OUR FIRST GUINEA FOWL EGGS!

in #new6 years ago

Finally, our keets are all grown up and laying their own eggs!


Last year, @vcelier and @matthewtiii helped contribute to the purchase of some baby Guinea Fowl (called keets) for our homestead.

They were so small when we first picked them up. Now, they are much larger, noisier, and able to fly. Today we finally found some of their eggs!

TODAY IS A HAPPY DAY FOR MY PEOPLE!

Since we already know what Duck eggs and Chickens eggs look like, these must be Guinea Fowl eggs! They are a little smaller than Chicken eggs and shaped more like a tear-drop.

The @little-peppers were very excited when they came back from their chores this morning. We had never found any of these before, so it was very cool to finally get some. Now we can either see what they taste like, sell the eggs, or raise more Guinea Fowl. Possibly, we will even try all of those options!

To learn a bit more about Guinea Fowl and why we have ours, you can check my video above!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-guinea-fowl-egg

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Guinea fowl head looks like turkey.
Same family I guess.
Thanks and keep on steemin'

Yeah, similarities for sure!

@papa-pepper. Animals are wonderful to rear and have around. The eggs actually looked the same and its beautiful to behold even after been hatched. I just did a post on starting a small animal farming at home. Talking about my experience at my friend's house.
You will find the post very interesting. I don't want to drop the link here so that it won't look like am spamming.
Thanks for sharing this.

Guinea Hens can be some of the goofiest birds on the farm. I wanted to let you know that you have been selected as the subject of my new Art Project. I hope you approve @papa-pepper.

Cool man! I'll check it out!

They look like turkeys, but just that turkeys are bigger. Are they noisier than turkey.

yes, different sound than Turkeys and irritating sound to me.

I love your sense of adventure and trying new things. I have followed you for many months and see this in your posts. Again thanks for sharing another one of these new adventures. @papa-pepper

Hi papa-pepper,

I wonder how Guinea eggs taste like compare to the chicken eggs.

I thought Guineas were raised mostly to keep the ticks and chiggers population eliminated around the home stead, yes?

Nice teardrop eggs. Perhaps they will go broody on you and you have a nest of up to 40 eggs hatching! Meat is a bit on the gamey side. The eggs, I find are a little richer in flavour than chicken eggs.

To be candid, I barely could differentiate between Guinea fowl or Duck eggs with that of conventional chickens I see around. Might have consumed all the various egg categories before.
Omg!!! The baby Guinea are so cute.

Papa 🌶 Jack of all trades. I'm encouraged by your adventures.well done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71