Proof of Stillness

in #nsfw5 years ago (edited)

I am always thinking of ideas inspired by Steemit’s proof of brain concept. I find myself still amazed at this disruptive approach to the attention economy made possible by cryptocurrency and the blockchain. Actifit is a great example of the kind of implementations that inspire these musings.

Being rewarded for having a healthy and active lifestyle makes perfect sense. It brings the community together, ironically sharing about their time away from the screen.

By combining proof of work with proof of stake, CureCoin proposes to use the blockchain to solve medical problems by creating models of protein to solve with the folding@home project. Like with Steemit, some of the computational power goes towards security while some goes towards a real world application. In this case: curing cancer or Alzheimer’s disease.

This Is a very academic example but with the explosion of gaming Dapps on the blockchain it begs the question, will we soon be rewarded for playing games? If so, should fitness games like Beat Sabre or Let’s Dance be more rewarded than playing Mario Bros or Fortnite? After all, by keeping the population fit, it stands to reason that you reduce the collective health bill, keeping them productive for longer. Will this be a criteria in attributing value to otherwise leisurely activities?

IMG_20190320_121719.jpg

This brings me to my idea, proof of stillness, an invaluable tool for life models. I have no idea what the market cap for life modelling is but it must be sizeable. With future technology, I propose to invent a towel with sensors and to score life models for stillness directly on the blockchain. This could be the perfect way to generate tips to compensate for wages that have stalled compared to inflation for over 3 decades.

So maybe I was shaky this morning for my one minute poses, ok, I was. Maybe I would loose my tip but the way things stand, I’m not making any on a good day.

IMG_20190320_121840.jpg

This is the kind of day dream I have about the blockchain.

With the advent of self serving tills, it is clear that people choose their convenience over giving people jobs. Basic Universal Income is an important concept that will only grow and so far, blockchain culture is among the rare options that we can consider. Mainstream media is quick to say that the crypto sphere has abandoned hope of ever competing with credit card companies as far as the currency aspect is concerned. That is not true. Credit card algorithms are not open source, they are not a community and it is possible that one day, cryptocurrency will prevail.

IMG_20190320_122054.jpg

On another note, these are the wonderful drawings of yours truly by the talented animation students of Capilano U.

IMG_20190320_122437.jpg

“You made me well endowed”, I told this student to which he replied, “well you are!”. Thanks I guess...

IMG_20190320_122027.jpg

There’s the guy. “I hope you don’t mind that I drew you in a manga style”. Why would I? I love it!

IMG_20190320_122410.jpg

I stayed a bit with Mo, their teacher after class. He absolutely loves his job. He is so relatable, always makes it a point to throw an anecdote in his class, always getting laughs. He will ask me to move whatever part of the body they are working on and traces the bones on me with a marker which tickles.

Other teachers ask him when he will retire, eying his position. “They had better wish me dead” he says. I love it.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @edouard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

How does one hold still long enough for this?! Even a very natural position would be difficult.

Does the platform thingy turn at all, or does each student truly have a different angle of view?

I can also see this as very humbling. Good job!

No it doesn’t rotate, you must be still so people can draw you but that would be cool for an abstract painter depicting motion!
On a good day it is challenging and on a bad one extremely difficult indeed.

Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your support for my NSFW content sense it is not as accessible!!!!

Love you girl!~

I realized today that I had to change my NSFW setting on Steempeak to make it more visible. I think there might need to be another "middle ground" setting on it. I do have children around, so I have to be mindful at times. :-)

I realized as I was looking at the pictures that each artist has a different view - some "full on" - some from the back, some from the side... it must be very enlightening.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56787.81
ETH 2507.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24