Unoffical BONUS PRIZES for Steemit Open Mic Week 85

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I've decided I'm going to keep giving out a small award for some of my favorite original songs in English that are part of the Open Mic contest.

How do I participate?

  • Make a valid entry to Open Mic.
  • Make sure the title makes it clear that the song is original and in English or an instrumental.
  • Be someone other than me.

(Sorry Spanish musicians. You guys are great but I don't understand well enough to evaluate the songs.)

Everyone I select gets these prizes:

  • Two full upvotes by me, on their post and the openmic submission comment.
  • 4 SBD 9 SBD transfer
  • One more full upvote if they comment on this post.

Upvotes fell to ~38c this week because I delegated a bunch of SP to start Doctor Worm's Minnow-Making Machine which not-entirely-coincidentally supports some of the names you're going to see here. I'm responding by doubling the base SBD pool to 12 SBD. Last week @pfunk came along and voted the post and I had to send out a second round of prizes; I'm not assuming he's going to keep doing that but if he chooses to we'll do it again. (Which he did, so I did.)

There are three winners this week:

"You are the Reason" by @mcmusic


I love the brightness of this song, and how much you're obviously enjoying playing it. I try not to judge too much on the recording quality, because I know everyone's opportunities are different. But I really hope you can find a chance to get a better recording of this song, because it deserves it, and I think it will do well for you.

"Jumping Broken Fences" by @paintingangels


I'm just blown away by this. I think about what I was writing in 2001... well. That's neither here nor there. Actually it's there, and better so. But you managed to write what is not only an amazing song but one that works fantastically with your vocal style. I am impressed.

"Moving On" by @silentscreamer with @pechichemena


I've been listening to your covers and wishing for an original to come along, and now it has. I love the contrast between the sadness of the lyrics and the huge amount of fun you're obviously having performing. I feel like it's my fear vanishing in the haze. More please. More please. More please.

A few honorable mentions this week, because why not?

"I Want to Return Home" by @samidbarid. Honestly if Sami hadn't won last week this might have made it in. It was really close.

"Roller Mill" by @jgvinstl. Love me some of that western folk style.

"Goodnight, My Love, Goodnight" by @lillywilton. Love the poison bagels but I'm a hard sell on the ukulele. If you keep posting originals I don't imagine you're going to end up short on wins here anyway.

And one extremely unofficial, not-honorable-mention because it's not an original, but I really hope you will go and listen to it: @juanchez' instrumental cover of Tracy Chapman's "Fast Car."

Hey! Before you upvote this post!


If you want to upvote because you liked the songs, go upvote their posts!
(If their posts have paid out, see if they've commented here and give them an upvote.)
If you want to upvote this one also that's fine but please reward the songwriters first.

Sort:  

Awww thank you. 😀 I had no idea how well this would go. I was thinking if anyone even mentions it id be happy. 😁
So thank you for liking it.
I hope pfunk comes along more often and leaves you his big upvote. Youre doing a great thing.

Wooooowwwww @tcpolymath I'm sooo touched, and i never would dream of this .when i saw the transfer.. I thought there was a mix up somewhere and wanted to comment on your post to notify you if you did a transfer to a wrong account, then i saw my video on your post and realised it was a gift. I must confess you have made my day. My brothers @melodeons also appreciate this kind gesture. And I'll be putting up an article soon in regards to this. God bless you brother. I am honored

It's a great song, you deserve it.

Tim, thank you!! Soo much! Your heart must be the size of Texas. It's such a blessing to me that we have crossed paths. I appreciate your kindness and sweet compliments so much. I hope you have a beautiful weekend! ❤️-much love to you!

Your heart must be the size of Texas.

It's also full of oil and you can drive on the beaches.

Bonus points!!!

Thank you very much @tcpolymath for your mention here :D , we worked hard with @silentscreamer to deliver that song :) . I'm so happy it has been well received ! It means a lot! Cheers ! Thanks for doing this !

Congratulations to all of you who received a bonus from @tcpolymath!

And thanks for doing that @tcpolymath. Very cool of you.

@luzcypher thank u boss.. Your music quest has been a blessing too

@tcpolymath I appreciate the fact that you took into cognisance the unequal opportunities we are all exposed to, though we are to seek rooms for better recordings. You have really touched my person and others i know. God bless you.

awesome! im going to participate, im a spanish singer and musician (from latinamerica) but im going to take my risk recording my first blues song in english for openmic i hope that you like it, and all the international comunity that listen my song. bless

Good luck! I see that it's up but I try to listen to all of them at once after the compilation posts go up.

of course :) dont prob. im only saying that i was taking the risk xD - i try to do my best its hard to sing in english a new song not a cover, but i love and joy the experience, i record a blues jamming one-take, and write the lyrics today too so i was so happy :) thanks for the comment lml

@tcpolymath here is the link to my appreciation note to you on my wall.
https://steemit.com/esteem/@mcmusic/appreciation-note-to-tcpolymath-tim-cooper

A good challenge with a great winner. I really enjoy to listening them.

I want participate but i am not english so i am not able to participate in this contests

The regular Open Mic contest - much bigger than my little bonus prize - is open to all languages, and the judges put a lot of effort into making sure they're fair to everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63033.54
ETH 2434.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54