Open Mic Week 76 - Meno - Top 5 Picks and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Greeting and salutations to all of you my dear musical family. This has been another amazing week of entries with memorable original songs, beautiful voices and smiling faces and the perfect way to contrast an otherwise ugly week in crypto (if you have not looked at the market don't... its better this way).


top5meno.jpg

I have to confess I was a bit worried that the declining prices would deter people from being active on the #openmic this week, but I'm gladly accepting I was wrong, very wrong. I've been trying to keep up all week with the entries coming in and have done some final reshuffling to come up with the top 5 entries for this post. As always this task is never easy and no matter how much work I put into it and how fair I think I'm being, I always feel a day later that I could have done a bit better.

In any case, here it goes.

First Place.-

@danieldyemusic Way too long - Original Song

This song hit home for me and big time. I too had one of those amazing grandfathers that left a legacy behind and big empty space when he left this world. This song is a beautiful tribute to what I consider to be a life of success, a life that leaves behind true wealth in the hearts of everyone it touched.

I may have never met Daniel's grandfather, but I feel like I got to know the essence of who he was with one short song and that is so powerful.

Second Place.-

@drewsmusic See you again - Original Song

Can somebody please tell me how is it that I had no idea @drewsmusic existed and that he could sing and write like this up until this week? What a song! It felt both familiar and refreshing at the same time. I gave his entry a couple of listens again as I was writing my top 5 only to wonder why is this not the kind of music I can listen on those long hours on the road.

Beautiful lyrics, amazing delivery and the harmonic composition left me wanting nothing else... Absolutely brilliant!

Third Place.-

@petrajordan More than I could handle - Original Song

Petra is a true songstress, I'm sitting here being drawn by the piano as it plays behind the melodic hooks attempting to make me forget I should be doing other things with my evening that listening to her sing and play. This song is superb and in more ways than one, the lyrical content is a rich as to please the pickiest of poets, the piano work reminds of how Billy Joel chooses to play with his bass lines as he works his magic on those memorable runs that make him distinct.

Absolutely Brilliant Petra.... you are a magical being I swear....

Fourth Place.-

@benleemusic Lean into it - Original Song Collaboration with Nathan Kaye

This was one of my favorite collaborations on Steem probably ever. @benleemusic and @nathankaye together jamming a beautiful and powerful song crafted with pure emotion. What is not to absolutely love about this? I for one would nothing more than to see more of these two collaborating on music in the future.

To me this song is about finding our inner strength and maybe that is why it felt like Nathan was the perfect fit for this collaboration.

Fifth Place.-

@pedromrmourato Turn me On - Original Song

Well last week's winner was not about to slow down, and he came back this week with another amazing performance. A song about seduction will never get old, the performance and delivery of Pedro and his band is honestly some of the best I've heard out there and I'm not only talking about Steem of course.

I'm sure that they will continue to grow their following on Steem with giant steps every single week. Absolutely stunning song guys.

@pedromrmourato acabei de reparar que voce e portugues, eu tinha escutado um sotaque bem no começo do video, e agora faz mais sentido. Abraço!!

Honorable Mentions

In no particular order these are some of the performances I enjoyed profoundly this week:

@operahoser - Strike Three - Original Song


judges.png

This closes another amazing week, are we ready for week 77? I sure am... But before you leave my post my musical brother, my musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the open mic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love

meno by hoschi.png
signature made by @bembelmaniac

Sort:  

Thank you so much @meno. I'm glad that we both were blessed with great grandpas! It's been 20 years since he passed but it feels like I just saw him yesterday. It's kind of mind-blowing to realize how much of an influence we have on those little ones around us.

I hope we can talk about this on Wednesday... you still up for the show?

Yes. 9pm! I'll get there a few minutes before the show. How many songs are you thinking?

if we can do at least 3 we are ninja.. more than that Icing on the cake, but we are of plan of the no plan...

Great recap of week 76 @meno! I especially liked how you wrapped it all up in saying that:

"Despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the open mic. At the end of the day, the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have a special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another."

It's a beautiful thing, brother! Just like you!

Thanks so much for the Honourable Mention :)

Wow, thank you @meno! I’m having to keep my ego on a leash and tell it to go to the doghouse with such compliments ;) @openmic is giving me so much encouragement to continue and get better each week! Especially being surrounded by such amazing and talented people!

I tried to vote for @drewmusic but Steemit can’t find his page...and the link is broken... does it happen to you, too? Cause I absolutely LOVE his voice!

Anyway, thanks a million for your support and kind words ❤️

Hahahahha well I'm not afraid of being honest!! ❤️

I fixed Drew's entry... I had messed up on the link after all...

You are in Florida right now?

We all are.. but everyone is going back home tomorrow morning, well clay started his way back today actually

I always wrestle with an upbeat tribute to someone who has passed, I feel guilty for feeling good. But we should remember those happy times. A great top pick mate. It made me think of my grandpa whose banjo mandolin sits atop my great grandmother's pianola. Sadly I can't play either :/

Woohoo! 4th place in the Meno top 5!
Thanks so much bro!
I love that Ben and I can artistically explore and break out of the normal accepted mould (of the status quo and also out of what we’re normally known for ourselves) and still receive acknowledgement as artists and artistic collaborators.
It was such a honour to work with such an esteemed songwriter as Ben.
Hopefully we’ll be inspired to do more collaborations. I know we’ve got at least one more up our sleeves.
Thanks for all the hard work and big heart energy you put into this and also the other Steemit initiatives you’re a part of.
Bless ya!

There is a very good level in your top 5 ... and @petrajordan has become one of my favorite singers !!! Listening to me is a delicacy 😍

olá @meno, é uma surpresa "ouvir-te" falar português! Fui pesquisar e percebi que cresceste na América do Sul, e que o português é a tua terceira língua, foi por opcão?
Quanto às tuas palavras sobre a nossa música, muito obrigado! É um prazer poder trazer-vos a nossa música todas as semanas, mais ainda agora que sei que me compreendes não só musicalmente mas também por palavras! Abraço

Ola Pedro... foi mesmo, por opcão... mas acho que mais porque eu gostaba muito de disenhos animados japoneses e nao achei outro jeito de assistir eles, so em portugues!! terminei adorando a lingua, a cultura detras dela e a historia do Portugal.

Beautifully​ euphemistic by Ben and Nathan!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83