The Brain Is Possibly Trained to Be More Confident

in #news6 years ago

When I first started my career as a child and adolescent psychologist at the age of 21, I was fortunate enough to be trained by an experienced mentor. He was the one who gave the example by deed and gave me many valuable insights. I am the type who quickly learns-or feels-including in the field of psychology. I was excited to learn as much as I could, and as I learned more, I became more confident about my chosen skills or profession. But that confidence quickly turned into arrogance, muddling judgment, and it made me more vulnerable to mistakes.
For a month I worked as his assistant, mentor was late to a session and asked me to tell his patient. Because I was too confident, I even told her that I could start her session until she arrived. He sounds skeptical, but finally agrees. In essence, my boss arrived at the session, paid little attention, and eventually took over. Finally, when he asked me what I thought about my performance during the session. I said, if the way I manage the afternoon therapy session is pretty okay (although in my heart I'm sure it's okay). He then pointed out all the wrongs, including my overly competitive behavior-which is considered very "haram" in the field of child therapy. I thought that all the knowledge I had gained during the month to be his assistant had provided enough skill to become a therapist. Apparently I even made a lot of mistakes.
Things like this is quite common for beginners. The cause is excessive confidence. A recently published study in the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology explains the premise of "beginner's bubble" or "beginner bubble" that I experienced. Carmen Sánchez and David Dunning, the two researchers, involved forty participants who undertook a series of tasks on topics they had just learned. Dunning and Sánchez concluded, "although novice responders do not necessarily care about judging things, they are on average soon entering novice bubbles."
Beginner bubbles can overshadow those who start their careers with extreme care in taking every decision. Then they become overconfident before going through a 'phase of correction' where confidence decreases as performance progresses. "In other words: Beginners often start something naively and are unaware of how poor their skills are. However, thanks to a little learning, they develop an excess of self-confidence-even arrogant tendencies-which then make them make new mistakes.
What exactly distinguishes confidence-what does everyone need if they want to succeed in any way-from a pose? How do we admit that we are proficient in something, but still have the mindset of someone who is still learning?
"Confidence comes as we develop ideas about something. Whether it's right or wrong-we're developing something, "says Sánchez," however, when we are not vulnerable or open to change the idea, that's when we become overconfident. "In the study, they concluded that learning a little can make people exaggerate their abilities-a stereotype often attached to the millennial generation.
Millennial generation is often defined as "me, me, generation." Those born in the early decades of the 90s were accused of being more narcissistic and more virtuous than previous generations, but Sánchez did not see it that way. "I'm not sure if I believe that millennial generation is more pompous than the Baby Boomers, but it is very likely that Baby Boomers are also the same as they were younger, the difference is that we are paying more attention to this generation, "he said, and they are paying more attention to one another: social media is a tool for reveals every detail in our lives.
I have trouble accepting the narcissistic claims pinned on my generation, aka the millenial generation. This seems like an overly broad assumption. Social media, from nature, is narcissistic. But the difference between narcissism and self-confidence is related to one's dignity. "Excess confidence is the feeling that we are better or smarter than others, whereas narcissism is a resistance to low self-esteem," says Jordan Wright, a professor of counseling psychology at NYU Steinhardt, and also a clinical psychologist who works alongside millennially in practice - private practice.
In order for us to become proficient in our field (and continue to be more advanced), we need a realistic assessment system. "Self-reflection is one of the things we can do to overcome piety," says Wright. He recommends check for success and then backtrack from that point. "We tend to do that, but only when it runs in failure. We ask ourselves, 'what did I do to lead to this failure?' On the contrary, we tend to stumble over success. The trap we can avoid, as long as we want to review this series of events and allow ourselves to be curious and question how we can improve those things, we can break the beginner bubble, "said Wright.
The developmental mindset, the term advocated by psychologist Carol Dweck, describes the situation accurately. Dweck assessed brain-like muscles that can be trained. The way the brain thinks is not a concept that is always steady, but something that we can develop as intelligence. The people who successfully implement it will embrace challenges, view work as a path to achieving proficiency, then firm in the face of challenge, and always learn from criticism.
"As we continue to use that mindset, regardless of our age, we adopt a developmental phase," Sanchez said. The only way people evolve is to always dare to try and develop ideas. At the same time, one must be willing to discuss with others to modify and memorrbaiki own ideas. As Wright says to be more confident, but not pure, we must question the actions we take.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ahmadmuhajir! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41