#NeedleWorkMonday - Sewing For a Cause Part 2

in #ntopaz5 years ago (edited)

ntopaz-image-0ntopaz-image-1ntopaz-image-2ntopaz-image-3ntopaz-image-4ntopaz-image-5ntopaz-image-6ntopaz-image-7

Happy #NeedleWorkMonday everyone! If you missed Part 1 of Sewing For a Cause you might want to view it to catch up on what I’m doing.

The second part of my friends package consisted of this seatbelt cover! After a mastectomy that area is very sensitive and wearing a seatbelt could cause more pressure and pain. We want our loved ones to remain safe and wear their seatbelt but who wants to travel being that uncomfortable? This seatbelt cover is a solution for that. The tabs wrap around the seatbelt as the cushioned cover lays across your chest area reducing the pressure of the seatbelt.

Once again there were no patterns for these so we made our own and guessing the measurements. After cutting out the material we marked our measurements with a pencil. We labeled the seams as well as the sections that will be separated. When sewing the two pieces together you have to face the right sides together. My mother told me to sew over the lines we made so I would still see the sections from the wrong side.

After getting the three sections sewn it was time to stuff them with this stuffing tool. I love that this tool was included in the bag of poly fill because I didn’t have one. Stuffing these small openings wasn’t as hard as I thought but it was time consuming. I stuffed the last two rows at the same time filling each a little at a time so I wouldn’t have to start from the beginning again. That actually helped speed up time.

After every section was stuffed we made the tabs that will go around the seatbelt to hold the pillow against the chest area. We used Velcro to stick them on the cover and to close the loops. It made it easier and it worked just fine.

I wish we would have made it a little wider but my friend says it’s just fine. She loves it and says it is as helpful as the pillow. This is what makes it all worth it. Knowing these items are truly helping my friend and supporting her comfort really makes me happy and blessed to have been able to make them :)

I am now working on a few crocheted items to send her to complete my care package. I’ll try to make some time to share them but not sure since my time is limited and I want to send these to her soon . Thanks for following along and leaving your encouraging and supportive feedback, it really means a lot ~ 💓

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

For more information on #NeedleWorkMonday and the @needleworkmonday community please visit our FAQs!


#NeedleWorkMonday initiated by @crosheille
Hostesses: @muscara, @shanibeer and @marblely


9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

60068819-057B-4483-A075-C8DCF5443E8C.gif

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E8BD8D29-F7AC-4E6C-B93E-E9D18058F150.gif

C2E37979-7545-4AAF-B61F-F27E75482934.jpeg

526C421F-0293-4B68-8ECE-574CE43B8DC3.jpeg

765675CB-72C5-4F23-807D-BB7FBF8150DE.jpeg

14F5AECF-9480-4C13-BA92-20E6671ED5C1.jpeg

D01813C2-2DB8-4E9A-98F4-449EB7932AC2.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

I love that you are making this for your friend it is such a wonderful idea, my mother has a pacemaker and the area around her chest is quite sensitive, she could definitely use something like this. I hope you are well my friend xx

Thank you. I just needed to contribute to her comfort somehow and I knew I could do so by making her something. Yes your mother could definitely benefit from using a cushion like this.

You are such a kind and caring person, I am sure your fried will so appreciate this care package

Initial results on my Daughter in law seem good the generic test came back negative which was goo, she needs to redo the MRI as it wasn’t conclusive but the Doctor feels its a good sign but wants to redo it, so t may just be a minor surgery if we are lucky so all the prayers must have helped :)

This is amazing news!!!!! I am so happy to hear this!!! xo

Thanks and sorry I should have told you as well :)

No problem. Now I know and am very happy.

Me to next week she has the MRI done again and let’s hope that goes as well as the Dr expects but either way it’s looking a lot better

Thank you for those sweet words.

Oh thank goodness! This is such great and relieving news. Thank you so much for sharing the update. Prayer does help for sure :)

ohh yes no doubting the power of Prayer, she has a follow up MRI tomorrow and then the Dr will decide the next cause of action:)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Such dedication, and a lot of talent!

Thank you so much ~ ☺️

Really nice idea and great job! I bet it works great and provides comfort!

Thank you! Yes she really loves it!

What a nice gesture. Bright and colorful, but also useful. Something personal like that, from a friend, certainly means a lot. I like the idea of Sewing for a Cause and people like you helping other people with sewing, that needs to be recognized.

Wow thank you so much @hanedane for your kind words and feedback! That means a lot. I’m glad I can share my passion and what I love to do with you all :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much for your continued support!

I am not sure I have seen so much love being poured out from one's heart in a long time. You are who I want to be when I grow up.

Oh, wait. I am grown. Le sigh.

Thank you for showing me that kindness, thoughtfulness, and love are not dead. You have a busy schedule, yet, you will make time for people - even though.

You are an amazing human being.

Thank you for that

!tip

Haha that is so funny! Thank you so much for always sharing your sweet and kind remarks. People like you make me want to keep sharing what I love to do. ☺️

Thank you ~ ❤️💓💗

🎁 Hi @crosheille! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Where Is The Love In The Hard Fork? Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

That turned out pretty cool :)

Thanks! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63837.42
ETH 2539.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65