Sick and tired of working for someone else!!

in #nigeria6 years ago

I am sick and tired of working for someone else indeed. When I was younger, all I wanted was to be rich. I knew that once I got myself a job, I would do my best to ensure that I was the top of my game. I wanted to be rich and I thought that all I had to do was land the perfect job, work hard and I will be on my way to amassing the wealth that I desire.


Image: Pixabay of course

Now that I am much older and hopefully wiser, I realised that life doesn’t work that way. A lot of people have what they consider to be a great job and bust their butts all day long only to end up with mediocre earnings or maybe if they are lucky, a little above mediocre earnings. These people work super hard but their efforts go towards filling the pockets of someone else.


Image: Pixabay of course

Do I want to spend the rest of my life filling someone else’s pocket? No! I want to be the “fillee’ and not the “filler”. But how do I achieve this? Let me start by reviewing the activities of people I admire.
…Pauses…Engages in deep thoughts…..

Image: Pixabay of course

When I consider the careers of people I admire, I discover that they all have one thing in common. They own their own businesses. The made themselves the “fillee” by ditching the proverbial 9 – 5 and controlling their own destiny. Duh! That seems so obvious!


Image: Pixabay of course

Although I don’t think that entrepreneurship is guaranteed to make you rich and I know that it is extremely tough. However, I also know that being an entrepreneur allows you to have more control over your earnings. The amount of effort you place is directly correlated to the amount you earn. You are free to take as many risk as you need to increase your chances of raking in those return.
Now that I have figured out what I need to do to achieve my childhood dreams, I have to answer the following questions:
*What business should I do?
*Should I take the plunge, quit my job and pursue my business?
*If I do that, how do I stop from being homeless?

I don’t have an answer yet to any of these questions but I’m sure that if I dedicate at least one hour per day to thinking about these questions, researching the answers and trying different things, I’ll most likely come up with the winning formula. The goods news is that I have found an answer to this common question -
What happens if I fail?
It’s simple. If I fail, I will try something else or I will try the same thing but apply the knowledge I gained from my past experience.

Wish me luck as I begin my quest for fame and fortune 😂.

Until next time, thanks for stopping by. Chat later.

Sort:  

Working a job doesn't make you rich. Being the boss does. I watched people all my life including family work themselves to death (literally), only to reach retirement too damned old to enjoy any part of the rest of their lives. That power chair and those pills come at a high price...

It IS a weird kind of slavery we impose upon all of ourselves but until the way everyone's mindset works changes, it's a sad fact of life I suppose. There are other ways to make money, but no one really addresses them.

Great post by the way.

You are absolutely right. Modern day slavery is more prevalent than we care to admit, and as you said, people literally work themselves to death all for a paycheck which may not even take care of their bills when they eventually retire.
We have to teach ourselves to be more self reliant and to work towards coming up with a lasting solution to this unfair distribution of wealth.

I can very well relate with you.
I remember working so hard months ago at a job. I was losing it, my mind, myself and everything.
Until I quit my job
Quitting my job made me see a lot of things that I liked. I learned, I became better at myself and most importantly, I found peace.
Although, it is up to you to quit your job or not, but the truth is, "Working for someone doesn't make you the Boss"

This post has been featured on #wafrica daily curation.
Courtesy of @julietisrael

One of my favourite personalities and possible mentor is Steve Harvey. His story is so inspiring because he has the ultimate rag to riches story. When asked by people for advice on how to become wealthy like him, he says the same thing. “You have to jump”. Jumping means taking that step off the cliff -which in this case would be the restraints of your job - and delving into the unknown. I guess you were able to jump and have now discovered how much better your life is. I hope to be as brave as you are one day and just jump.

Thanks for stopping by.

Congratulations @oncebey60! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99