Draconian Japan: New Legislation Makes Nearly Anyone a "Terrorist."

in #news7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1655.JPG

It's creepy. It is not unimaginable that under Japan's new "Terrorism and Other Crime Preparations" legislation passed into law on Thursday, I might be jailed or investigated for even making a post like this. If you think that sounds too extreme, I hope you will read/watch on.


The new legislation passed into law yesterday lists 227 crimes which may be construed (due to the extremely loose and "sloppy" wording of the new law) as terrorist acts. What are some of these despicable, terrorist acts? Well, how about liking or Retweeting a Tweet? How about planning to illegally pick some mushrooms from the mountain side? Copying sheet music? Protesting a new building being built across the street?

Japan is already notorious for its Orwellian stranglehold on the press. With this new legislation, I am left wondering how long it will be before people I know personally, in my immediate circle, begin to bump into this free-speech gagging, rideshare outlawing, deep state Japan. Let's hope it doesn't happen, but damn. As an anarchist who is quite outspoken online about freedom from taxation, the benefits of cannabis, and the evils of government, I have to admit it's a bit...real.

Here's the vid.

SOURCES:

http://www.thedailybeast.com/japans-terrible-anti-terror-law-just-made-the-minority-report-reality

https://www.google.co.jp/amp/foreignpolicy.com/2016/05/27/the-silencing-of-japans-free-press-shinzo-abe-media/amp/

Thanks for watching.

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

That seems pretty intense. I am allways afraid that states turn to totalitarian regimes. I understand the push for control in these troubled times. Have fun out there and good luck with future posts!

The funny thing is though, to me, they are the ones creating "these troubled times." Without the oppressive state, most of the "troubled times" would be a lot less troublesome.

I do appreciate your comment, though, and you too!

It's a business model. Problem - Reaction - Solution = Profit. Works best if you create the problem, instigate the reaction, and have a solution in mind prior to starting.

The age of Nation-States is coming to an end. Considering how dangerous they have proven to be, it can't happen soon enough.

Recently the development of Liquid Democracy platforms have been being adopted in the EU as test cases. Of course we are all aware of blockchain, and the indelible record of public discourse Steemit is. Combine Liquid Democracy and Steemit, and you have a new form of governance that is entirely voluntary. The cryptocurrency feature of Steemit enables funding governmental services without taxation, through smart contracts which also preclude corruption.

No lobbyists, no power brokers (representatives) that can sell your sovereignty, and no coercion.

It's almost complete, and it's so native to the technology that we hardly noticed it. Given the possibility of viral adoption rates, I can see such replacing geopolitical nation-states in as short a time as it took for Facebook to overtake Myspace.

Lotsa details yet, such as how to recover funds from contractors that fail to produce, or how to prosecute crime, etc..., but I expect those problems will be solved organically as they are faced.

Keep calm and Steem on!

Great Post. The Japanese have hidden behind their pop culture for way too long. Just because Dragon Ballz is loved here it doesn't excuse the fact that they are extremely fascist.

Yes. The state certainly is. Like America, the individuals are generally kick ass and awesome. The state is a flaming piece of putrid, maggot-infested horse shit being shoved down people's unwilling throats.

It's even more absurd that this happens in such a tame place as Japan.

Are there large movements forming against this like when they changed the constitution?

Yes. As a matter of fact, I walked past a protest on Wednesday and thought "what's that about?" Now I know. Even protest, though, is still pretty tame here.

The people here would be fine on their own. There is such a strong sense of community and also independence. It's a shame so many think oppressive government like this is "just how it has to be."

Yes. I think that a big part of my faith in human potential and the self regulating nature of community comes from living in Japan for so long.

I like that tame-ness when it isn't indifferent. If they actual care and organize on a large scale around this issue I will have to try and find a way to save up money to go over and share ideas

As an anarchist, you are living in the belly of the beast! Steem on, my friend!

Cheers! And you as well, @swenger! The belly is a good place from which to fight, I suppose!

It only takes one bad shrimp in the belly to bring the entire system to its knees.

Haha. Well said ;)

I thought, after the WW2, Japan became so peaceful, no army, no wars...

That's somewhat true. The United States government basically forced them to surrender use of force in the new constitution they drafted for them. Recently, however, even that has changed (via a "reinterpretation" of Article 19) and now the Japanese defense force may go to war in an offensive capacity.

All the laws of the state are aimed at this - to make you a "criminal".
The head of the secret police of the USSR, Lavrentii Beria, said: "There would be a man, but an article will be found."

Horrifiyng indeed...

I am glad I read in the paper this morning, that a new law proposal (in Belgium that is) was denied... This new law would also be "counter terrorism"...

Now what it stated was the next (in my own words):
The Belgian Police would be able to arrest anybody, I repeat anybody, who can be linked to "Terrosist" case for 72 hours... Off course, nowhere to be found, the things that makes a case, a "terrorist" case.... You can picture where it goes from there yourself I guess...

Man I am so tired of government (every government)... What they do is, they saw fear and dispair with some false flag terrorism (not everything is false flag I guess, but I think more than most people realize)... And then, they take away the rights of their citizens so they can better fight this so called terrorism...

Jesus man....

(Sorry for the bad English, but not the mother tongue)

I hear you loud and clear. I feel the same. Thanks for this comment man. It is good to feel less alone and know that others understand.

I feel you man... And the sad part, when you read the comments on the internet, you see all these people being upset about it. And that just makes me realize how good they are doing with all their plans... Keep them divided, left vs right, black vs white, science vs spirituality,... As long as they are bashing eachother, they don't got the time investigating and bashing us...

When are the people going to realize this??

Sounds like Japan has finally caught up to Murica.

The NDAA of 2012 included in subsections 1021–1022 of Title X, Subtitle D, entitled "Counter-Terrorism", authorizing the indefinite military detention of persons the government suspects of involvement in terrorism, including U.S. citizens arrested on American soil.

The concern was that it was worded so vaguely, virtually anoyne the gubmint decided it didn't like could be swept up and denied any rights under the constitution or bill of rights.

I've noted your salient comments lately. Thanks!

Followed..

Thanks, there are a lot of very intelligent people here.

I'm lovin' it.

Wow! So similar to the U.S. citizens committing three felonies a day, Japan's citizens are committing three terrorist acts a day. Is there no free place left in the world? I spent the last few years looking for one, but have yet to find it.

You said it. I'm right there with you.

If you should find... Will you please let me know?

good post but I don't like speech about terrorists

Sorry, but I am going to flag this. Too much spam recently. This is not what Steem is about.

I could't remove or edit it, why flag directly, I am new here, you can just ask !

It's happening a lot lately. No comment about this post, no real engagement. Sorry, but this isn't like YouTube, and it is stated clearly that the flag can be used for spam. Nothing personal.

I just wonted some support to be famous like you, what the problem, I am not doing this everyday, just once because I am happy to earn 10 $ from a post, are you jalous or what you have much more from your posts !

I am not famous and I am not jealous.

so be cool please and worn because you flag please, good luck !

^This comment has been edited, just so everyone knows. The original was just a post not mentioning this post but asking for upvotes.

Thanks for clarifying. I saw the edited comment, and was alarmed. As it is, it seems a relevant and pointed declamation of censorship and faux anti-terror tyranny.

Is there a way to see the original comment? Is it available in the blockchain?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55