You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Composting Outhouse Toilet

in #offgrid7 years ago

What I picked to read while eating my lunch! Lol!

So is the urine just left to run off into the ground pretty much? How long would you say it usually takes to fill a barrel? I'm assuming it's just you using it most of the time?

Sort:  

Yes, urine is run below ground into a gravel pit and one barrel last me two years, living alone. Sorry about your lunch, haha.

Oh wow! That's pretty good going! The usual composting toilets need more regular emptying, I'm guessing because of the urine going into it. Food for thought... no pun intended! Lol!

Haha, yeah, urine goofs this kind of system up. Making a slurry and not allowing for worms and insects to break it down continuously. It's pretty awesome. Rarely have I ever noticed an odor and contrary to what some might believe. The outhouse is more sanitary than a conventional flushing toilet, that sends misting particles into the air with each flush.

Ah yes, the faecal aerosol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41