Actor Vijay Devarakonda Drawing

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

Hi everyone! This is my entry for the 'Art With A Human Focus' contest by @ntopaz. This is a drawing of actor Vijay Devarakonda who is a famous actor of the Telugu film industry in India. I chose to draw him because he is one of my favourite actors as he is versatile and I believe that he is a trend-setter in the film industry. He has played different kind of roles in movies and it shows how talented he is.

ntopaz-image-1

I have attached the reference picture here which is a shot from the movie NOTA. Source.

ntopaz-image-2

I have edited the picture into black and white and added some grids as guidance. I would suggest the same method to anyone who would like to draw a black and white image of a person. It helps to get the values correctly. It will also be tremendously helpful to draw grids. I just used a mobile art application for this. With the help of grids, you will be able to draw the proportions more accurately.

Tools and Materials:

  • A sheet of paper
  • A brush for blending
  • A normal 2B pencil
  • A mechanical pencil with a 2B lead
  • A dust free eraser

Method:

ntopaz-image-3

First of all, I drew some square grids on my sketchbook. I chose square because the grids I edited into my reference picture were also square. There are other shapes available but I recommend using squares because it is easier to know the right proportions when we draw later. I began my drawing with the eyes and nose. I used my normal pencil mostly and mechanical pencil for finer details. At some points, I used my brush to soften and even out the harsh looking pencil shading.

ntopaz-image-4

Then, I proceeded to draw his lips and chin. I also shaded his beard.

ntopaz-image-5

I darkened some areas to increase the contrast. I made some changes on his eyes as I was not happy with it earlier. I drew and shaded the rest of his jaw and face. I also added a soft lining of his hairline.

ntopaz-image-6

Then, I drew his ear.

ntopaz-image-7

After that, I drew a part of his hair. I shaded the whole area lightly with my normal pencil first and brushed over it to reduce harsh lines. Then, I used my mechanical pencil to create some fine looking hair-like strokes.

ntopaz-image-8

Next, I drew the rest of his hair the same way I did earlier.

ntopaz-image-9

Then, I drew his neck and shirt collar. My drawing of Vijay Devarakonda was done. I hope that you enjoyed reading my post. Thank you for dropping by and have a great weekend ahead =)

Sort:  

Beautiful your art, I was fascinated with the agility you have. I appreciate very much that you place several photographs to better appreciate the step by step.

Thank you so much! Your comment is so encouraging. I always try to include proper steps with pictures so that readers can understand it better.

Posted using Partiko Android

I like your participation, especially step by step, I wish you success in the contest
[nTOPAZ Coordinator]
Introduction to nTOPAZ · nTOPAZ Posting Guidelines
Visit our website · Follow us Steemit
Join Community Discord · Bounty Program: Topaz Token

Thank you so much for the well wishes! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Oo he is cute and you drew him really well. And I like your method of using gridlines. That is so smart! I remembered how hard it was to gauge where to draw what during art class in school.

Posted using Partiko iOS

He is :) thank you! I have just started experimenting with gridlines for a few times now. Gridlines did make the process less complicated and I didn't have to erase a lot like I usually do lol. I can relate to the school memories too. I used to avoid drawing portraits due to that reason.

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful piece and nice selection of model who is one of your favorite.

I love the processes you described here as well.
Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for the feedback! =)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @livvu.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you so much @helpiecake and @livvu!

Posted using Partiko Android

You did a good job with the grid overlay! I think the last time I tried that it didn't go so well, but then again I was also in primary school from memory XD The drawing came out good :)

Thank you @ryivhnn! That seems like a long time ago so I hope that you try it again, if you like. The grids were very helpful, otherwise I would have damaged at least a part of his face :D

Posted using Partiko Android

It was a long time ago ^_^; lol

Congratulations @yashny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87