I'm off steemit

in #noob7 years ago

Well, that lasted a short time. I'm off steemit. Last night, I had the thought, that if all my posts are on the blockchain, they're permanent.

Let that sink in.

The internet never dies is more true in the blockchain than on the internet. And I'll tell you why this is scary.

Throughout the history of the internet we've come across stories of people posting something mildly controversial, and suffering huge consequences as a result: loss of jobs, being "banzed" off forums and networks, trolling, being insulted, being hacked, being harassed, this last one, in particular, very scary when the target is a woman receiving rape and death threats from online weirdos.

A quick way to mitigate these risks is the control one has in shutting down comments and posts.

But not on steemit.

Hence, I asess the risk of whatever I say to never be erased and being the target of misinterpretations or worse to be too high, especially considering the small monetary incentive steemit is trying to fool me into thinking is worthwhile.

So, that's that. I'm better off just blogging in my own Wordpress blog. In my server. That I control. And that I can create, modify and destroy at will.

So long steemit. You were fun for a day. But you're a read-only platform for me, a curiosity, but I suspect it won't be around 5 years from now. Precisely because of the reasons I listed. It just takes one post, a subsequent scandal, and user abandonment in droves. Oh well. Interesting.

Sort:  

You don't think Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, YouTube etc are also PERMANENT, those corporations keep everything you put in their 'platform' too and they use your data to make money and you get zero reward for that.
I've heard you could earn on here just by voting for things you like so I'm giving it a go. Take a break from posting and just upvote for bit, see how it goes...

Congratulations @blueshrimp32! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46