Steemit Open mic - Week 75 - The Parting glass

in #openmic6 years ago

Hello steemians!

This is my entry for this week Open mic:


Here are the lyrics:

Of all the money that e'er I had
I've spent it in good company
And all the harm that e'er I've done
Alas it was to none but me
And all I've done for want of wit
To memory now I can't recall
So fill to me the parting glass
Good night and joy be with you all.

Of all the comrades that e'er I had
They are sorry for my going away
And all the sweethearts that e'er I had
They would wish me one more day to stay
But since it falls unto my lot
That I should rise and you should not
I'll gently rise and I'll softly call
Good night and joy be with you all

A man may drink and not be drunk
A man may fight and not be slain
A man may court a pretty girl
And perhaps be welcomed back again
But since it has so ought to be
By a time to rise and a time to fall
Come fill to me the parting glass
Good night and joy be with you all
Good night and joy be with you all


I've been getting back into the swing of things now that I'm back in Argentina so it's been a while since I last participated but here I am once again :)

I first heard it as a hidden track on Ed Sheeran's album version of Give me love, this is a traditional Scottish and Irish song (according to the internet hehe), I fell in love with the acapella vocal arrangement on that recording as soon as it started and have wanted to record it myself for a while.
But since I can't clone myself yet and everything has to be live for this contest I thought it was a great opportunity to introduce you guys to my Ubass :O

It's size is close to that of a ukulele but it has massive rubber strings that make it sound close to a double bass. I play it live with my band @olvidesantelmo, here's a picture of it:


Thank you very much to @luzcypher and , @soundlegion, @krystle, @verbal-d, and @passion-ground and @meno for all your incredible hard work!

Also @ausbitbank and @xedal and @pfunk for their generosity!

Also to everyone who shared and commented and upvoted any of my posts! :)

Thank you for reading and watching!

Til' my next post!

Sign off.jpg

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 94%.

Congratulations for your excellent work!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

-Quality, technique and aesthetics of photography (Good framing, good focus, sufficient brightness, adjusted to what the photograph intends to express.)
-Adaptation and relationship with the general theme raised (clearly reflects the proposed theme)
-Capacity of the composition (causes sensations, emotions)

I can't just describe how incredible this is.

Hey @awesomebasiono! thank you so much for your kind words! :)
I'm really happy you liked it so much! :D

That's Beautiful Song 🎵🎵🎵

hey @erickchan, I agree, it's beautiful! :)

Awesome. I rarely come across bass players who sing while playing. Awesome

Hey @papaudeme!
Thanks! I started playing this bass a couple of years ago, I'm not really a bass player though, I'm really a singer that had to learn some bass haha. I will be making a lot more music with this bass soon :)

Its really beautiful.... I wish i could own a bass guitar like such. U are a good singer, please dont stop singing..

You can check out kala basses, they build them as well :)
Thanks! I won't stop, I can't hehe

You really get that Irish folk feeling, I felt it before I read it was an old balled. Really impressed man, check out black is the colour performed by christy moore for something similar. I was in an irish folk collective back in the UK and some of those songs especially sang by a good female vocalist can just silence the rowdiest of bars. (A male one can too but ya know)

Thank you very much @thesimpson! I did try hehe
I will check it out!
I agree, any of that type of music sang by a good singer (especially a woman) can silence any place immediately, even if it's acapella, it's really powerful! :)

Great performance and love the bass guitar.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Hey @luzcypher! Thank you very much! :)

tremendo luchers! te salio increible!

Graciaaaaaas, eso es un gran cumplido viniendo de ti!!! :)

Yo, brother, Luis - that U-bass of yours is absolutely intoxicating, man! I loved this, dude!

Hey brother!!! It's awesome to listen to for sure!! Plus it's really addicting to play, once you start playing you can't put it down!! Hehe

I'm really happy you enjoyed it!!! Thank you so much!!! :D

Está muy bonito ese bajo, me gustaría que pusieras más datos: marca, modelo y dónde lo fabrican. El arreglo que hiciste está muy bueno también, menos por ese reverb de canto gregoriano que detesto (excepto en los cantos gregorianos).

Hola!, muchas gracias, el bajo es hecho por un luthier aca en Argentina, es marca Zumpano, es hecho custom para mi jeje. Si estas interesado en uno te puedo pasar el contacto del luthier por discord. Normalmente no uso tanta reverb pero para este arreglo me gusto como quedaba jeje, un saludo :)

De verdad la he escuchado como seis veces en estos dos días, ya voy sientiendo menos el reverb. Y claro que me gustaría tener el contacto de ese luthier, aunque no sé qué es discord, soy nuevo. Voy a investigar y a abrir (si es que se abre) el discord.

Por cierto, tu arreglo me recordó esto

@luisferchav Always loved this song, one of my fathers favorites, check the Sinéad O'Connor's version, it is amazing :) man I tried U-Bass, what a trip, something completely different, I actually tried the smallest version even smaller then this one you have, ok of to your next track I've been negligent...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61660.23
ETH 3056.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82