I Haven’t Been a Very Good Girl

in #newsteem5 years ago (edited)

gho8.jpg

It’s been a loooooooong time since I last talked to you, like for real. I’ve been here, but my heart hasn’t been in it. I wanted to take the time on this fine autumn evening, with a glass (read:half a bottle) of Riesling, sit down and write to you what is on my mind regarding Steemit.

Mentally checked out



To the untrained eye it might have looked like I’m an active, long standing member of the Steemit family. My reputation is great, I post almost every day and most of my content is quite creative and well though out. But if you are familiar with my blog from last year or check my general engagement stats, you’ll know that I’m seriously slacking!

Shit, I used to heavily criticise the creators that did the good ol’ POST&GO, reaping rewards but not taking the time to engage with their audience and other people’s posts. I told people to be aware of who they are fangirling, telling them that you gotta hold the creators accountable for their actions and save them coins for people who deserve it. And here I have been, a prime example of said ungrateful little bitch.

See, I’m not proud of being so inactive and I’m willing to admit that I haven’t been doing a good job as of late. I’m my own biggest critic and I hold myself up to very high standards, which I have not been meeting for a long time. I’m not making excuses but I’ve been struggling with some things for a long time, which have greatly effected on my blogging work too, and I will probably talk to you about it on a later date, but none of that has made me unable to comment and curate other people's posts!

I’m sorry I haven’t been getting you your moneys worth. I really owe it to my long time supporters to get back into creating quality posts, writing more, commenting to other people and truly engaging with the lovely Steemit community.

Too much of a good thing



I’ve been in Steemit since May 2017, that is over two years! Steemit seriously changed my life, for the better, but it did come at a cost. Steemit is like a drug, you get the first hit, a rush of feelgood from all the attention, engagement and money, and your tolerance keeps growing every day and you want more and more and more. You wanna post, share everything, see everything, know what is going on with all your internet friends’ life, be present in all the hot chat rooms and collect them likes. You wake up with Steemit, create for Steemit, live for Steemit and go to bed with Steemit.

I’ve never been good at balancing anything. It’s either all or nothing, black or white, love or hate, so I gave Steemit my all, I really did, and then I had nothing else for anyone else. I burned out, with a bright hot flame. And I know I’m not the only one. Support group anyone?

Back in the saddle



I miss my Steemit friends! I miss all the action and routine of being active on Steemit. I used to wake up and as soon as I got a cup of coffee with me, I opened the laptop, checked and answered most comments I had gotten during the night, then checked the feed for the latest sexy boudoir shots by @kommienezuspadt, read one of the posts from the writing machine @tarazkp, laughed at the latest drama going on with @berniesanders and who ever, send out upvotes to a few photography posts, dropped in to spy on the D_zone chat for a while to see if anyone is up, then I would use a good couple hours of either writing or processing pictures and planning what I would create next. It’s time to get back at it!

I’m itching to get back into action, to create for you, write out my thoughts about what ever random shit is on my mind, flirt in the comment section and read how life is treating my friends all across the world. I’m not trying to jump in head first again only to burn out too fast, but I really truly intend to be way more active as of now.

I’m gonna need your guys help to get back on top of everything! What tags you think I should use? Where is the drama currently? Who is friends with who? Do we have new awesome Steemians with us?

I'm here for the long haul.

Sort:  

I almost didn't comment...and then I stopped and remembered that I really should, because I did actually read this and I like you. Those two factors should result in a comment, although they usually don't. We are sort of in the same boat. Time is just so limited. I can't imagine how some people stay so deeply involved here for prolonged times, and still have a real life. I am glad you will be around. It would be lonely without some classy semi naked ladies in my feed. Everyone needs that :)

Reading the post and liking the person, what more reason could there be to comment!? I’m glad you took the time out of your busy family life to drop by. I really don’t know how you do it while raising little children, I struggle and I only have to feed myself 😂

Congratulations @trendo.marketing, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @eveuncovered!
@eveuncovered got 6 TRDO & @trendo.marketing got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I’m gonna need your guys help to get back on top

Husband stealer. Home wrecker!

Well it ain't my problem if they ain't getting everything they need at home!

Oh boy... Where are you? Lol

Lol calm down 😂

.... Im calm... Are you calm...? I'm not... I have some videos I was going to upload but I'm not trying to disrupt the music biz.

Same here... I’ve been somewhat less engaged but that tends to happen with social media... you gotta recharge the batteries and take a few days off.

However this is probably due to the crypto markets. When it recovers in 2020, it’s going to get nuts on steem. Maybe? 😂

#Lifestyle is a good hash tag by the way. 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Few days wasn’t enough for me, try months😩 but I’m getting back at into it. It doesn’t really matter if it’s slow all over, as long as your own group of favourite people are active. Though of course we all want cryptos to go grazy again.

I hear you. I felt really engaged for a year and a half and then just bottomed out. Everybody talks about the New Steem and Old Steem, but I feel like there was the Original Steem, then the Slow Steem (after that original Whale experiment), then the Old Steem, and now the New Steem.

I feel like I want to get active and engaged again, but I don’t want to just post for the sake of posting, and I don’t want to waste time chatting on three or for other platforms to figure out what the hell is happening here.

I’ll be watching these comments to try to understand all these new tags and their relations to Steem Engine and communities. I find the New Steem even more complicated and intimidating than the simple three coin system that everyone said was too difficult to understand during the Original Steem three years ago. (Feeling like an old man. Is there a VCR around here?)

Same SAME! I’m so simple that I want everything to happen in one place, and can’t be bothered to use ten different apps. I really wish we could get a private message option in here, so we wouldn’t have to try and find people on discord or steem.chat for a private conversation.

I’m really set in my ways and have used the same tags for ages, only now learning that it would be more beneficial to use something else so people can find me easier and I can get some extra shitcoins that have no value or use.

Wish I had a VCR, we still have old Disney classics on casettes somewhere at home home.

For VCRs, come to Japan. You can still find them in the used electronics stores, and laser disks too. I know a guy who makes a living selling laser disks. I be known him for years and still can’t believe he has customers.

I don’t think you need better tags. I think you just need more people coming to Steemit or wherever to look at content. They’ll find you. If communities really happen, I imagine that will make a big difference too.

I feel this, @eveuncovered. I’ve been posting consistently but my engagement isn’t what it shouldn’t be. The much of the photography I’m editing isn’t my passion, so they work for late night Steemit posts but it’s hard to get excited about what I’m writing. Obviously, the overall market is depressing [still] as well.

You need to get into commenting and engaging more! Everyone else loves your work and can’t get enough of it😩

Real talk from Eve, I like it :)

Where is the drama currently?

I don't know, even Bernie is curating nowadays, so it might be challenging to find any. Perhaps go fownvote some big Koreans who are using their own shenanigan bid bot with its own token – that's the latest thing closest to drama I can figure. Although I'm not sure whether that'll work, because I did that, and now I'm having some Koreans upvoting my posts 😂

Ps. you forgot kp from taraz' username. @tarazkp

I’m a real girl!

Haha yeah I did read something about your drama and let’s just say that I was pleasantly surprised that you were the one stirring up the pot. I believe you got to trending for it too, right?

Ps. you forgot kp from taraz' username.

Well this is just embarrasing, goes to show how rusty I am!

Oh yeah, the haejin case. Yeah, I ended up seeing my own face in top 10 Trending, didn't see that one coming. Nobody gave me any dramatoken though :( I'm just the guy who votes honestly and continues his day. And when shit hits the fan (haejin retaliating), I just make a better post. No biggie, just a little bump on the road. I guess I'm just that undramatic.

I tried to give you dramatoken, but it said "you don't have enough drama"

Also, there's no more haejindrama. He's joining #newSteem now.

I just don't have the drama :(

Also, there's no more haejindrama. He's joining #newSteem now.

Yeah, I noticed. Another bullish sign :D

What, I’m so out of the loop! Will there be world peace next!?

I feel you Eve. It’s not easy posting every single day and it can be discouraging as engagement continues to drop.

The excitement I used to feel to make a big post has ebbed away with the slow down of eyeballs considerably.

Remember the good old days where we would sometimes get like 200 comments per post? I’m hoping that activity returns some day.

I used to throw contests like every week but its kind of pointless now so I’m holding back until things pick up again. I do think its possible but this place needs to thrive regardless of what crypto does imo for that do happen.

I do appreciate the effort you put into content creation as im sure many other do. Its a lot of blood sweat and tears but we build our skills during these times and I think it shows our true passion when the rewards arent what they used to be.

Keep up the good work, i believe it will pay off one way or another in the long run :)

I don’t think I ever got to 200 comments but somewhere around 50 was quite normal. I intend to get back all the engagement I’ve lost!

How I’m viewing my content creating for Steemit now is not just for the money but to practice my photography, modelling and writing skills for what ever it is that future might hold. It’s never a waste of time to create something, you can always learn more and use it later.

Love your photo works. How come I only discovered your cool page now after 2 years here?! I guess it’s because I’ve been seriously slacking too. ;)

Thanks! Funny I was just wondering how many active old school steemians are here that I don’t know about. It really is such a small community still so feel like we should all know each other by now 😅

All the action is in the tribal communities. The more tags you use, the more people are going to vote. #photography #marlians #neoxian #actnearn #lassecash #lifestyle #creativecoin are probably all good for you.

I need to do some research for some of those tags because I’m not sure what kind of content they are meant for. Don’t want to step on too many toes 😝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60936.63
ETH 2387.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61