My Composting Outhouse ToiletsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #offgrid6 years ago (edited)

I've seen lots of discussion about outhouses but I’ve never see anyone mention the system I use. So for those who are interested I have written a series of Q & A’s.

Outhouse 1.jpg

How did you go about setting up your composting outhouse?
I built a typical stick frame outhouse, but on a bit of a bank or slope so it was level at the front. I only had to dig out a couple feet in the back to make a level landing to accommodate rolling in a 55 gallon barrel. I didn't want to dig a hole and bury the barrel because I didn't think I would have the strength to pick it up, once full. A friend of mine who uses this same system but lives on level ground, built a raised outhouse so there were a couple steps up. I'm getting too old for steps, so I just located mine a bit further out where the land had a natural slope.

How does the toilet kit work?
The particular kit I use separates the urine from the solid waste (that's a really big deal for composting and odor control when it sits for months). The urine is syphoned off at the seat level by a cool diverter that catches the urine as you are seated (you don't have to do a thing but sit there, haha) directing it to a hose that is buried in gravel, out behind the outhouse (no more emptying or dumping, ever) and the waste falls into a 55 gallon plastic barrel. I don't put any TP in it, just solid waste and then I spread a scoop of sawdust, peat moss or cedar/leaf duff from under the trees over it after each use, which kills the odor and aids in composting.

Privy 500 Toilet Kit 2.jpg
Image Source

What system or toilet kit do you use?
It is called the 500 Privy from Separett. I ordered my toilet kit from Retailer and paid $130. You can order the folding seat one that looks more conventional, for $200. That was expensive (to me) for some plastic, Styrofoam and tubing but I just love it and would order it again without hesitation.

Privy 500 Toilet Kit.png
Image Source

What features does your composting outhouse have that others might not?
No matter the temperature outside the seat never gets cold or hot and I'll never have to dig a new hole or move the outhouse.

How does it compost?
I drilled some holes in the bottom of the barrel prior to use so that earthworms and such could access the waste. The dry material you cover your waste in absorbs the moisture allowing the beneficial microbes and worms to begin working at breaking down the waste almost immediately, and converting it into awesome fertilizer. The key is to keep the urine out of the barrel (you don't want to make a slurry), but no worries, that built in diverter solves that problem.

What kind of barrel did you use and where did you buy them?
I use the terra cotta colored, two part, screw on lid olive barrels. I think I paid $100 for 5 (I received a discount for purchasing multiples) a few years ago. I drove to get them and some IBC water totes. You might have a similar store near you. Container Store This one was a few hours away from me. Definitely worth the drive when you figure in shipping costs.

Olive Barrel 2.jpg
Image Source

How long before the barrel will need to be changed?
I live alone, so just myself using it and occasional guests, I use less than 1/2 a barrel a year. It is composting/reducing the entire time as it sits there.

What happens when the barrel is full?
When the barrel is full, I cap it off and roll it to its resting place for a year or two and viola, some of the best compost ever. I use the compost around my fruiting trees and berries. It's great for flowers too. The barrels are heavy but manageable when tilted a bit and rolled.

What problems does this system solve?
It takes the place of a septic system by safely containing waste, eliminating the need for a "dump" site. It promotes a healthy environment and removes the risk of run­off or water contamination.

I sound like a sales rep, lol. I am not affiliated in any way and get absolutely nothing for my endorsement. I just love this set up.

Onward in Strength!
Mary Lotus

Sort:  

You should be excited...this is AWESOME! Happy Day!
Melissa

My name is Joey Arnold, but people call me Oatmeal. I have gardens.

That is too cool! I have used composting outhouses in State Parks and have been so impressed. We decided to put one in at a northwoods cabin we owned years ago after a septic tank fail, but were told we couldn't because it didn't meet zoning requirements. Foolish bureaucrats.

Mine is the most peaceful seat on the mountain, haha. What a view! Thankfully, today, there is more evidence, ordinances and statutes to help combat bureaucracy.

My great aunt lived alone on her little farm after her hysband died. She had indoor plumbing but built an outhouse for herself near the pasture. One day at lunch she made the comment about sitting and watching the cars go by on the road out front. One of her daughters was shocked and said, but mom you have to close the door when you use the out house!. Her response was 'if those people don't have anymore to keep them occupied than watching some old lady sitting in an outhouse, that's their problem, not mine'!

Haha, I feel the same way. Mine has windows on three sides so the door is only to keep the cold and out. I don't know what it is, but every time I go in there, all of the sudden all four dogs need me. The door comes in handy for avoiding them too. They are just like kids.

4 dogs! I must say it all sounds heavenly!

Smallest one is a German Shepherd. They are a delight (most of the time).

My most recent dog was a Shepherd. She was very attached to my partner, and I am rather glad she died before he did. She would not have done well without hin. He was definitively the leader of her pack! I dont have any critters right now. First time ever. Its kind of a relief, for the moment at least!

I love mine terribly, but if I didn't have them I could travel all willy nilly at a whim. I miss that.

I really want to encourage more people to do outhouse composting. I don't like how there are zoning requirements that may not allow for outhouse composting. Therefore, there must be swamp, bad laws, regulations, rules, things. We all should talk about that more and try our best to get rid of bad laws and bad people in governments. I heard people were arrested in Oregon for collecting rain water. Vote 2018. I have my own gardens I eat from. I'm Oatmeal.

I want one! It may have to wait until the kids leave though...five people is a lot of doodie. I'm afraid it would fill up in just a couple of months!

Haha, that is a lot of poo. Not sure my system is the best for a big family. Just wait, you'll love it.

Yeah, that is generally the problem for most people or that is the perception that composting sewer, poo, not the Winnie the Pooh, takes too much work, or that there is just too much there, and it is a lot especially if ti smells too bad and if there are too many neighbors close by who may not like it and maybe the city may not like it or maybe there is a crazy federal or state law that may not allow it or who knows what. But I believe in doing our best in doing all we can do and in talking about alternatives and choices and better ways of doing things in regards to gardens and solar power and technology and natural remedies and in collecting rain water and many things. I'm Oatmeal.

What I picked to read while eating my lunch! Lol!

So is the urine just left to run off into the ground pretty much? How long would you say it usually takes to fill a barrel? I'm assuming it's just you using it most of the time?

Yes, urine is run below ground into a gravel pit and one barrel last me two years, living alone. Sorry about your lunch, haha.

Oh wow! That's pretty good going! The usual composting toilets need more regular emptying, I'm guessing because of the urine going into it. Food for thought... no pun intended! Lol!

Haha, yeah, urine goofs this kind of system up. Making a slurry and not allowing for worms and insects to break it down continuously. It's pretty awesome. Rarely have I ever noticed an odor and contrary to what some might believe. The outhouse is more sanitary than a conventional flushing toilet, that sends misting particles into the air with each flush.

Ah yes, the faecal aerosol!

very interesting. I've often wondered what kind of setup we would use, once we get our homestead, so this was very helpful in contributing to my options. Thank you for sharing and for the links, as I had no idea where to get those prior. Great post.

I've seen so many options when it comes to outhouses. This is by far my favorite for a small family household.

Before I moved off-grid. I kept a pretty box that I would put anything of off-grid interest into. I was surprised by how much awesome info I had collected over the years. Now, I use that same box for my lottery dreams, haha. Good thing I used it for something remotely possible first, haha.

Your outhouse looks great! We have been looking to do something similar and you have given me a few ideas. Our focus has been for a compost toilet inside the house, in case of a big snow storm, when the power goes out or its too cold to go outside.

I see no reason you can not have both. I know of a few folks that have humanure systems. Everything goes into the bucket and is covered with sawdust, etc. It is then placed into outdoor composting bins and covered with hay daily. I've not noticed any odor when I visit. There are a few more simple precautions to take for containment issues.

I just love An American Homestead and have followed them for a few years now. Here is a link to their system. It might be helpful. https://steemit.com/homesteading/@mericanhomestead/humanure-and-composting-toilet-safety-facts-save-major-money-avoiding-septic-systems

Thanks for the link! We like watching An American Homestead for any tips as well. They are always doing something interesting on their homestead. I actually have them to thank for talking about steemit and that is what got me started here.

Zac inspired me to sign up for steemit too! My account sat for a month while I tried to figure out what was going on over here, haha.

Very cool. I would have to build it up. My ground is pretty flat. I have seen the same idea with 2 275 gal boxes side by side. You fill one, then move the seat to the next one and let the first do it's thing. I need to look up how they did the emptying the compost part......

My friends have two steps up into theirs. They even built a very cool porch onto the front of it.

Yikes, 275 gallons of waste!!! I bet they aren't diverting the urine. Holy forklift Batman, haha. You'll have to let me know how they handle that task. Now I'm curious.

No, they were diverting the urine. But it was for a teaching farm for a lot of people. And the idea was to let the full one go through a decomposing cycle before emptying and sending it through another compost cycle....

Ok, that makes sense. I've entertained the thought of having a few teaching workshops down here on the homestead. I haven't dismissed the idea yet.

keep thinking about it!! It can be a good income stream - you know, diversify :)

Looks like a pretty nifty set up! Not having to move the outhouse or dig pits has to be a huge plus.

It's awesome. I love "sitting" in the woods, haha.

You're outhouse setup is interesting. I've heard of seperating the liquid and solids, but wasn't sure how you handle them afterwards.
We also have an outhouse, but we use the sawdust, humanure composting method. So far it's not bad at all and actually very manageable, even for the six of us. Just as long as everyone pitches in on maintenance.

I use a combination of both. The system in my outhouse and an indoor bucket toilet for nights or those horribly cool days. The indoor system, I handle the same way as you do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11