Travis Pastrana & Subaru Broke A New Record At The Mt. Washington HillclimbsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #news7 years ago

Launch Control is a production that covers Subaru rally racing. The latest episode of Season 5 (episode 7) tells the amazing story of Travis Pastrana and his new record breaking time at the Climb to the Clouds hillclimb at Mt. Washington.

So much of this story is why I own a Subaru. It is not just the brand, it's the community and the incredible feats they push for. 

This event is a big deal. Every year people bring cars from all over the world to try and set a record. 

Both Travis Pastrana and pro rally driver David Higgins drove up the 7.6 mile mountain course for Subaru. These lucky bastards were handed some of the fastest Subarus built to rally for this hillclimb attempt. 

The Subaru WRX STIs used for this event run a 2 liter engine that has been brought up to 600 hp. (probably with a turbo?) Normal rally cars in the WRC are typically limited. In 2017 the limit is 380 bhp. Vermont SportsCar is responsible for creating the engine. And they are being secretive about whats under the hood.

SHOW US WHAT YOU GOT!

For this race the drivers also have no co-drivers. This means they must rely on their own memory of the track, but the car is also that much lighter.  

One of the most skilled and respected drivers out there (Dave Higgins) wrecked on a turn halfway up the mountain. 

Higgins was fine but it shows just how intense this course is. 

It is also important to note that Higgins held the previous record for the hillclimb of 6:09.09, which he set in 2014.

Pastrana completed the climb 24 seconds faster at an impressive 5:44.72.

At the very end Travis Pastrana throws down a challenge to Ken Block to come race Mt. Washington. Will he accept? I hope so!

The Video

Subaru Rally Team USA is managed by Vermont SportsCar and proudly supported by Subaru of America, Inc., Valvoline, DirtFish, Method Race Wheels, Kühl, DMACK Tires, PIAA, Recaro, and Disc Brakes Australia. Find the team online at http://www.subaru.com/rally

Images and video sourced from youtube.com

My Subaru

02 WRX 


Other Subaru & WRX posts:

Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own unless otherwise stated.  I release everything under CC0.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com 

My Previous Post 👉 Experiencing The DC No Fly Zone With My DJI Spark Drone

Sort:  

Reminds me of those Pikes Peak rallies. I'm not sure I'd want to race around mountainsides, but I don't mind watching.

I've driven many of them myself, but at much more reasonable speeds. I'm in no rush to miss a turn at 12,000 feet.

Yeah man! Pikes Peak is awesome! I was surprised to find out that the Mt. Washington Hillclimb has actually been around a bit longer.
I'm with yah, these courses are intense at those speeds. I would love to take a run on either course with my subie, but not quite at those speeds. (also mine is nowhere near as fast). One wrong move on a turn and you're done. Luckily the cars are built to keep the driver safe in the event of a crash with roll cages and all.

I hope also that Ken Block will accept Travis Pastrana’s challenge and then there will be a BIG SHOW for us to see.
Thanks for sharing.
Cheers
@goen

I know! That would make for a huge event, with all the fans that would show up for Block, Pastrana, and other big names.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60420.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60