OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 71

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Top-Five.png


Summary

...Okay, so for real people – given the abundance of extraordinary talent here, selecting a Top-5 or even a Top-10 for that matter - is a rather difficult list to compile by every measurable degree of difficulty! In a small sense, my Top-5 and Top-10 (as it were) are virtually interchangeable insofar as their particular order is concerned. Quite honestly, it is more a matter of how “the listener” - or “judge” (in this case, me), happens to be “feeling” at the time at which he or she may be called upon to come up with a definitive order in which to prioritize such phenomenal talent and performances.

Yes, indeed! It is a most “subjective” process for sure! This my dear friends is the very nature of this particularly beautiful beast that I love unconditionally! Here again, however, I challenge everyone to point me to any judge on the face of this Earth – in any realm or jurisdiction - who is not compelled in one way or another - to having his or her subjective “opinions” adequately reflected in their respective judgments – so long as such judgments adhere in some meaningful and definitive fashion and are within “the letter of the laws” which bind and govern such trying and final decisions.

In reviewing all of the entries this week, what really struck me was the abundance of super high-quality “instrumental” entries of every stripe. Mid-way through my process, I made a mental note to do my best to highlight these remarkable instrumental entries in such a way that would draw attention to them – meaning that – I was going to try and do whatever I could in order to get them into my Top-10. Try as I might, my heart invariably gave way to the plethora of incredibly outstanding (and original) entries that put their “voices” and “hearts” where their songs where. That said, instrumentalists should know and realize in no uncertain terms – that their skills and entertainment value is highly regarded and appreciated on so many levels! The Open-Mic Venue simply wouldn’t be what it is without your outstanding and soul-shaking instrumental contributions!

Because I start judging entries from early on in the week, I am more often than not one of the first judges to come out with a top-5 selections list. I keep up in real-time with all of @luzcyphers “approved” entries, and sometimes, I even get a little ahead of him. Trust me; this is not an easy task to accomplish by any means.

My cut-off time for judging entries is the cut-off time stated in the rules, 12:00 pm UTC, however, every now and then a stellar late arrival shows up to upset the entire apple cart. Because of this, I do very much make certain that before making the final selections that I review @luzcyphers “official” "See Who Played" lists to make certain that all approved entries are present and accounted for insofar as my weekly picks are concerned.

At the current UTC time to which the “official” cut-off is aligned, I am now 6 hours or more past the cut-off, so I feel quite confident in submitting my picks for the week at this point in time.

So with all of that said, following some further insights as to how I judge, let’s get it on, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 71


Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process


As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luczypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order


FIRST PLACE: @pedromrmourato - “Frozen” - (Cover)

For those in the US that cannot open the YouTube video - please check out this outstanding performance on the D-Tube platform linked directly below.


Don’t get me wrong – I love Madonna! It’s just that, well, you know – she’s a “has-been” pop star at this juncture. Even when she was at the height of her fame and glory, - yes, – I loved her indeed, but strictly within the narrow realm of a “pop star.”

So here comes @pedromrmourato, and I’m like – WTF is this! Well, never having heard the “Madonna” original – I just totally got into the duet for what it was worth on its own merit – and to say the very least, it’s worth a quite lot!

So, thereafter, I had to go check out Madonna’s original composition – and what do you know? I’ll tell you what… @pedromrmourato and company completely out-gunned Madonna’s original version at every twist and turn! Not at all just for that conquest, but rather for the incredible duet performance by these two fine artists, which is simply undeniable - I had no choice but to place them at the top of my list for week 71.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@pedromrmourato/steemit-openmic-week-71-frozen-madonna


SECOND PLACE: @ lillym – “Hold on Strong” - (Original Song)


No matter which way you slice it, this chick has got the “goods" – and she “delivers!” I just loved everything about her passion-filled performance! This is my kind of music! It’s raw, pure, and from the heart. More than that, you can’t ask for. For this, and this alone, Lilly took my 2nd place selection without the least bit of resistance.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@lillym/steemit-open-mic-week-71-original-song-hold-on-strong-by-lillym


THIRD PLACE: @ jesuszoliz – “Quizás” - (Original Song)


There really is no other way to describe it. Jesus just simply strikes the perfect chord – and effortlessly awakens my deepest emotions. He’s been on my radar from day one, and has made it into my Top-10 selections more than once before – and always for the very same reason – this kid rocks, man – and he’s got the goods! That’s why he’s here in my number 3-spot this week, here in week 71.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@jesuszoliz/steemit-open-mic-semana-71-quizas-original


FOURTH PLACE: @benleemusic – “Thunder” - (Original Song)


Not just because Ben’s performance was outstanding by every possible measure – but also because this original “Ben Lee” composition simply “hit-home” with me – right to the core of my very being! Given the irrefutably profound underlying message conveyed herein, in concert with his down-to-earth passion-filled performance, left me no choice whatsoever to include Ben (once again) within my Top-5 selections for the week. Yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@benleemusic/steemit-open-mic-week-71-thunder-benleemusic-original-song


FIFTH PLACE: @mightyjoenolan – “First Sign of Rain” - (Original Song)

https

So, yeah – right in keeping with Ben Lee’s “Thunder” – mighty Joe’s composition of “First Sign of Rain” really hit home with me as well! Joe has got a unique vocal presence, which is very much deserving of notice at the highest order. His guitar playing skills are not far behind, and as such, “Mighty Joe” has earned himself a spot in my Top-5 for week 71.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@mightyjoenolan/steemit-open-mic-week-71-original-song-first-sign-of-rain


Honorable Mention.png



My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:



Fifth: @edenmichelle – “Before You Speak” - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@edenmichelle/steemit-open-mic-week-71-original-song-before-you-speak



Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.


Judges Graphic - Open Mic.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All


A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish, and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@spaceballoon, @markaustin, @premmlinbass, @begtodiffer, @quanahjayhicks, @steembirds, @juliolunar, @tomashofficial, @edward-ong, @danieldyemusic, @nirtsfaty, @malvarezmusic, @alexlinares, @alejandra23, @vera.carla, @sazzler, @silentscreamer, @branhmusic, @art-mess, and @builtinfire.


Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:

@wilins, @miguelblanco, @elisonr13, @yusaymon, @gabs.uni.versos, @missweirdy, @klynic, @gjones15, @lucybanks, @viewlessdwarf, @kayclarity, @elamental, @dominiqueguitars, @zulkiflisaadan, @rjcha, @drewley, @evoman1, @steevc, @ljv, @lk666, @chrisroberts, @jonsnoww, @enderson49, @guifaquetti, @misc.jocs, @lyon89, @betzaelcorvo, @esmeescobar, @mandysp, @malikcreed, @raci, @manurodriguez, @honeymoon-1611, @piporrodimebag, @jorleibyabreu, @beethoven10, @orianaarmand, @erpachon, @granaddiction, @andrewmarkmusic, @nelsooona, @mcmusic, @maryjaney, @emil01, @abrahan28, @brendahcaroline, @donatello, @yulita, @roman.musica, @mrgranville, @adreini, @boschoscar, @augustias88, @williamsreinoso, @fax4u, @funkmedia, @pechichemena, @oliverwaterman, @pandamama, @choby, @cabelindsay, @paulhallman, @melodeons, @tonypapa, @samcook, @marcusings, @wethepatsies, @julian.alejandro, @theflorescents, @guaraguaras, @delifer25, @robertonavs, @stephantattoo, @bennettitalia, @scottone, @thesimpson, @mrprecious, @williansjmm, @alejandra23, @misterdianabasi, @luisferchav, @melavie, @matiasfumagalli, @yourmercury, @chimtivers96, @mathewjoseph, @rial17, and @chaifm.

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!


Sort:  

Another solid list, you have a good ear bro. Each list we put out just keeps getting better and better as the competition and performances rise up and improve. We have a great responsibility to this community, and you handle it well with such passion and encouraging/uplifting light beams of positivity.

Thank you, brother! Without you, none of this would be happening! I share in and appreciate your dedication to the cause of this most remarkable community! Much love, man! Thanks again, "D!"

You're welcome. I am glad to be a part of it all with you included bro. Much love indeed.

Loading...

Thank you for sharing such nice comments and compliments on my music @passion-ground! I’m honoured to have been chosen as 2nd place this week! :)

You had me within the first few seconds of listening. The balance of your performance was icing on the cake with a cherry on top! Loved it!

Aw thank you so much! It’s so awesome to share with you all, and to listen to the other great entries.

Congratulations @lillym!!!!!!!!! Loved your video. ❤

Thanks so much @thelmalera! ❤️❤️

Great choices @passion-ground! Love the way you describe the listening / scoring process. Thanks for the shout-out!

Thank you, brother... I so appreciate your appreciating my love and effort for the cause... :-) Loved your entry this week, man - just as I've loved all of your previous entries as well!

Yea! Fab choices, I always thought madonna's 'frozen' was a pretty interesting song, and those boys really smashed it didnt they?! There are always so many brilliant entries, its hard to find the time to listen to them all, so you judges really must be putting in the hours! Its awesome to know the openmic community is growing every week. (And thankyou for the special shout out! xo)

They sure did smash it alright! Yes, the time required is rather intense but it's a labor of love. Your performance this week was brilliant!

Aw thank you SO much PG, that recording was just for this community, it's not even listed on YouTube. Love ya, Openmic Steemzers! I wouldn't be doing this without you all xo

So gratefull for your words! It really means a lot to hear such comments from a person who listens to this huge amount of talent every week! We're already preparing for this week! Cheers

Thanks, man... You guys killed this week, bro!

Whoah! Thanks for the vote @passionground I always appreciate your comments and insights, my friend.

Quite welcome, "Mighty-Joe!" Been lovin' on your music from day one!!! Keep crankin' it out, my friend!

Hey! Thanks for the honourable mention this week @passion-ground!
I really am enjoying my time here!

Playing on @msp-waves earlier was great!!
Kindest
Darren

You rock, Darren! Keep doing your thing, mate! Lovin' it!!

Rock on! Delivering babies right now. The depth you go into on judging is intense. Your love for music makes me proud!

You go Doc! Ain't nuthin' more important than safely bringing the little ones into this world! Thanks for the kind words, Mr. T!

Gracias, hermano mío! Un abrazo para ti.

You are most welcome, my brother Wilens! I look forward to your great music each and every week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28