BulliessteemCreated with Sketch.


Source: https://www.vecteezy.com/vector-art/122381-retro-style-no-bullying-illustration

One of my pet peeves is bullying. Let me preface this by saying that I was not bullied in school but I was raised to treat everyone with kindness and how I would like to be treated myself. I realize that not everyone was brought up this way and people are mean to each other for a variety of reasons. What brings up this topic this morning, however, is that I was looking through the news and saw an article about three teen girls who exposed another to pineapple when they knew she was severely allergic to it.

I can not wrap my head around what would possess someone to think that would be an ok thing to do. Those girls are now facing charges because they could have killed the one they targeted. They are 13 and 14 years old. I understand at that age, kids are not thinking consequences, but by that age you know that when someone is allergic to something that they can DIE from being exposed to it.

I guess my point of this all is that it blows my mind how awful people can be to one another. Every day you read articles and news about parents who have abused or killed their children. How someone went and shot up their workplace because they were bullied at work. Teens who have been bullied at school and online committing suicide. It's disheartening at best to think that there is no kindness in the human species anymore and everyone is just out to make someone else feel lesser so they feel bigger. Maybe I've become a bit jaded, but it seems like there is nothing but news stories like this anymore. There is too little news of people helping one another.

It costs nothing to smile at someone or compliment them, to genuinely find something positive in another human being. Why is it so hard to help someone in need but so easy for some to tear someone down when they are already defeated? You never know what someone is going through and just a little bit of kindness could be all the difference in the world to them.

I'm not perfect, there are times when I catch myself thinking mean things when sometimes even speaking with friends mean things are said but I always try to remember:


Source: https://thinkkindness.org/kindness-classroom-keeping-simple/

Sort:  

what a great post! I was bullied as a kid - frizzy red hair, braces, poor lol I was an easy target. Back then there wasn't as much attention given to it - it was "just the way it was" or girls being girls. But those school years changed me forever. I'd never want someone to feel how I did.
Now with an 11yr old I have rammed into his head the treat others as you wish to be treated and also to have an understanding of these "bullies" are really hurt on the inside and lashing out, it has nothing to do with you. Don't hand over your power to them.
<3 really liked your post - bullies don't just disappear after grade school... they become bosses, coworkers, people at the store.. so it's best we all remember they are hurting people inside and kill them with kindness!

Thank you. I think if more people just took a minute to think about what they're going to say before they say it this world would be a much better place to live in. Some of the worst bullies I've ever run in to are adults in the workplace, sometimes they just don't outgrow it unfortunately. Maybe one day there will be no such thing as a bully :)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday. Congratulations on your content Newbie and as always, Keep Steemin’! I invite you to learn more about the initiative and Come Join Us!!! Newbie Resteem Initiative

and join the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative Discord channel here: https://discord.gg/xcekaZU

Thank you so much @amariespeaks! I really appreciate you!

You're very welcome @joanneparr :)

This is an amazing post. Thank you. I love where your heart is at with this one. Upvoted, followed and resteemed.

However,
I would like to add one thing. Although I echo your desire to see an end to bullying and people mistreating people I disagree with what you said about the cost. It does cost a lot to be the kindness you speak of... Of course, it is worth it, but it is not free.

The cost comes from the risk of pain from rejection.

To be the kind of love you speak of is to expose yourself. To make your self vulnerable to rejection.

Dont get me wrong I believe that is a small price but that risk scares some: it's too high a price for others.

What you are talking about is living life in a loving manner. Its a wonderful sentiment and I for one am gonna think about your post and try to live this out today.

Check out this amazing quote from one of my favourite authors.

CS Lewis said:
To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.
C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

Thank you so much for the reply!
I appreciate your post, it really made me think about the topic and gave me another viewpoint. I suppose I had never thought of kindness as being vulnerable because I was just always have looked to help whether that was going to get me rejected or not. For the most part though, people do not turn away help or a smile or a kind word in my experience. I can see where putting yourself out there like that though could be tough for some people. Thank you again for your reply :)

Resteemed as part of the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative. A very well written post, keep up the amazing work.

Thank you so much, I very much appreciate it!

I like the post a lot, good message and well done.

I am the "Tag-Lifter" and you have been resteemed because you tagged your post #newbieresteemday


(source)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thank you so much!

One more comment. I have a baby girl with special needs. She has a special housr where she goes for respite care. They have a sign like the one you included. THINK. Love that.

Thanks

It is one of my favorite sayings :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65