Trials And Tribulations Of A WRX Brake System.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cars7 years ago

My daily driver and one of my favorite toys for the past 8 years has been my 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX wagon. 

Subaru carries a long history of reliability, I can attest to that. 

But like all mechanical things there are points of failure, especially when performance is a focus.

Recently I had a brake caliper seize up and I caught it before the rotor warped.

I picked up a remanufactured Centric caliper from rock auto and proceeded to paint it with high temperature caliper paint. This should keep the rust at bay and keep the car looking clean.

I finished the project and attempted to go for a test drive around the neighborhood. 

Except the brakes didn't work. . .

Luckily the car is a manual so I could do a bit of engine braking.

After a careful evaluation and research, I determined that the cause was either air in the brake system or the master cylinder was failing.   

Step one was to bleed the brake fluid. When I first put on the new parts I bled the system solo. This was the problem. With round 2, I had some help and sure enough we found air and purged it. 

I have done plenty of brake jobs solo, but there is an increased chance of air entering the brake lines. 

After I got everything working properly I gave the car a good wax and shot some pictures.

What do you drive? Drop a pic in the comments!


Other Subaru & WRX posts:

 Hi there, I’m Will.  First and foremost I am an entrepreneur and voluntaryist.  I aspire to help build a more free world, one that we all want to live in.  Some of my biggest passions include cryptocurrencies, marketing, finance, cannabis, traveling, bodybuilding, snowboarding, motorcycles, and Subarus.  All pictures are my own, taken with a GS7 Edge or GoPro Hero 4. I release everything under CC0 unless otherwise stated.

My website: williamjohnsonlong.com   

 My Previous Post 👉  One Of My Favorite Souvenirs From Japan - A Star Wars Furoshiki Cloth

Sort:  

I drive a Subaru myself! You've put alot of work into it, looks great.

Dear @slickwilly
Nice article about your Subaru Impreza WRX wagon.bad news the brakes didn't work.
Tell me everything is okay God bless you

Yup! Everything is all good now! 👍

Hope you got it all worked out!

Thanks, the WRX runs great now and the brakes are good and firm. 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44