#needleworkmonday | Getting Ready for the Summer Break

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

It's been raining. We had clouds on Friday and other parts of the UK had a biblical downpour, but we just had some halfhearted spitting as if the clouds had forgotten how to do it. I was in and out of the house checking whether I had to water the garden (I had been left in charge of my neighbour's courgette plants, so responsibility was weighing heavily).

On Saturday, it was still trying to rain. We had the great wind which brought down my sweetcorn plants (everything else survived) and, finally, after messing about all day, we had a heavy downpour in the evening. The temperature dropped, and the rain has continued intermittently for the last 36 hours. We haven't had flooding here (I was on standby with stepladders and dust sheets in case the gutters overflowed), but some low-lying parts of Leicester are underwater.

With no harm done and the reservoirs filling up, it was perfect weather for knitting.

IMG_2090.JPG
Summer knitting experiments: Not a grey mouse child's cardigan and Cordial by Sarah Hatton women's cardigan. I enjoyed the crochet so much, I found some Ricoh creative cotton in the sale basket at my local knitting shop for some more experiments.

The little blue and orange jacket is my first completed crochet project (I have only learnt this year, thanks to @crosheille and @anjkara). I was inspired by @neumannsalva's Not a grey mouse tutorial. I have been itching to try a crochet garment after weeks of practicing how to keep the yarn on the needle to make a stitch. (I had the same problem when I learned guitar, my fingers don't know how to behave)!

I struggled with the tension but eventually I found a compromise. I really enjoyed making this in soft cotton yarn - the blue is Rowan handwash cotton double knitting, and the orange is Ricoh creative cotton double knitting. The fabric they create is soft and pliable (really nice to work), but holds its structure. I struggled with the sleeves - the orange one is not quite right but @neumannsalva pointed me to some additional help about crocheting in the round. I practiced making a separate tube before attempting to attach the blue sleeve.

As well as my first crocheted garment, it was my first attempt at top down construction. You can see in the picture that I have bought some more yarn to experiment with: baby and children's clothes are great for learning new techniques. Even with three tension squares, numerous undoings and learning how to crochet tubes separately, this still took only a week to make. You need lots of quick wins when you are learning!

The adult cardigan is also a quick knit and could be completed in a week. The original pattern, Cordial, is available on the Rowan website (on the website it says it is designed by Martin Storey, in the pattern book its says Sarah Hatton). I have adapted it - I've left out the cable pattern and chosen double moss stitch (one of my favourites) over moss stitch for a really chunky pattern.

This cardigan is knitted from the bottom fronts upwards, both fronts are joined at the neck and then the back is knitted top down, kimono-style, leaving just the side seams and underarms to join. There's no ribbing, no neck or front bands, and just one button fastening. However, the truly amazing achievement with this garment is that it is the right tension! I was so pleased when I measured the back width after completing the sleeves and it was correct!

minnowuprising

I'll be publishing the last report about growth in the #needleworkmonday community later this week. I've found it a really interesting experiment and learned lots myself. My curation, especially, has improved, and I've ventured into exploring dLike and other dApps 😱.

August Summer Holidays

I'll be taking a break from Steemit during August, but I'll be back in September. I hope everyone has a lovely summer and I look forward to catching up with you in the autumn.

IMG_1634.PNG
Hosted by @crosheille and co-chaired by @crystalize.
More information and posting guidelines.

Sort:  

I am always so amazed what kind of cute stuff can be made with crochet.

I had a colleague last year who was always making small keycord animals in our boring nightshifts... Fascinated to see how a ball of wool turns into a something nice

Let me say I am so impressed that you completed the crochet cardigan so well with it being your very first crochet project! 😲 That is truly inspiring! You and @cryptocariad are gonna make me pick up @neumannsalva’s pattern much sooner than I planned! 😄 I really loved the different color sleeve idea too and will probably implement that as well. You did a great job on the knit cardigan as well...congrats on the right tension!

It’s always nice to take a break away from the norm. I too plan on taking a small break next month. Enjoy your Summer break and I already look forward to your return~ 😘

Thanks for the mention! I’m glad I could be apart of your crochet learning! ☺️❤️

Thank you - it's been a great few months, my work has come on in leaps and bounds. Glad to hear you are getting a break: it's good to refresh. I love coming back in the autumn and getting stuck in!

Thank you! Yes I need to take a couple of weeks just to focus on things at home. We actually do Summer school so I need a little bit of time to get some things wrapped up to get ready for the new school year.

Both cardigans look amazing @shanibeer. I like the texture and style of the brown double moss stitch cardigan. And both you and @cryptocariad are further inspiring me to try @neumannsalva's patterns! Next project! :)
I wish you a good break in August and see you soon in September!

Thank you - it's a lovely little project to start with and it feels really good to have completed it. It's worth spending a bit of time on the tension, though, I found it took several goes to find a tension that was about right. Enjoy your summer!

You have a great August too whatever your plans and I love your new #needleworkmonday logo :-)
Take care and catch you in September!

Thank you, and you too!
I think @crosheille is responsible for the logo, I don't always remember to include it, I'm usually so pleased with myself that I've written a post that I forget the additional details! 🙈🙉🙊

Haaa I can understand that! Sometimes we’re just glad to get the main body of a post completed! The logo was made by @coinbelly from a contest he won that was organized and funded by @crystalize ;D

Both cardigans look great, but bigger congratulations on the crocheted cardigan because it is your first one @shanibeer !
Hope you have a good break and can recharge your energy for the autumn.

Mm, I'm happy with both of them 😎. After my trials and tribulations with tension, I'm delighted with the moss stitch cardigan. I'm using needles which are three sizes smaller than the pattern! I started with a smaller needle for the crocheted jacket, but it would have been for the longest, thinnest baby ever seen!

Some people actually do that and put buttons so the garment becomes almost like a sleeping sack @shanibeer :D

Wow - you really did a great job on both cardigans @shanibeer! I love the colors and I may have to try it after my other project is done. Rainy days are great for needlework.... 😊
Looking forward to hearing what you learned from the #minnowuprising month before your break in August. Enjoy your time off!

I was pleased with the colours - it was just what was in my stash, so I was lucky. I love being in the garden in the summer, but winter is great for being in the warm with a project.

I love how your baby cardigan turned out, you made it so well, nobody would believe you, if you say it is your first crochet garment (neeevvver). The struggles you describe are not visible :-D but be assured, I had the same problems with knitting. The two needles felt so awkward :-D
And the brown cardigan is beautiful. I think I already mentioned it, I love the moss stitch texture, but sadly I cannot manage this with my hands. The kimono style is also nice, and I love to wear it, in my opinion it is very easy to combine / layer.
I wish you a creative and relaxing August and hope to hear from you soon (I am curious about the apps you mentioned)
Love and hugs Simone

Thank you - good tutorial 😎, also your help getting some quality crochet hooks: the soft touch handles make a lot of difference to comfort and they are just so pleasing to use 😊. I wanted to ask you: the increases on the yoke were 50% of the foundation stitches and then the same number each increase - is this the formula for every size?

Thank youuu - and as you know, I also think the clover hooks make a real difference in comfort and speed :-D
And with the yoke: yes, you can use this formula also for adult sized cardigans, but not for every stitch pattern. If you use much higher or smaller stitches the ratio between length and width growth does not fit and then your yoke will get to fast either wide or long.
There is a very good book about top-down constructions in crochet. I think the explanations are superb. The actual patterns in the book are in my opinion ok, but not so good as the explanations: it's Ohrenstein, Dora, Top-Down Crochet Sweaters: Fabulous Patterns with Perfect Fit, 2016
and here you can see the designs
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/top-down-crochet-sweaters

Both cardigan look spectacular. I like the used threads and the comination between them, they look so soft the material used. I think you're doing very well with your work. Happy Holidays.

Thank you, the yarn was very soft - nice for a baby.

Thank you, I enjoyed them, it was great to complete something quickly!

You just planted 0.06 tree(s)!


Thanks to @shanibeer

We have planted already 3698.81 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19230.09
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63