Open Mic Week 5 - Original Song - Jaybird

in #openmic8 years ago

open-mic-week-5.png

Hey all,

this is my Open Mic Week 5 Contest Submission. I know it's a bit late but better late than never. It's another Original Song (be it unfinished) titled "Cruel Intentions." I'm still working on this one, but I figured that by showing it to the steemit community I might be able to get some useful feedback and then apply that to the writing process (so don't be shy with your critics). I made a little video demo yesterday when I finished working on it. I'll probably post a final version of this one in the future once it's complete.

Couple of vocal flubs especially at the end when my voice died haha, vocals are too high. ENJOY!

I hope to make a proper recording of all these acoustic songs that I submit.

IMG_587437eee.jpg

Jaybird ~

Sort:  

Cool song man. I added it to the weekly performers this week. Thanks for entering again.

Thanks luzcypher, much appreciated. Open mic is actually the thing that got me putting these songs out into the world. Probably wouldn't have otherwise to be honest.

That's so inspiring to hear you say that. It's one of the main reasons I started Open Mic, to give musicians a reason to put their music out there.
When I was writing music professionally spending 8-12 hours a day writing, my father once asked me what inspired me to write a song. Without missing a beat I replied, "Deadlines."

Ya really appreciate the initiative you're taking! and ahahaha "deadlines" pretty true! These days inspiration for these specific acoustic songs I've been writing have come from a line someone just said or, i'm literally watching a movie or documentary and then bam! good thing I keep my couch guitar close. Generally working on 3 or 4 tunes at the same time and I just rotate once i get stuck lol.

Great stuff man =) ^^ Following you pronto!

Another really nice song from you. Really glad that I discovered you through the open mic contest, I also really enjoy your music and can really hear the overall idea direction and tension and feeling that you're going for even from your live performances, although there may be some human slip ups, but as musicians we always strive for perfection, so thank you for sharing. As far as musical critique, I would say as a few suggestions, try humming the exact melody for your high notes where you seem to be struggling with and then from humming them, try to keep the same texture and tonality of the sound you are creating with the same flow of your singing intact. What I mean to say is when you hum and then open your mouth to sing, you shouldn't be straining your voice because I find it that it is much easier to hit high notes when I'm humming so there must be a direct connection when we open our mouth's sometimes we have a tendency to strain our voice and unfortunately injure it in the process . another tip is when you're hitting high notes is to keep your Jaw loosely hanging, your chin down and your mouth open wide to let the air flow, and last but not least instead of reaching the high note with your chest voice you could also try your head voice and see how that sounds as well. It's always good to fine-tune and sharpen our falsettos a.k.a. head voices. I think you're music is really fresh and heartfelt so I hope my suggestions help you so that you bring your music to the level that you wanted to be at. Upvoted

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62606.46
ETH 3024.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90