You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #needleworkmonday | Getting Ready for the Summer Break

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

I love how your baby cardigan turned out, you made it so well, nobody would believe you, if you say it is your first crochet garment (neeevvver). The struggles you describe are not visible :-D but be assured, I had the same problems with knitting. The two needles felt so awkward :-D
And the brown cardigan is beautiful. I think I already mentioned it, I love the moss stitch texture, but sadly I cannot manage this with my hands. The kimono style is also nice, and I love to wear it, in my opinion it is very easy to combine / layer.
I wish you a creative and relaxing August and hope to hear from you soon (I am curious about the apps you mentioned)
Love and hugs Simone

Sort:  

Thank you - good tutorial 😎, also your help getting some quality crochet hooks: the soft touch handles make a lot of difference to comfort and they are just so pleasing to use 😊. I wanted to ask you: the increases on the yoke were 50% of the foundation stitches and then the same number each increase - is this the formula for every size?

Thank youuu - and as you know, I also think the clover hooks make a real difference in comfort and speed :-D
And with the yoke: yes, you can use this formula also for adult sized cardigans, but not for every stitch pattern. If you use much higher or smaller stitches the ratio between length and width growth does not fit and then your yoke will get to fast either wide or long.
There is a very good book about top-down constructions in crochet. I think the explanations are superb. The actual patterns in the book are in my opinion ok, but not so good as the explanations: it's Ohrenstein, Dora, Top-Down Crochet Sweaters: Fabulous Patterns with Perfect Fit, 2016
and here you can see the designs
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/top-down-crochet-sweaters

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63