You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Mic Week 5 - Original Song - Jaybird

in #openmic8 years ago (edited)

Another really nice song from you. Really glad that I discovered you through the open mic contest, I also really enjoy your music and can really hear the overall idea direction and tension and feeling that you're going for even from your live performances, although there may be some human slip ups, but as musicians we always strive for perfection, so thank you for sharing. As far as musical critique, I would say as a few suggestions, try humming the exact melody for your high notes where you seem to be struggling with and then from humming them, try to keep the same texture and tonality of the sound you are creating with the same flow of your singing intact. What I mean to say is when you hum and then open your mouth to sing, you shouldn't be straining your voice because I find it that it is much easier to hit high notes when I'm humming so there must be a direct connection when we open our mouth's sometimes we have a tendency to strain our voice and unfortunately injure it in the process . another tip is when you're hitting high notes is to keep your Jaw loosely hanging, your chin down and your mouth open wide to let the air flow, and last but not least instead of reaching the high note with your chest voice you could also try your head voice and see how that sounds as well. It's always good to fine-tune and sharpen our falsettos a.k.a. head voices. I think you're music is really fresh and heartfelt so I hope my suggestions help you so that you bring your music to the level that you wanted to be at. Upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56922.13
ETH 2347.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43