Voices of Open Mic // How Open Mic Changed My Life

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

Voices of Open Mic // How Open Mic Changed My Life

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

One of the first things I did when I joined Steemit was look through all the tags.
I wasn't a blogger so I felt a little lost on what to post.

I found the Open Mic tag and decided to post a video I had made of me playing Linus and Lucy (The Charlie Brown Song).

The next day I logged onto Steemit and was in shock when I saw that my Charlie Brown post had made about $280!

I didn't know anything about Curie at the time and I really didn't know much about Steemit either, so I was absolutely amazed and confused about how that had happened....and of course grateful and happy!

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

So, anyway, one of the comments on my post was from @luzcypher telling me to check out the Open Mic post to find out about the contest and the rules for entering. So, that's how I found out about the Open Mic contest!

I ended up entering the contest every week after that. It was such a great experience, especially as a new user, because I got to meet so many musicians and it helped me to feel like I was becoming part of the community.
The open mic contest also helped me grow as a musician and as person.
I hadn't performed in years due to almost debilitating anxiety and I had gotten to the point where I just accepted that I would never perform again.

Having a goal each week to make the Open Mic video helped my musicianship and more importantly, helped me to step outside of my comfort zone and grow as a person.

This personal growth helped me gain confidence to host radio shows on MSP-Waves.
Before joining Steemit I would never have done anything like that, but the Open Mic contests helped me to become comfortable in my own skin and showed me that I don't have to be afraid to share part of myself with other people.

@luzcypher gave us a list of questions to answer when making our Voices of Open Mic videos and I just realized I forgot to mention my Open Mic highlight which was when I actually won! I remember coming home from work and Shane screaming from the balcony that I won. lol
I honestly never thought I would win so it really meant so much to me!

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

The week after I won, I started the Steemit Creative Curation Show with @swelker101. Part of the show includes playing music from Steemit musicians, but I wanted to create another show specifically dedicated to Steemit Musicians.

I was talking with @krystle in discord one day and we decided to start a radio show for the Open Mic musicians. @swelker101 joined us shortly thereafter.

I do 4 radio shows and Steemit Musicians is my favorite. Every week I am absolutely blown away by the level of talent that we have here on Steemit.

HUGE thanks to @luzypher and @pfunk for organizing such an amazing and meaningful contest for over 70 weeks now!

Also, BIG thanks to the judges, @krystle, @soundlegion, @verbal-d, @passion-ground, and @meno, who give so much of their time...they have an incredibly hard job as so many of these entries are amazing!

U5dtkxR5jWuo6F4m19MqyPyx9i8HjVp_1680x8400.png

Thank you Steemit Open Mic!

Sort:  

Awwwwwww
Didn't know you won one of the weeks. That's my "one day".

Glad you stayed relevant and allowed me meet you.

hugefan

LET ME DOWN !!!!!!!!

Thank you! <3

you are one of the first artists I seen on here where I was like, damn this is gonna get real here, I couldnt believe the quality of art and skill being delivered here on this platform. I am sucha fan, your songs really stick with me, from the steemit artists compilations and I really appreciate the love and support you have given to myself and everything I do with Sound Legion, love your show, need to get on with you and krystle still we should all jump in on some girl fun. you and @krystal rock ... huge love from this end isaria fantastic to hear you speaking about your excitment and success here.

Thank you soooo much...you know I am a huge fan of yours as well! Please feel free to come on our show anytime!!! And I'll definitely be promoting the new compilation!

There are so many talented people playing music on Steemit and you're one of them @isaria. Thanks for all you do for the Open Mic community on Steemit.

We love you too and you really did sound like my mom there in the video. Thanks for making this video.

voices_of_open_mic_1.png

Voices Of Open Mic --- by @luzcypher

Thank you luzcypher!!!
<3

You've been an inspiration to many, in a way you wouldn't understand.
Thanks

Thank you!

Wow what a great post and it resonated on so many levels. I do not take part in the open mic but I was also ready to give up on music all my prev band members had children so all my personal creative influences were dissipating before my eyes. Needless to say I was not enthused about making music but this Steemit platform made me realise people like my stuff and it gives me a positive glow that banishes all the nasty thoughts.

It is crazy you played the "linus and lucy" song I have tried to learn that but cant get the timing . I did notice you stopped short of the jazz instrumental bit , can you do that bit ?

Anyway awesome post steemit love to you and Shane
ARE WE NOT MEN ???

Thank you Stick! I never even tried the jazz instrumental part lol
I feel the same way​ about sharing music on Steemit....I'm glad it helps you to feel positive...you deserve it.
Also...
ARE WE NOT MEN ???

We are our own worst critics... Two weeks ago, I was feeling absolutely worthless, driving myself deeper into a black hole of self-hate and then I entered the Open Mic contest, got over a 100 upvotes on my first entry, made it to @passion-ground's top 5, and also arranged an interview with Pedro, the DSound creator (coming up tomorrow on http://www.facebook.com/petrajordanmusic at 2pm CET time) and realized that I had the support of DSound all along (I just wasn't able to upload due to tech issues...) - my life as a musician is taking a turn. And I can't wait to deliver on weekly OM's submissions because that alone will grow me as a musician. This space is incredible for independent music! Thanks to all involved!

I understand those feelings and I'm so happy that you are finding success here on Steemit!

Beautifully and eloquently said.
And massive thanks for the shout out too! I wasn't expecting that at all!
Didgespiration!

lol yay!
I'm sure you have inspired many so far....I'm looking forward to hearing more of your music!

Well, if people are getting inspired and that was my highest intention, then I had better not slack off then and get making more videos of music! (No pressure! 😬😱😳😅😂🤣☺️😊).
Blessings to you!
🙏🏽🎶👍🏽⭐️💚

@isaria, I also learnt that you are partnering with @aggroed for (The peace Academy) from the Minnow Support Project . I want to say I am absolutely wowed. I've been keeping close tab on your blog and at a point I thought that you were all into the music and stuff. But it felt amazing earlier today to learn that you also look back to help Steemians who are cureently where you once where.

I want to say that this is absolutely wonderful.
I want to also assure you that Open Mic will continue to be a resounding success and will grow to become one of the greatest shows on this platform.

STEEM ON

💕💕

Thank you!!! I hope you can join us for the Peace Academy...it's on tomorrow night!

Such beautiful sentiments, @isaria! You go, girl! I loved Shane's didgeridoo cameo along of course, and in tandem with the cameo of your most awesome cats! We love all of you too, Isaria! You rock, girlfriend!

lol Every few seconds there seemed to be a new cat in the shot. Thanks for all you do!!!
<3

Awesome!!!
I love how it has helped so many of us grow stronger and more confident!
You are a big part of this community and to know that you found the tag so serendipitously makes me smile!
That last song was awesome by the way!, no wonder yo won! :)

Thank you!!!
Shane and I looooove your music!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59987.83
ETH 2418.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41