Irish Crochet Dress - A Brief Glimpse Into What's to Come

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago

Hi my Steemian needleworking friends!

Here's a brief update on how my Irish Crochet dress is advancing.

Last time I wrote about it I had just started working on the front neckline and wasn't really sure how it would turn out ( as you might remember, one has to work looking at the 'bad' side of the dress and can see the result only after finishing an element and unpinning it from the flat worktop).

I am pleased to say that I was happy with the result when I unpinned it from the surface and turn it around :D

Tah-dah!

Edenas_surinkimas-1010152.jpg

Edenas_surinkimas-1010156.jpg

Edenas_surinkimas-1010157.jpg

Since then I've made some progress but not as much as I would have liked - life got in the way...

Here's one side element which will be placed from the waist down on the right hand side.

Edenas_surinkimas-1010233.jpg

Edenas_surinkimas-1010235.jpg

As I've already written before, the process of crocheting all separate elements into one dress is painfully slow and inconvenient...

...although now when I see a picture emerging, I am getting more and more excited and somewhat impatient :D

Get a hobby, enjoy your life!

All photos and text is my original content.

You can see copyright signs on photos because they were taken for my blog www.curioustovisit.com .

If you liked this post, let’s connect – leave a comment or follow me at @vliet , I’ll check out your profile as well.

You can also find me on my travel blog www.curioustovisit.com or Facebook Page HERE

NWM_logo.jfif

Sort:  

The more I see about your dress the more impressed I am. Even with this small part around the neck - if you'd put it on a simple white top it would become haute couture!

Thanks so much @muscara for your generous comments!

When I turned the neckline around for the first time, I had an exact same idea as you did, that it would look great as a detachable collar for a plain top... Great minds think alike :DD

This is going to be such a stunning dress @vliet! I get excited each time you show a different section. Thank you for sharing this with us! 😊

Many thanks @mrscwin !
Glad to hear this project brings you joy too :D Will keep you posted!

so intricate and beautiful ! what a gorgeous crochet dress progress <3 i look forward to seeing the dress finished !

Thanks so much @veryspider !
It'll take some time to finish it, good thing I didn't know how long it would take me before starting - I'd never would have gone for it! :D

Beautiful! It’s really exciting seeing this dress come together. I really love the way you worked out the collar. I’m sure it’s hard for you to be patient even more so at this point. Thank you for sharing the process with us, it’s very exciting!

Thanks @needdleworkmonday for your comments and support!
Yeah, patience is the key to everything, really... :)

waaaoooo. que bello....como es que haces esas cosas tan hermosas, nunca habia visto ese tejido con ese tipo de hilo, te felicito.

Gracias @carolinacardoza !
Sorry, I don't really speak or write Spanish, but here's my reply in Spanish with google translate help :D

el hilo es realmente hilo de bordar, por lo tanto, tengo que usar un ganchillo muy pequeño. Creo que debido a este fino hilo y pequeño gancho, el resultado es un tejido tan delicado. ¡Muchas gracias por tu comentario!

I hope the above makes sense :D

It's so beautiful. Simply amazing work, vliet! I'm looking forward to seeing the finished dress :)

Many thanks @akippon !
I am also looking forward to seeing the finished dress - the sooner the better :)

That's looking stunning, @vliet ! I know exactly what you mean by impatience... I admire your being able to do such intricate work. Have you heard of 'slow food' ? ... this is 'slow craft' : it takes a long time to complete but the result will be totally worth it

Thanks @cryptocariad !
I certainly have heard of 'slow food' but 'slow craft' is the first one for me :D but it's true, it's very very slow craft... I love this term now, did you just coin it?

I don't think I was the first one to use the term @vliet. I guess I was just applying the concept :D

Brilliant application of the term :D

THis is so beautiul. I am still not sure If I would assemble the dress (although it would be amazing) I see this more as an artwork and can imagine it displayed (I try to convince you) It is so delicate and every stitch is perfect, has the right colour and form. It looks so organic as if it had grown by itself in a fairy forest: looooveeee

Thanks a million @neumannsalva !
I definitely take your point about not wanting to assemble it, and now that you said it, I might look into displaying some elements at home if I have leftovers. Thanks for the idea!
I also love the organic feel to the whole project, for me, this is where its beauty is. I think colours play a huge part in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43