Notary? Nah, I have a blockchain, thanks.

in #notary5 years ago (edited)


As you may know, I've recently moved to Puerto Rico with my family to enjoy this warm, beautiful island and its equally warm culture and people. As of Dec 4th, 2018, we are full-time residents of Caguas, Puerto Rico and so far we love it! We've already been on some beautiful hikes as well.

As part of this transition, I've created a new corporate entity here in Puerto Rico, Stokes Enterprises, LLC for all my consulting, advising, and service work in the cryptocurrency space. My friend @sean-king has been a tremendous help getting me set up to follow in his footsteps regarding Act 20 and Act 22. As a voluntaryist, I believe taxation is theft and all human interactions should be voluntary. My beautiful wife @corinnestokes wasn't too interested in renouncing US citizenship to accommodate my moral ideals, so moving to this US territory under the Act 20/22 grant system seemed like the next best thing. As long as I'm exporting my services to those outside of Puerto Rico, I only have to pay some local taxes and, importantly for cryptocurrency long-term believers, no capital gains. That means more money to use as I see fit to benefit myself, my family, and the world.

To keep track of ownership transfer from my self as an individual to Stokes Enterprises, LLC, traditionally someone might mail themselves a signed, certified letter or pay for a notary to witness the document signing. Thankfully, I've got a blockchain. :)

I wrote up a few ownership transfer documents for the blockchain related services I currently export (Steem witnessing and education/training/content, EOS development via eosDAC worker proposals, and SmartCash infrastructure with Smart Nodes), printed them, signed them, and then scanned them to pdf using Genius Scan on my phone. I then used the shasum command on my computer to get a cryptographic hash of the signed documents like so:

➜  shasum steem_account_ownership_transfer_signed.pdf 
873045b8fe2db0af4b63d768556cc83777f93712  steem_account_ownership_transfer_signed.pdf
➜  shasum eos_account_ownership_transfer_signed.pdf 
fb22e3bff075007f4ed708816fc8b65de6549b1e  eos_account_ownership_transfer_signed.pdf
➜  shasum smartcash_ownership_transfer_signed.pdf 
de08195513756f3929e2a1519386e8e5b2cde0b7  smartcash_ownership_transfer_signed.pdf

If I really wanted to, I could go the extra step and store the entire file on the blockchain as an encrypted, signed GPG file as I've done before: Securely Storing Data Backups on the STEEM Blockchain but that might be a bit much for this.

Just by posting this blog entry on the Steem blockchain with these hash values, I'll have verifiable proof that these documents existed at this time.

Pretty cool, right?

(image source)


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

But Luke @lukestokes Uses the Blockchain.....

Hahah! Damn, straight! Use that new fan-dangled tech, kids, it's good for you. :)

That is really cool! Glad that things are working out well for you in Puerto Rico. It seems like it is a beautiful place to live despite the recent destruction. It is good to know that they are finally recovering and hopefully getting back to some form of normalcy.

Yeah, for sure. They are asking for people to come back on vacation! The news cycles can be brutal where people only hear the worst and then it gets stuck in their minds for months. PR is open for business and its truly an amazing place to visit.

Good for you, Luke! Freedom and voluntaryism forever!

Just another reason why blockchain technology will change the world!

When I moved on from Greece to Cyprus 3 years back I had a very difficult transition...eventually things didn't go as planned and came back to Greece 1.5 year later. BUT...I think you are having the exact opposite emotions. You "look" good, and excited ( I wasn't particularly) and someone may feel it even by reading this text.
I really hope Puerto Rico turns out to be your little paradise Luke.

Happy to see my beloved island is attracting great blockchain entrepreneurs and business! I haven’t thought about going back but it may get interesting as the development continues!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Use it or lose it. In fact I imagine that Act 20/22 will be repealed as pretty soon. That's the way government works. If a program isn't broke they fix it until it is. (Social Security, GI Bill, Highway Trust Fun, Medicare, the list is endless)

That is really pretty cool @lukestokes. Admirable how fast you set up the company bro, respect! Wishing you the best in Puerto Rico!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31