You did FANTASTIC, man - I loved it!

Thank you very much for the kind support. It was not very well done but it was raw and real and I feel like thats what art should be and the intimate power of expression in the form of music.
I hope to do some more singing in the future and explore that a bit more. I hope to inspire more people to give it a go even if they are not trained or practiced.

wow great voice and my love to the cute kids!

Yes the children are worth watching if nothing else!

This is a really fun video--so raw and in the moment!!! Your voice gets better and better everyday @quinneaker. I think this is an amazing post, considering your debilitating fear of public speaking in high school. My how things change. I hope you write a post about that!!! Thanks for the song!

Yes I don't sing very often and NEVER practice but I do love to sing and this is a very heart felt song.

I had fun even though I botched it pretty bad. I posted it anyways because I want to inspire others to stop out of their comfort zones, push limits and break on through to the other side!

Yes I did actually write about that once maybe a year ago or so. Guess you never saw it or forgot already ;-)>

I love how real you are, not putting on pretense, not afraid to make mistakes, and not afraid to be seen. It's a rare quality seen in few. Thanks for continuing to set such a fine and empowered example @quinneaker.

I am constantly trying to find a balance of enjoying and feeling good about my own life while being dedicated to serving a better earth. Thanks for all your support!

∞§∞EverLove∞§∞

It has always seemed apparent to me that they are very close to one and the same--as you see the bigger picture and move in the direction every moment of every day toward greater stewardship of the earth. People, on the other hand, can be quite the challenge, as living true to your higher ideals and values, and yet living with the low standards of others, can be incredibly tricky. You balance that better than anyone I have ever known, though I see it is that way because of your dedication and focus on what is possible. Most of us have never seen even a small sparkle of what you are aware of. Thanks for doing what you do, for bringing us along, and for not giving up. I am grateful to support such inspired magnificence. So very very grateful, @quinneaker. <3

∞§∞EverLove∞§∞

Great job! I appreciate that you share it even if it's not "perfect". It's way more real & opens the door for anyone who wants to play to just jump right on in & have a good time. The girls are obviously feeling it!

Well it was defiantly far from perfect haha. Thanks though and I agree.

That is the main reason I did this is to push my own limits but to also inspire others to try new things espeecially ones that are uncomfortable. Its how we grow as beings.

I got eco-alex to give it a go already!

Breaking on through to the other side~*~

Check out this weeks contest page here to see over 100 other much more talented artists than I and give them an up vote!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-65-record-your-performance-and-win-steem-sponsored-by-pfunk-and-luzcypher

This link isn't working right now! Neither is the actual Open Mic week 65 post on @luzcypher's page, how strange...

Yea I know pretty weird. Thanks for commenting about it.

You share so much of great importance and this raw realness without any pretense or even practice is really quite amazing.

Thanks, it was my intention to be vulnerable and express my self in hopes to inspire others to challenge them selfs to tap into and integrate new aspects of them selfs.

the first time is the hardest, i can testify to that! well done for putting it out there! The Kids loVed it!

Thanks, its healthy to express our selfs and to be honest, raw and real. I we all had fun recording!

Thanks again for the support!

YEs, im REALLY working on that, as trying to be GOOD is totally messing my vibe up and someitmes i cant even say Steemit Open Mic properly i get so flustered!..

ill try take a leaf out of your book

hahahaha yea brother!
Life is for living, let go, have fun and be your self!
If anyone hates on you for it its their problem!
Being real and free is a priceless reward needing not approval or compliment!
Love you man!

ok, i DID it! '=) Phew,, only took two weeks

hahahahaha yes its difficult.

In truth once upon a time I was so terrified of being in front of people that I literally passed out just trying to read a paper in front of class in high school.

15 years ago I wouldn't have even been able think about doing this let alone be able to do this.

Good job and keep pushing the limits.

I cant believe! Uve come a long way quinn! I think living as u do somewhat unplugged from mainstreem society must help!

Im the same, public speaking is only possible if im talking about Earthships ;)

Nownive broken the start ribbon i have a lil more confidence! More to come as bhajans are my golden key to an open heart and connectedness.

Have a beautiful new year quinn! Im guessing ull have the dij out ;)

Yes I have come a long way and dying to the matrix was the first step as it was the fault of the world I grew up in for being so pathetic.

I have died and been reborn, creating my self anew, consciously every day.

Yes I will be playing the didj for my holistic harmonics post tomorrow.

Bless Brother~*~

Well done @quinneaker !! Thats pretty good for your first time trying , I loved it ! Happy Holidays to you and your family upped and resteemed! 🎵🎶🎼🎵🎶🎼🎤🎤

hahahah thanks, I tried!

you do have the lungs and voice for this! deep and expressive!

My humble gratitude to you for you for the compliment.

Good Job! As long as it came down from your heart ;) keep it up

It was authentic and real for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16