Through the mind of an African Child.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nigeria6 years ago (edited)

african-child.jpg

source: sahistory.org.za

I am sitting outside, with the breeze caressing my face, as the transistor radio goes on and on by my side.
The situation is getting worse across Africa it says; they say I am most likely going to die before my 60th birthday.
I also hear that more than two-thirds of those infected with HIV/AIDS call Africa home….I guess my odds are pretty slim.

Although some naive people erroneously think we all live in trees, living standards in most areas are extremely poor.

Some of us have to walk up to 6km a day, just to get some form of education.
What doesn’t break us making us stronger.

Infighting, religious crisis and deaths are a part of our daily life.
Clearly, the odds are stacked against me, but I can’t quit.

Life is not perfect for me and most of us out there, but we have our thrills, we cry, we laugh, and find pleasure in the simple things of life.

We also feel pain….a lot of pain.
But one thing I know for certain is that all of this prepares me for the journey ahead; and whether I make it or not, I will have lived, because happiness for me, is living daily.

This is our reality, and in it, we find the positives, draw strength from it, and go on to live successful lives.

I am the African voice.

Be grateful for what you do have. Even the basic things in life are a luxury for some.

RELATED POSTS
https://steemit.com/story/@solcross/4amxgy-a-little-bit-about-life-loving-and-making-the-journey-of-our-lives-a-memorable-one-here-s-to-you

https://steemit.com/steemit/@solcross/we-miss-all-the-shots-we-never-take-push-one-more-time

https://steemit.com/writing/@solcross/2v9gd9-about-success

https://steemit.com/writing/@solcross/5rntpu-living-life

Love my posts?

I'll be very glad if you...

DQmb2XLRnqy5netJri1pMXwqxB22MxujE4XakYcHeVUpQqx.gif

Seems to be a thing on this side of the universe. :)

If you also have anything you would like me to write about? Drop some lines in the comments section below.

IMG_20180330_171526.png

Sort:  

What a spectacular post! The message and the way it is written is so beautiful. I especially love how you take what is given to you, learn from it, and recognize that it is a part of your journey!

I see you are a new member of @asapers; I too am a member and I curate for them. I'm going to pass your post on in the hopes that it makes it in our READ ME ASAP newsletter ;) Keep your eyes out for it; @insideoutlet always posts the latest edition in our Discord channel.

Again, thank you for something so beautiful:)

Thanks for your words @lynncoyle1. I'm humbled. :) That would be superb. Following you and @insideoutlet. Thanks once again.

You are most welcome! There's something so graceful about this post...it's difficult for me to put it into words ;)

I see where from, and how these outpourings come, even why! You speak of it all too well. It is one small voice, but it expresses the feelings of many countless millions across Africa.

But of course there is always joy even under the current conditions, and then there is hope, better prospects....as you allude to.

I share your place!

Exactly.... Perfectly said. @mirrors. One of my favourite writers on here.... You are :)

Thanks @solcross. Keep up the good writes. I am especially impressed with your focus on 'community matters", you know, trying to bring out, to sepak out for the community.

It is the same with me, although maybe we are doing it using diferent approaches. I use stories, disguised as fiction to speak out, and bring to light, the several some of society's less spoken evils.

Your own approach here is more direct, and as equally powerful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64605.20
ETH 3168.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53