Introducing The Redfish Power UP League and Wall of Fame – Are YOU up for it?

in #nobidbot6 years ago (edited)

The majority of new people that start on Steemit start with delegated power.  Just enough so they can make transactions on the block.  These accounts with very little power are know as Redfish, whereas accounts with a lot of STEEM Power are known as whales.

Redfish have a lot of things to deal with when they start on Steemit.  First there is the learning curve, even the terminology of Redfish and Whales is new to some, let along getting your head around STEEM, STEEM Power, SBD and Vests.  And that’s all before trying to understand what is and is not acceptable, let alone creating and curating content.

Redfish have Steem Power of less than 500.  After this you then become known as a Minnow.  It’s a huge challenge and milestone for many to reach that 500 Steem Power mark.  It can be hard to stay consistent, learn and work under the current bloodbath of the crypto prices.  But this is the perfect time for redfish, and everyone else to accumulate and grow their Steem Power Holding.

One of the challenges I have found is changing the mindset of many redfish from short term thinking about their activity and earnings on steemit to a longer-term plan.   It’s in everyone’s favour for people to grow their SP.  Some of the personal benefits include:

• Higher SP = higher vote value

• Higher vote value = you can reach more people

• Higher SP = more people interested in networking with you

• Higher SP = proof of long term vision

• Higher SP = greater chance of support from larger accounts

Introducing The Redfish Power Up League and Wall of Fame

To help redfish reach their milestone allow me introduce The Redfish Power Up League and Wall of Fame

The aim of this challenge is to grow your own SP to 500. The challenge is to come top of the leader board and then graduate and be place on the Redfish Graduates Wall of Fame. Every Week I will post a leader board like the sample below.  

 

When a Redfish joins the league the owned STEEM Power(SP) on date of joining will be recorded.  Every week I will then capture the current owned SP and calculate the % increase to date.  The final column in the table is what will rank people.  This is the average weekly % increase in SP and is calculated by taking the % increase since joining the league (% increase to date) and dividing it by the number of weeks the participant has been in the league.

This initiative is aimed at helping Redfish grow their accounts which in the long run will help the Steemit platform. I hope this will compliment other Redfish initiatives as I know there are many others also helping in this space.

The Wall of Fame

Once you become a Minnow your success will be celebrated and you will be removed from the Redfish weekly leader board and added to the Wall of Fame when you graduated.  All Wall of Fame minnows will be given Steembasicincome units as a graduation prize.

 

Why you should enter

For the fun.  To meet new people.  To engage with others, you would not normally have the chance to engage with.  For the healthy competition. To watch your growth and give motivation.  To be seen on the Wall of Fame.  To win steembasicincome units.

How to enter and rules

To enter the Redfish Power Up League all you have to do is comment in any of the Redfish Power Up League posts saying you want to be included and the following week I will add you to the data.  Its opt in only and those will remain unless they asked to be removed.

To enter you must (edit) have total holding SP (owned and delegated in and out)  have a total of less than 400 owned SP – I know that redfish have an SP of less than 500 however it would be too easy to make it to the Wall of Fame if I allowed entrants start with a higher SP than 400.  

There are two ways to increase your SP.  Power up STEEM or get delegation.  Delegated SP will be excluded and we will be working from owned SP values only.  I will be using Steemsql to gather the data.

These rules are not fixed and may change over time,  Your feedback is welcome

How to earn STEEM to Power UP

I mentioned above that only owned SP will be included.  To own SP you must power up STEEM.  STEEM can be earned from posting, trading earned SBD on the internal or external markets, in contests and even by purchasing STEEM on the open market and transferring to Steemit and powering up.  

How you can help

Please resteem this post.  That’s the easiest way everyone can help.  It will help us reach more people and grow steemit together.

We all have to start somewhere and I will be funding the Wall of Fame myself.  All upvotes will count and go towards the prizes.  You could also help by sponsoring a Steembasicincome unit spot on the Wall of Fame, please contact me on discord if you would like to be a sponsor.

Shameless Promotion

@steemcommunity is a witness project from myself and @abh12345.  There are many good witnesses out there and doing your research is important. I hope you will take the time to read our witness introduction post and consider us as one of your steemit witnesses


Sort:  

Since the price is low, it’s a great time to powerup

I would love to join the league ! Great idea by the way, anything to improve retention is most welcomed. 378 SP, almost didn't make the cut. I won't be here for long...

I will sponsor a spot (1 SBI) on the Wall of Fame (algo.coder #7160 on Discord), maybe not every week, but at least to increase the prize pool on this first edition.

you are now included in the league and thank you so much for the sponsorship to help kick this off. I will contact you on discord. Oh Im excited now. :-)

Thanks ! No problem, I'm looking forward to see the first results...
Waiting for contact...

Well, I think that I'll give to this challenge a shot. I want to be included. So, add me @paulag to The Redfish Power Up League and Wall of Fame data. Certainly I want to sweep under my own red carpet as many Steembasicincome units as I can afford.

¿Why I'm doing this? YES! For the fun. To meet new people & to engage with others I wouldn't normally have the chance to engage with.

But above all, I'm doing this only to drive you Nuts witnessing how painfully /ˈsləɡiSH, lethargic, drowsy & lumpish will be my meteoric career to come to the top of the leader board and then graduate reaching my place on the Redfish Graduates Wall of Fame. :p

Oh! yeah, of course I have my own infallible strategy for this.

¡Repeat after me!

Sure thing babe. I've resteemed this post to help us reach more people and grow steemit together. :)

I love this reply. - so what is your strategy ( I only speak English and can not understand the video lol)

I have added your name to the list

Thank you babe!! :)

And solely because you loved my reply, I'm gonna please you by revealing my Machiavellian strategy to drive you nuts in your own tongue. };)

However, I think the original 'spanish' version was a LOT funnier. :o)

:) Actually I think she needs to meditate more than eat twistos lol.

Ah! C'mon @petervroom. She is a smart girl. She can do both 'tasks' simultaneously wonderfully well!! }:)

lol thank you for finding the english version - your effort gets a vote

Thanks,

Upvoted (by @rycharde), resteemed (by @accelerator) and has been added to the latest MAP Upvotes post.


= Quality Content Creators can request to join MAP = see the Benefits = Free Membership =

as always, thank you!

Not a redfish, but happy to see an initiative like this @paulag! Steemit's retention issue is best addressed by creating enthusiasm among those just starting out.

Resteeming for more visibility.

Since this is a program for redfish powering up, they need every cent that comes their way, including no lost value when they vote for each other. Would you be interested in something like I sponsor three @dustsweeper basic memberships (1 SBD each; gives them $2.00 worth up upvotes to lift rewarded posts/comments past the $0.02 dust threshold) per week?

Denmarkguy#4747 on Discord.

thank you so much for the resteem and the offer of sponsor @dustsweeper basic membership. I will contact you on discord later today. So awesome. thank you again.

I want to be include to this awesome league @paulag, this is big opportunity for me and everyone, thanks for this one

you are most welcome

Thanks for the initiative, sign me up please!

For feedback, this might be difficult or impossible to track, but I'd consider excluding straight purchases of SP, because then it could become a measure of who is the richest and simply invests in Steem. This seems slightly different than the spirit of the league, which (I assume) wants to encourage growth in quality content and networking. Conversion of earned SBD or Steem earned though participation on the platform is fine - accounting for purchases makes gives it a slightly different vibe. Again, understand that this may be difficult to track! :)

Hi, @eoj,

I believe the Steemians who understand how progress is made on Steemit and the value of powering up are probably already investing whatever fiat they want to or have to spare to buy SP. If they've been doing it consistently and long enough they probably are past the 400 SP eligibility for this League.

Peeps who have some cash saved or invested and willing to pull it, can just buy 500 SP upfront (or more) to reap the benefits @paulag outlined accrue to those who become minnows.

So I don't think it would be fair to leave out Steemians who want to invest their own fiat but who don't have enough to buy 400-500 or more SP straight away.

If we do that, and leave only earned rewards to be the way to increase stake in Steemit, that would send a wrong signal, I feel. Investing in Steem AND Steemit is good. Many of those who are successful here have not only invested time and energy but also some of their own fiat too.

Also, leaving it to just earned rewards would probably mean it would take a super long time for many to reach 400 SP and Paula would have to wait that long to have any graduates at all.

I think the MAIN benefit of this initiative is to get plankton/redfish in to the mindset of being serious about wanting to increase their stake in Steemit via increased SP.

The League will be a constant source of inspiration to help develop and execute a workable strategy for participants to get their SP stake in Steemit up to that major basic main goal of 500 SP... whatever way is best for each person.

Increasing earned rewards is a given but investing fiat should not be left out as an additional, complementary method. Indeed, seeing some participants doing this may increase the motivation for others to find a way to earn and invest fiat IN Steem also, resulting in higher stake, quicker and graduating from the 500 SP League faster. Then maybe Paula will have a Dolphin League for us to graduate to. ;)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hi @angelacs - thanks for the thoughtful reply! I agree: if the intent of the league is to simply get up to 500 SP quick, then purchases should definitely be included. Thanks for clarifying @paulag's intent.

I suppose there's a few ways of looking at Steemit: as an investment vehicle, as a social media/blog platform, some sort of hybrid, or something else. It probably depends much on what drew you to Steemit in the first place and what you expect out of it. Personally, I was attracted to Steemit by the possibility of building something from nothing though hard work and quality posts, as per the Steemit tagline:

"Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post. If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!"

That's what drew me here: the possibility that quality posts will be rewarded and with hard work I would succeed in the platform. And while there would be time invested, this could be possible at no cost. If I was good. And patient :)

Now that I'm here, I'm aware there's a lot more going on ;) Flag wars, bit bots, spammers, opportunists, etc. But I remain on the platform because at the end of the day I'm hopeful that quality content will win the day, and that authors and curators will be rewarded for it. I guess we'll see. I'm patient and I'm in it for the long haul. I'll be here for years and I'm planning on converting all earned SBD and Steem to SP to grow my account to have more influence and be able to help beginners, maybe run some contests or leagues of my own in the future :)

Sure, I can plop down 500 SP at any time, but for me, because of how I see the platform, that wouldn't be as interesting of a story as growing organically. I don't believe buying SP equates with more commitment or buy-in to the platform. I think there's a strong counter argument that those who wish to thrive mostly through content creation or curation are adding more value to the platform as a whole than those who simply buy in. But I suspect most folks fall somewhere in the middle. I suppose we can ask - I wonder how many people have used fiat to purchase SP vs. how many have never done so?

I'm also filtering by my life experience: I've lived most of my adult life outside of my home country doing humanitarian work in desperately poor countries. One of the most exciting possibilities of a platform like Steemit is that in theory those with little to no resources can begin to better their lives. I just read that 50% of the world's population now have access to the internet. If they're on the internet, they can have a Steemit account and theoretically open another income stream to help themselves, their families, and their communities. Even if this takes years to happen, the mere possibilities these days give me hope. Exciting times!

Anyway, thanks again for the comment! It's a good discussion and always interesting to see how others experience Steemit!

Cheers,
@eoj

Loading...

Sure I'll be happy to join. Me and my massive 2 native SP. :)

awesome - welcome on board.

I will be joining. Thank you for the opportunity to participate.

Upvoted and resteemed.

@stevenmosoes

Very good, man.
😀

Join also SteemCommunity on Discord here. 😎

Thank you d discord link.

It's okay, man.

I have added you to the legaue - cant wait to see you grow :-)

I'm on Steemit for 10 months now (and a follower of yours due to a recommendation some weeks ago). Only the last month saw me getting rewarded with STEEM (not just SBD and SP) which gives me the chance to power up regularly (by small amounts but who cares?).

According to your classification I still count as a Redfish which could be translated to: bloody beginner. Well, I may be, kind of. But in fact I think the months between october 2017 and march/april 2018 have been a hard time for anybody on the platform.

I'm at 58 SP as of now (right now, I just powered up with the latest rewards before finishing the comment), 400 or 500 is so much out of reach for me that actually the thought of having to achieve this makes me upset. (Which is the main reason I'm commenting.) I have lived with a small delegation for nearly 4 months, covering the time between having nearly 20 SP and about 45 SP of my own (I don't remember the exact numbers, it might have started at 15 SP too and ended at about 30.) However, the cut-off for a voting value of 0.01 was slightly above 30 back then. Now (due to the exchange rate ?) it's somewhere above 100 SP I guess.

I don't want to compete. And it makes me sad to be called for competition by a user I appreciated for her specific content.

P.S.: There is no user account @steemcommunty - please check the spelling. ;)

thank you for your feedback. Small amounts all add up so you are right, who cares.

"According to your classification I still count as a Redfish which could be translated to: bloody beginner"
Not always the case. This classification was not created by me but here on steemit before I started. I know plenty of redfish that are by no means beginners.

500 can seem a long way off for many, I remember feeling that way only a year ago.

This is all just a bit of fun, with some rewards added. I did not 'call' you, although this post must have landed in your feed? as I said, it is opt in so there is no reason to be sad as you do not have to take part .

Updated the spelling error, thanks :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68