Open Mic Songwriters Challenge: A vulnerable song about losing my sister (Theme: Till We Meet Again)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

So, I made a rule for myself to take Sundays off from posting, but today would be my sister's 34th birthday, so I wanted to post this today in her honour.

This song for this week's Songwriters Challenge theme is about her--about the experience of her death when I was a little girl, and reflections on processing it decades down from the event itself.

I've written literally hundreds of songs--about everything you can possibly imagine. But I have never written a song about this. That's been mostly a decision. I never had the motivation or desire to; some things are so intimate and precious, and somehow just with no sense of enough true listeners so far, and not wanting to be vulnerable especially with people I see regularly, I just didn't want to. That whole "don't cast your pearls before swine" thing, and not wanting to feel bound to talk about it anymore than I did in a song (people often demand/feel entitled to a lot of you when you share your heart musically).

But between making a deal with myself to write more from the gut with less poetic distance as is my normal way (I've often written my grief or heartbreak through the stories of others), the challenge of this week's theme (Till We Meet Again), and, honestly, most importantly: you guys, who are captive and truly listening to what I share. I couldn't share something like this and just have it drop, and I really don't believe that will happen here.

So, I share it with trust in your listening ear, and cherishing hearts. There is a very good chance you may be the only audience who ever hears this song.

So the favour I ask is that if you watch it, please commit to watching through the whole song.

It's not a perfect take, but that's because you can't do a lot of takes on something like this.

It's also long, because some things also deserve more than the radio-ready 3:20 (Did you know there is an actual Industry standard down to the second? Talk about artistic integrity..). Many of my favourite singer-songwriters have ventured into 6 minute territory with their most vulnerable and beautiful work and I never felt it was too long (Jewel, Tracy Chapman, Lifehouse, Penny & Sparrow), so why not me?

Finally, I just ask that comments/questions stay focused on the song itself rather than my experience and the tragedy; it's very personal to share this, and a big step for me, and I'm not in a place to want to share more than I already have, so thank you in advance for respecting that.

Lyrics below.

"January" by Kay Clarity

Sister, you’ve been gone a long time now
Six feet in the ground
I know, I know

Sister, you left in the morning
I slept through the warning
I woke to you cold

Still remember the sleep in my eyes
And the dreary way I didn’t cry
How I went back to sleep and pretended to keep
Everything still intact in a warm summer dream

It was January

A little girl doesn’t know why you left her
Are a woman’s eyes better
To see through the grief

I’m a poet—a lifeblood disaster
A warm-hearted master
Of words—maybe you’ve heard?

Still remember the sleep in my eyes
And the dreary way I didn’t cry
How I went back to sleep and pretended to keep
Everything still intact in a warm summer dream

It was January
It was January
It was January

Sister, I’m alone in the dust now
Trying to bust down
The doors of the world

Meet me in the flickers of daylight
After the strong night
Again, meet me again
Again, meet me again

Still remember the sleep in my eyes
And the dreary way I didn’t cry
How I went back to sleep and pretended to keep
Everything still intact in a warm summer dream
How I fought to believe in a better ending
How I kept myself cold and waited for heat
How the days are like years and the decades like weeks
Now it’s twenty long years since that last heartbeat

It was January
It was January

Copyright 2017

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.

P.S. If you enjoyed this, you may also enjoy the Sarah McLachlan song I recorded the other night, or my entry for this week's Open Mic. I really enjoyed singing them and would love to share them with you.

Your support means a lot to me. Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

Amazing as always!

:). Thank you, friend. I haven't forgotten you, by the way. It's been a bit zoo-like this last stretch: February is looking more likely! But maybe something will happen sooner :).

No worries.. sounds good!

What an incredibly touching piece of your heart to share, Kay. It thrills me so that you had the courage and confidence to share it here with us. Such a bundle of emotions for such a little girl to unpack – and I can only imagine that it never got any easier as you grew into the woman you are today.

It would be wonderful if “January” in some small but meaningful way brings you that much closer and delivers a bit more closure to losing the one you called sister. It's such a beautiful song – sung with all of your heart, and I’m certain she heard it, and there's no doubt you shall meet her again. .x

Such a beautiful and thoughtful and kind response, my friend. Thank you.

Thank you for your courageous vulnerability and honest, soulful sharing. Your voice is magnificent and so beautifully carries the anguish of a young girl, now grown and wise, yet no less heart-broken. You brought me to tears – raw authenticity does that.

This song is my introduction to your exceptional talent. Though I've yet to explore your blog to treat myself to more of your gift – in the space of 6 minutes, ten seconds, you've won my heart and become my favorite Steemit discovery thus far. (I know that doesn't say much as I've only been here for 2 weeks, but I don't make such statements lightly.)

As well...you've nudged my dormant songstress ever so slightly closer to picking up her guitar, setting up the mic and camera and daring to give voice to an old song or two. Thank you for that.

followed and upvoted – deservedly.

steemit-posts-26.jpg

Uffff..... as i heard the song and read through the lyrics I melted ... this was so touching ..I couldn't help but to hear it again .. this is such a moment that you captured here ... It is very inspiring how you honored your sister with such beautiful melody and poetry from your heart, that is very precious. Thank you very much for sharing this moment with us. I send you a big hug

I genuinely cannot believe what this platform is creating. The content is so full of truth and stories. Im a song writer too, wonderful to meet you! Im going to have to get involved with the open mic.

It really is phenomenal the talent it is both drawing and developing. All of these disenfranchised misfit artists finding a home! Nice to meet you as well. :)

It is great. That artists are able to use the platform to develop rather than showcase only. Your song and its history is touching and personal. Take care, see ya around!

Beautiful. Thank you for writing this song and sharing it.

You're very welcome. I'm glad you took the time to listen. xx, Kay

Sorry for your loss! Such a great voice and song lyrics, got goosebumps...I wish you a great rest of the sunday! Really great!

Thank you. You as well xx!

A very sad and beautiful song. I'm honored you felt safe enough to share it with us here. Thank you.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Something special is happening in this little (or not so little anymore) music community on Steemit. Thank you for all of your work in facilitating that.

Something special is happening here and you are definitely a part of what makes it special..

It is absolutely wonderfull. You got a new fan in Belgium ! nIf you travel here let me know and I organise you a gig !

Thank you! That's incredible to offer :). I've wanted to tour Europe - maybe one day!

I'm so glad you felt safe enough to cast your pearls here. This safety net is real and I want you to know I'm feeling this one in my heart. Feeling not just for the truth of what you're sharing, but for the sharing itself. Pearls back atcha, Kay. I guess all of us came together to make this special safety net happen. The healing power of music. The power of connection. Beautiful xoxo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54096.18
ETH 2412.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.10