You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bullies

This is an amazing post. Thank you. I love where your heart is at with this one. Upvoted, followed and resteemed.

However,
I would like to add one thing. Although I echo your desire to see an end to bullying and people mistreating people I disagree with what you said about the cost. It does cost a lot to be the kindness you speak of... Of course, it is worth it, but it is not free.

The cost comes from the risk of pain from rejection.

To be the kind of love you speak of is to expose yourself. To make your self vulnerable to rejection.

Dont get me wrong I believe that is a small price but that risk scares some: it's too high a price for others.

What you are talking about is living life in a loving manner. Its a wonderful sentiment and I for one am gonna think about your post and try to live this out today.

Check out this amazing quote from one of my favourite authors.

CS Lewis said:
To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything and your heart will be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact you must give it to no one, not even an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements. Lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket, safe, dark, motionless, airless, it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, irredeemable. To love is to be vulnerable.
C.S. Lewis, The Four Loves

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the reply!
I appreciate your post, it really made me think about the topic and gave me another viewpoint. I suppose I had never thought of kindness as being vulnerable because I was just always have looked to help whether that was going to get me rejected or not. For the most part though, people do not turn away help or a smile or a kind word in my experience. I can see where putting yourself out there like that though could be tough for some people. Thank you again for your reply :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43