[CR] Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr.Xê

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0

Hi Everyone ❤

First, I would like to thank you all for supporting and encouraging my community art project; The Last Terracotta Artisans at the Thanh Ha village in Hoi An city, Quang Nam province, Vietnam. These artworks also feature in the documentary film sponsored by the Thanh Ha Terracotta Park and Museum.

The last artisan I drew for this series was Mr. Lê Văn Xê. He is one of the oldest artisans who also has engaged and contributed all his life to sustain the traditional pottery craft as a career and is a part of the pottery culture in the Thanh Ha village.

He was very open about his life and he told us about his life in the interview:

“ I am the third generation of my family to make a life from pottery. My grandparents said that this career has helped to make our life sustainable so we never feel deprived, but never rich. We are not abundant but still enough to cling to life.”

I drew all 9 last artisans in the scribble style portraits for the Thanh Ha Terracotta Park and Museum. I hope that the next generation in the Village, other visitors and tourists will get to know more about them and keep their images as a way to remember the spirit and culture of Thanh Ha terracotta village. .

When I drew Mr. Xê, first I drew his general shape.
Liv Vu scribble art 1.jpg

Then I worked on the background behind him.
Liv Vu scribble art 2.jpg

I then added more details to his face and left the background blurred to show more focus on his portrait.
And here is the final scribble drawing of Mr. Xê. You can zoom in to see more details and many scribble lines which are free flowing.
Liv Vu scribble art 3.JPG


For more information about my art project on the last terracotta artisans in Thanh Ha village, you can read articles from this series here:
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mrs. Duoc
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr.Tuan
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Ngữ
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Lanh
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Trong
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mrs. Chien
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Du
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Biec


Thank you all for taking time to read this post, I hope you enjoyed it. It gives me great joy to be able to share my experiences with you all, exclusively here on the Steem blockchain. If you enjoyed reading this, please share it with others by resteeming this post.

@livvu

Sort:  

I like your art project. Although Mr. Xê is an old man, I think he is handsome.


[nTopaz-Curator]

The nTopaz Curation Team recognizes your work as being of outstanding quality and an enrichment to our community. We encourage you to use nTopaz again for your artistic creations, and are looking forward to your future posts.

Join our Discord: https://discord.gg/bycktuE

Thank you so much for your support and curation @catwomanteresa ! And I think Mr.Xe will be very happy to hear your lovely words.

You are very good at portrait drawing. :-)

Thank you very much @quotes-haven

This post has been voted for the project @templo, art.

@livvu we would appreciate a greeting in our next curation report that will contain a link to your post

Thank you very much for your great support @templo !

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you very much @artzone !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much for your great support @shibasaki and @c-squared ❤💕❤

Interesting story.... I come here because I fall in love with your drawing style, it's been awhile I am wondering about how to make that kinda drawing... Love it

Thank you @hananan I'm glad that you like this art style and also the story.
I wrote a tutorial of this scribbled drawing, you can check it here to see how to make it. I hope you find it useful and may try it one day ❤

All of your portraits in this series are very nicely done, @livvu :) You capture such beautiful lifes !

Hi @livvu!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.333 which ranks you at #7552 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 32 places in the last three days (old rank 7520).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #35.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55