[CO] Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Lanh

in #artisteem6 years ago (edited)

Artwork ImageHi Everyone ❤

Today I would love to share with you another portrait from my series on the last artisans in the Thanh Ha Terracotta village in Hoi An city, Quang Nam province, Vietnam. This is also a community art project I did for the documentary film sponsored by the Thanh Ha Terracotta Park and Museum.

Mr. Lanh is the husband of Mrs. Chien. They are both skillful and respected artisans who have worked hard their whole lives to support their own family. I came to their workspace at their house to interview them and draw them.

Liv Vu 1.jpg

Mr. Lanh is an honest and sensitive man. He has shared with us the story of his life, his career and he even cried as he shared the stories from his life.

”This career is not easy. There were people who have invested in this business for 3 years but they were not successful in doing this job or when they learned the method of this job, they couldn't develop and maintain it forever. And I think about myself, I realized my life is going to end with nothing of value except the words “artisan of pottery village”. Amongst all of us, nobody really knows or sees the pottery products from our grandparents, there are even some people, who were born and live here but don't know what their grandparents did or understand their craft. I am now over eighty years old, and I still regret that I could not learn a little bit more when my grandparents were still alive, so whenever I think of that, my tears flow”. - Mr.Lanh [translated from Vietnamese]

I tried to capture his daily work and his career in his portrait on paper with scribble style. First I drew his general shape.
Liv Vu scribble art 2.jpg

Then I added more important details.
Liv Vu scribble art 3.jpg

Here is the final scribble portrait of Mr.Lanh.
Liv Vu scribble art 4.JPG


For more information about my art project on the last terracotta artisans in Thanh Ha village, you can read articles from this series here:
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Trong
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mrs. Chien
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Du
Last Terracotta Artisans: Mr. Biec


Thank you all for taking time to read this post, I hope you enjoyed it. It gives me great joy to be able to share my experiences exclusively here on the Steem blockchain, with you all. If you enjoyed reading this, please share it with others by resteeming this post.

@livvu

Sort:  

I like your free stroke. You express the man who focus on his work very well.
Thanks for your contribution on Artisteem.

Artisteem Curator @catwomanteresa

Thank you very much @catwomanteresa ! I'm glad that you like this art style

Hi @livvu, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity and the trail!

If you want to support us, please consider following our curation trail on Steemauto.com or delegating STEEM POWER to us.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Thank you for your support @bdcommunity !

Another nice one. I like your style of sketching. Very unique. Great job! :-)

Thank you @quotes-haven again for your great support!

I would never have discovered your content if you have not decided to follow me this morning. I love good art and is a little different from the crypto world.

Thank you @chesatochi for reading my post. I'll create art of crypto world so hope you keep following my next posts

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Love this series, @livvu :) He looks absolutely focused in his craft, and you captured that relationship between the artist and his art so well with this sketch <3

Nice photograph also, and I enjoyed the video <3

Thank you very much @veryspider. They are very lovely people and I really appreciate their hard work!

Hi @livvu!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.211 which ranks you at #8420 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 67 places in the last three days (old rank 8487).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 229 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74