John Oliver behaved inappropriately

in #news7 years ago

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/business/wp/2017/12/04/john-oliver-grills-dustin-hoffman-over-sexual-harassment-allegation/?utm_term=.27c9626d6424

Dustin Hoffman, accused not too long ago of sexual harrassment in 1985 on the set of 'Death of a Salesman', explained that he had been coached by his agents to behave in an apologetic way so that the charges go away faster, but that the 'if' was earased, thus leaving him in the eye of the public as someone who admitted to the charges, although he did not.

John Oliver, apparently unable to grasp the complexity of such a statement cradled his tiny ferret head in his clawlike hands and wailed 'oh dustin' in his british twang.

Usually I like John Oliver, so I hope he gets over his attack of the stupids sometime soon, in case he doesn't understand why his line of thought is problematic, I will bullet point it for him, but first I want to announce that John Oliver inappropriately touched me backstage at a standup comedy show in the early naughts. I can't prove it, I never made a report, I didn't tell any of my friends, but I accused him so it really happened. Great. Feel so free now that that's off my chest. Here we go, Johnny Boy...

  1. whenever you set a group up as infalliable, you are incentivizing untruthfullness. Duh.

  2. in the long run, a group set up as infalliable will demonstrate their falliability, duh.

  3. so in the long run, if you keep up this stupid tradition of publically eviscerating public figures with no proof for things they may well not have done, you are actually HURTING women, because 5 years from now, nobody will bat an eye unless there is a police report.

Sort:  

Congratulations @didipatz! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44