The Little Voice #day9steemCreated with Sketch.

in #newbieonsteemit6 years ago (edited)

Connecting my fingers to the keyboard this morning brought up the first ripple of fear as I began my exploration into what connections means to me. It is that moment just before. The one where you dive on in or turn away. It is the moment of decision. Am I prepared to open myself up? Am I ready to let down my walls? Or, not?

Even then, connection hasn't yet taken place. It is only when these words are then taken up and felt by another that the true connection begins. As you read this, you will either be connecting to me, or turning away. That same experience shared. Do I connect or do I not?

The real magic happens when we both dive in and open ourselves up. The words that pour out of me right now are ready to be breathed in by you. You will feel me. And in this moment that will be a slight mix of insecurity, shyness and hope.

I imagine myself as that shy, blue-eyed, little girl peeking just beyond my mother's leg, expectant and hopeful. Will I see the twinkle of the smile in your eye? The one I know, a deep unlearnt knowing, that connects me to you. It is the point at which the magic of connection begins. It is when the shyness evaporates and I come bounding out — puppy like.

Sometimes connection can happen in a flash and both you and I see each other through the open door that is hidden, or closed, for others. We accept each other fully. We are prepared to play full out. We are safe and able to dive deep, exploring the richness of all that lies beneath.

Do you know what I mean? Is this a shared experience between you and I?

Have you sat in another's company and lost where you begin and they end? Have you entered into their inside world, a welcome explorer...adventurer...friend? Have they allowed your curiosity and wonder to open them up more as they too explore their inner world, and see it anew with your fresh eyes?

My favourite journeys are ones of true connection. They are magical, experiential and often transformational. They are the journeys where we allow ourselves to open up and reclaim our true selves and brush out the cobwebs of old stored memories, messages that do not serve us anymore. We dive into the feelings within. Deep oceans that we have stored away inside ourselves.

The feeling resonates between us. We are one. We investigate. We play. We remember and reconnect to source. We re-learn and our ocean of feeling washes away.

Do you know what I mean?

Words are my tool to opening up. Words that are listened to. They set the tune and allow a rhythm to begin which in turn resonates towards a feeling. The curiosity and gentle wonder allow us to explore those areas inside that have been held tight and in some cases become stagnated, but we remain respectful and show loving care.

Instead of turning our backs or bringing up our walls, connection allows for courageous vulnerability. We are one. We hold hands with our echo selves who experienced hurt in the moment, who misunderstood, and then closed off, walled up and tried to forget past moments. But never succeeded.

The emotions stored away keep coming back to us. They won't be silenced. They need to be heard. Because you didn't understand. You took forward the wrong message. You believed there was something wrong with you. You hid from the real message that connection can draw out of you. You are whole. You are enough — exactly as you are.

This is what connection means to me. It means coming together. It means unifying and remembering we are whole.

What does it mean to you? Remember, I'll only know if you choose to dive in.

Sort:  

I understand what you mean. Connection means opening up a vulnerable self. But a lot of us have been hurt and thus close the door to the possibilities of connection. If only we can always have hope in our hearts and forget the past, only can connection be possible. I wish we can always forget about regrets, hurts of the past and look forward to a happy future instead.

Maybe, it's not about forgetting, but more about the learning we achieve from all our experiences. Every encounter, every smile, every frown, all of our experiences make us who we are.

Some connections we make may be for life, while others may last the length of a bus ride. It is what we take from these moments and how willing we are to allow them to happen that is important.

True connection does involve a level of vulnerability, and each time you learn who YOU BE. Bringing YOU into the world more fully each and every day strengthens YOU - always.

I do understand that we have to learn from the past, but we have to let go of the bitter feeling and never take bad things and put it in our hearts.

It's a process. We are here to experience a spectrum of emotions, both good and bad. No one is perfect. Some events affect us more than others and take longer to process. It seems to me, you and I are connecting right now, and for that I'm grateful. I'm enjoying getting to know you. :)

Oh my.

As you can see by Gina... i'm finally catching up - or trying to! LOL

I love your writing. I love your heart. I'm completely connected on every level, and I'm also that puppy! LOL

For everyone here - the things that draw them are different . For me - it was, is and always will be connection.

It's so important to me. It is SO important to me. I look around at people and I just wonder... who are they? What makes them smile? Sad? feel loved? How do I MAKE them smile... how do I understand them better?

I feel like I get the privilege to connect with people because I am a bit more open than others.... and its such a gift when someone decides to let you peek over their wall.

brick by brick...showing more of ourselves...getting to embrace fully with words. maybe even embrace physically in time.

love it. love this post.

love you! :)

Glad you connected with my puppy image. :)

Yes, I believe I've found a kindred spirit in you and I'm so happy we've connected. You've made my introduction to the Steemiverse absolutely wonderful. I'm ever so grateful for all you do and how BIG your heart is because you make room for everyone. And make each and everyone feel extra-special.

Love you too Dreemie!

Congratulations @juliamulcahy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @juliamulcahy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57886.34
ETH 3104.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54