Friday Night Lullaby: Angel by Sarah McLachlan (request by @dreemit)

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Hi. Been super busy painting my apartment the last couple of days, but as a result the kitchen was nice and empty for some acoustics--perfect for this song.

Sarah McLachlan was requested by @dreemit and I was happy for the suggestion. I have always loved this song.

Hope you enjoy listening as much as I enjoyed singing it.

Lyrics below.

Angel - Sarah McLachlan

Spend all your time waiting
For that second chance
For a break that would make it okay
There's always some reason
To feel not good enough
And it's hard at the end of the day
I need some distraction
Oh a beautiful release
Memories seep from my veins
Let me be empty
Oh and weightless and maybe
I'll find some peace tonight

In the arms of the Angel
Fly away from here
From this dark cold hotel room
And the endlessness that you fear
You are pulled from the wreckage
Of your silent reverie
You're in the arms of the Angel
May you find some comfort here

So tired of the straight line
And everywhere you turn
There's vultures and thieves at your back
And the storm keeps on twisting
You keep on building the lies
That you make up for all that you lack
It don't make no difference
Escaping one last time
It's easier to believe
In this sweet madness
Oh this glorious sadness
That brings me to my knees

In the arms of the Angel
Fly away from here
From this dark cold hotel room
And the endlessness that you fear
You are pulled from the wreckage
Of your silent reverie
You're in the arms of the Angel
May you find some comfort here
You're in the arms of the Angel
May you find some comfort here

xx,
Kay
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
P.S. Hey! Check out my entry for this week's Open Mic! Or some pretty pictures from one of my favourite places in the world :).

Your support means a lot to me. Thanks for following @kayclarity and resteeming if you enjoy posts about beauty, art, culture, life, Steemit, and, of course, my original music and poems. xx

Sort:  

My god that was beautiful, perfect...and now I get to boast and say "I knew it!' Haha, seriously, amazing.

Thank you! You're the best. I was really happy to think of this one after you suggested her - I'll do more of hers in the future, too. Thanks a bunch, friend!

I look forward to it! I've heard a few people sing her songs...and it's not that their bad, it's just they don't have the right voice for it, but you absolutely do :)

That's awesome. There are few different female singers from the 90s that really affected my style, and she is definitely one of them. I used to sing over a track for talent nights to her in high school haha

It's really a beautiful song, rhythmic lyrics, ear soothing voice by a beautiful person:)

:). Thank you - somehow that phrase "beautiful person" really touched me. Thanks.

Sorry, but I just chewed that guy out. He didn't vote, it annoys the crap out of me when they do that, and there's a lot of them doing that, in order to get an upvote on their comment. In fact they've been labelled comment upvote spammers.
I was reluctant to be rude at first, but it became clear that it harms the community. You should look at @meesterboom's comment sections...his responses to those kinds of things are hilarious.

hahaha. Yes - right. I'm a bit happily naive with a lot of these things :). Now I'm worried I've done that - especially if my voting power is used up lol

Actually my vote doesn't count much its value is "00". I thought to vote but then I changed my mind that without value my vote is just nothing.

I've heard this over and over, and it makes no sense. The value is in letting the author/singer/artist know that you enjoyed it with more than just words that now come across as an attempt to scam them for an upvote on your comment. Look at her account, she is small but she gave you as mighty a vote as she could, because she clearly has honor.
Change your methods on this, because the next time I see you and you haven't voted, I'm flagging you.

I think it's enough. I have had enough of your advice. If you are happy to do it then just flag it up.
Because such loud voice is doing no good to you and now its raising my temper.

Okay, you want it, you got it. Sad really, I hope you learn and this doesn't keep happening to you.

I had learnt from your first comment and I had clarified in that. But your continuous shouting at me annoyed me. Sane voice always prevail but shouting like you did its a bad thing indeed.
I am happy that by flagging at least you got inner satisfaction.
Thank you and upvote to you though its of no use. :)

Okay, I see that you put your vote on now. Good. Please continue that practice, it will help you here.

Also I should admit that I generally find myself a lot more irritated when I see it on friends' posts than I do when it's on mine. I generally just ignore them on my blog lol.

Aw... I'm a friend then! Fist pump! haha

I know a kindred when I meet them :) And he put his vote on now, so I told him to continue that practice because it will help him here. (Otherwise he'll end up on a meesterboom post getting called something colorfully not nice with a flag as a bonus, lol. I'm glad if yelling at him helps him in the long run, haha!!)

:).

You're awesome: defending Steemit and giving the new minnows the training they need! :)

Thank you:)

Really? Because your lack of vote kinda makes your words ring hollow.
I don't get it, what is the deal with so many of you new people commenting without voting? Especially ones like you who actually seem to read/listen to the post and are not randomly spamming bullshit. Do you think it will harm your account in some way? Because if you do, you are mistaken. As a newbie when my vote wasn't worth anything at all it was the best because I could vote on a hundred people a day and not worry about it. Who gives a crap about voting power being low when your vote is just a way of saying I like this.

Be cool man I haven't turned Earth upside down. Anger is a bad thing for your health. Drink a bit water and be cool.

We learn from our mistakes. But surely I'm not gonna visit again. Be happy and be cool. Stay blessed and take care of yourself.

Lol, I'm not a guy. And I'm not angry, just annoyed and baffled by so many people doing this. I want to understand it actually. I already asked this, but I'm serious, do you think it harms your account? Well now you know it doesn't, so hit that 'like' button all day long, and when you run into other people with this bad habit, enlighten them. It helps everyone.

This comment is really good and I appreciate it. It's an old saying , "Don't raise your voice, improve your argument".

Cool, I'm glad we made our way to an understanding :)

WOW! You went and did it again!!😍 Beautiful all the way around.😁😇😁

Aw, thank you :). And for taking time to listen!

Oh yes! Love me some Sarah. Gorgeous rendition! I posted my version of Possession a few days ago, played on my 12 string.

Keep singing, beauty! :)

Went and watched yours :)

Always love that song from Sarah Mclachlan
Thank u!

It's really a lovely, soothing song. I was thinking as I was rehearsing it a bit that I would like to write something with a similar feel/purpose. Maybe soon I'll try. Thanks for listening :) xx, Kay

Oh yes please do..the world needs a lot of that. Your voice is awesome for this genre...are you trying different things? Sorry, this is my 1st time to hear yours.

I have lots of videos up! And some originals, too.. you can check out my blog. Lately, I've been posting a lot of my own stuff. It's singer-songwriter, so I am a bit more varied, but some of my stuff sounds kind of like this :)

Cool..i will definitely. You've got a new fan😊

Oh thank you! Really i've just followed you. I hope soundlegion will do an album soon. Gonna watch out for you.

I'm honestly a little overwhelmed/confused about how to get involved in more things - there is just so much so it's overwhelming! I find it difficult to post a few times a day and keep up with comments/the posts of those I follow.

But happy to have you on board for the journey! Every supportive really makes a difference for me, so sincere thank you!

You're welcome! Do what's best for you..take your time. The platform is to be enjoyed but with more and more followers, you only can control your time. Apologize if you can't reply to comments in your post and perhaps set a time to do just that. Your followers will understand☺

Gorgeous, wasn't it? Love, love Sara McLachlan and she has the perfect voice to cover her.
How have you been darling?

She awesomely killed it! And the guitar playing! Love love it! I saw you requested it. Met luzyfer in Lisbon, he's so sweet.
I am cool..and you? Happy new year😗😗😗

Aw, i've always known @luzcypher was a good one, I met him way back in the beginning because I was hoping my brother would join soon (musician) and wanted to create inroads with the music community for him...plus I love music too. And the open-mic contests are awesome.
I am so not going to miss the next steemfest.
Happy New Year to you :)

You already have an album!! For a moment I thought it was Shavon singing nice!

I do! Yes - I want to promote it more here, but don't really have a good system for it. I'm totally open to people buying it for steem/SBD, but know that with the volatility of the market it's a bit difficult. SMTs will help, right? Any suggestions?

I don't know Shavon? :)

Shavon is @soundlegion. Dunno if she is still judging the competition. Dtube is being used for music and other videos and earning good.
There is also musiccoin or musicoin that Shavon mentioned before. Best to ask her.
Gonna prep for work in a minute but i need to check your blogs to know what i can suggest. @dreemit any suggestions???

Thank you very much for sharing it among us

You are very welcome :). My pleasure to!

Beautiful <3 I love this song and this is a lovely effort.

Thank you! Glad you enjoyed!

beautiful song, well done :')

Thank you! Glad you stopped by so I could share it with you :)

Amazing! Such a soothing voice. I just posted my first video of an original song! I would love your feedback :)
As always love your music!
-Julian

Cool sound so far! Just listening now.

You're bomb, man. Can't vote for some reason? But following (and my vote isn't worth too much anyway, so don't worry). You'll do well here! I need to get onto to DTube!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67