You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Composting Outhouse Toilet

in #offgrid7 years ago

That is too cool! I have used composting outhouses in State Parks and have been so impressed. We decided to put one in at a northwoods cabin we owned years ago after a septic tank fail, but were told we couldn't because it didn't meet zoning requirements. Foolish bureaucrats.

Sort:  

Mine is the most peaceful seat on the mountain, haha. What a view! Thankfully, today, there is more evidence, ordinances and statutes to help combat bureaucracy.

My great aunt lived alone on her little farm after her hysband died. She had indoor plumbing but built an outhouse for herself near the pasture. One day at lunch she made the comment about sitting and watching the cars go by on the road out front. One of her daughters was shocked and said, but mom you have to close the door when you use the out house!. Her response was 'if those people don't have anymore to keep them occupied than watching some old lady sitting in an outhouse, that's their problem, not mine'!

Haha, I feel the same way. Mine has windows on three sides so the door is only to keep the cold and out. I don't know what it is, but every time I go in there, all of the sudden all four dogs need me. The door comes in handy for avoiding them too. They are just like kids.

4 dogs! I must say it all sounds heavenly!

Smallest one is a German Shepherd. They are a delight (most of the time).

My most recent dog was a Shepherd. She was very attached to my partner, and I am rather glad she died before he did. She would not have done well without hin. He was definitively the leader of her pack! I dont have any critters right now. First time ever. Its kind of a relief, for the moment at least!

I love mine terribly, but if I didn't have them I could travel all willy nilly at a whim. I miss that.

I often dog sit for friends and neighbors so they can go traveling and it gives me my animal fix. Then I get to send them home...kind of like grandkids. Plus they slways pay me something, so that is a bonus!

I really want to encourage more people to do outhouse composting. I don't like how there are zoning requirements that may not allow for outhouse composting. Therefore, there must be swamp, bad laws, regulations, rules, things. We all should talk about that more and try our best to get rid of bad laws and bad people in governments. I heard people were arrested in Oregon for collecting rain water. Vote 2018. I have my own gardens I eat from. I'm Oatmeal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56836.82
ETH 2341.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41