ANARCHY .... onward an upward!

South Africa is in the doldrums .... everyone's putting their hope in Cyril, our new acting president. As for me, after my last post about BUSY (being under someone's yoke), I've decided that this year has to be one of MAJOR change. I have worked hard my whole life ... to be honest I've always enjoyed working, and loved my jobs. I am thankful that I still have a job (well 2 jobs), as the unemployment rate in this country, according to the stats, is 26.7%. That is ridiculous! And a result of this unemployment rate is that employers are not shy to exploit workers, salaries are low, hours are long, and if you complain there is always someone else out there willing to take over your job.
ants-1718975__340.png

We control our living expenses very carefully and there are no luxuries, no weekends away, no nights out at a restaurant, no new clothes, no new car ... and the sad thing is, we've allowed this to continue! My salary is as low as my boss can legally get away with, and my workload is tremendous. I practically run the school. My philosophy since day 1 of being an employee has been to give more than 100%. I jump in boots and all.
My 2nd job pays well for the amount of time I spend there. It's my brother's business and he is fair. The problem is that, even with both salaries, we cannot cover our expenses. As I said, there are no luxuries, we are conservative with utilities ... but we still can't keep our heads above water.

How did I allow this to happen? I'm approaching 60 and there is no pension, no property, no investment ... what the heck?? Fortunately I am strong and healthy, and could continue working like this indefinitely. It probably keeps me young, but do I really want this to continue? NO! I need to put the brakes on so that I can relax, take breaks, travel, upgrade my car, and so on ....

Even though I keep hearing not to expect too much from Steemit, to build friendships and be part of a community, I am putting my hope into this ... I want the freedom to earn while not having to be beholden to anyone or tied down to an office. I absolutely love the people I've met here so far, and am so excited to have been accepted into the community.

So, fellow Steemians, your encouragement and indulgence is so absolutely appreciated and I shall do my utmost to up the quality of my posts.

My experience, interests and imagination far exceed what I have put out there so far .... onward and upward! I refuse to be controlled by governments, employers, banks any longer ... I should have the freedom and finances to be at Anarcapulco!

123RF.com

Ants - Pixabay, Photo - my brother's verandah, Scarborough, Cape Town

Sort:  

I’m very glad I started following you, because you post is really good

Thank you for reading my post @uniquable, I appreciate it.

Yes it is sad, that our country is so crazy at the moment, who knows what to do, but I have hope that the World is changing, it might be slow but there is progress, with Bitcoin making the bankers shake, and steemit progressing upwards, I think this year we will see changes, keep your chin up. Great article and well written.

Thank you for your encouragement @losthippie. I'm tired of being oppressed, and it's up to us to change our circumstances. As a fellow South African you know exactly how difficult it is here.

Hi @leighleigh that's frustrating. We also have the same issues in the Philippines so I know that I have no future here.

I do hope in Steemit too. And there are a lot of ways to earn here which is good, like reporting plagiarized content to steemcleaners, commenting, joining contests etc. :)

Hi @wanderlass, oh my gosh that's not good, I didn't realise the Philippines had similar problems. It's sad to hear you have no future there, does that mean you want to emigrate?

I honestly want to become a digital nomad. Just free to travel and out of here :p There's a lot of good things about the Philippines but I have realized it isn't for me.

Good for you for having an idea of where you want to go. Set your goal and go for it! e.g. earn 100 SBD/week by July 2018. Whatever your goal is, having it written down will help you get there. By seeing it every day, you'll naturally push yourself toward it. You can do it!

Good advice as usual @themanwithnoname. I'm a bit unsure how to earn regularly, but I'm definitely working on it and listening to you guys. Thanks for the encouragement.

I think it's only a matter of time before you start having your presence felt on the platform @leighleigh. You seem like you have a lot to offer and say and you do so very well. :)

Thanks so much @tonyr for the compliment, it encourages me to keep trying !

Hi @leighleigh. I saw you mentioning a post in Discord. Wanted to stop by and show some support. Continue to build the relationships on here. I see a lot of names from our initiative on here supporting you. We are here to support one another. Continue writing about your passions and onward you go!

Thanks @beeyou, at times I think I need a slap on the wrist, especially when I start feeling overwhelmed by circumstances! I have received so much support, patience and encouragement from everyone, and had so many questions answered on Discord. It's so amazing that most of us are in different time zones yet still manage to communicate. I'm loving reading everyone's posts and the diversity of talent and varied interests. I'm starting to spend much more time here and beginning to have fun. Thanks for being so kind and generous all the time.

We want to show our support since you will do your utmost to improve the quality of your posts. ;) Onward and upward!

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day!

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

I can very much relate to this post, although I live in the US I'm facing the same types of problems. This world is not an easy one. I hooe Steemit becomes the platform you need 8t to be and you're able to live comfortably. Every human who puts their heart and soul into any job deserves a real living wage - I don't care where you live or what your job is. I hope we all see that one day.
Great post <3 <3

Hi @amariespeaks. My sister has just such gorgeous red hair as you! Sorry to hear you face similar problems, it's frustrating as hell to work so much for so little. But as I said in my reply to @beeyou I'm beginning to have fun here and want to lighten up a little. Things really get to me though, so it's a rollercoaster - ups and downs all the way! I suppose it's good to be passionate about stuff ... great to meet you!

I'm glad you're having fun here! It really is a great place once you get acquainted with everyone! :) great to meet you too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66