Czech forest hosts what might be the largest reenacted Hobbit´s Battle of the Five Armies

in #news6 years ago

Hi everyone!

I am surely going to please all fans of J. R. R. Tolkien´s fantasy movies today as this post will be about what probably is the largest reenacted battle from the Tolkien´s series, the iconic Battle of the Five Armies.

hobbit1.jpg
Source: globalnews.ca

For more than 20 years, the annual reenacted battle takes place in a forest near the town of Doksy in the northern part of the Czech Republic, not far from the Macha Lake, a popular tourist area.

When the tradition began, the battle was fought by just a couple of Tolkien´s fans but it has been gaining popularity in the recent years and the last gathering was made up by more than a thousand "warriors" dressed as characters from the movie. The costumes and the weapons are very elaborated and they look almost identical to those used in the movie. However, to avoid injuries, all sharp points are wrapped in plastic.

hobbit2.jpg
Source: globalnews.ca

If you are a fan of Tolkien´s movies and you are in the Czech Republic next summer, make sure to check out this fun. The participants say it is a great event with a unique atmosphere.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Travel Tip: Sovinec Castle, one of the most impressive castles in the Czech Republic

Quote of the day: “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry and narrow-mindedness.”

ColorChallenge - Purple Sunday - @prowt in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Sunday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

OH wow, That's sound interesting, You mean to say I should visit the Czech Republic in Summer? ahaan! Oh yes, I shall visit the Czech Republic in the summer for sure, I don't know when, but I will in one day. and you are going to take me to this place with you :p will ya?

Ahaan ;) can't wait :P

I am not familiar with war movies or myth, or science fiction, but what I can tell you, is how extraordinary all the characters with their makeup, they look like real life, taken from a movie, are impressive .

I know, right? Very impressive!

This is incredible i really want to visit that place but i don't because i live in Asia i don't have any plane and and also don't afford.

I am sure you will be able to find something similar of that nature....

Thanks i shall try my best

It woukd be incredible to witness this in actual play. I'm an LOTR fan myself and I do rewatch the movies every year..

Sounds like this is a perfect event just for you:)

An event that is certainly very crowded and fun ...❤
This kind of tradition does need to be preserved because it will bring togetherness for those involved and watched it ...
Hope to participate in watching it sometime ...😀

Have a great & lovely day, dear Tom @czechglobalhosts...☕❤

Thanks ever so much. It sure is very interesting event well worth visiting and watching.

It's amazing what makeup can do, it sounds funny even though I'm not a fan of those movies.

I know, they can do some real miracles.....

That sounds like a very cool event to experience, although I'm not much of a roleplayer myself. I bet the people there are having a blast!

that's soo cool! i always love J.R.R Tolkien's work surely the place is very ideal for the scene.

During his life Tolkien was convincing people that his books are history books and the events are actual events happened in the distant past

war will not solve the problem, but it is just a story or a scene in a movie story, although I do not like war but for hobby I am very interested in war movie ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51